Bangladesh

Since 2010, Bangladesh has been experiencing remarkable economic development. However, it still falls short of what is needed to eradicate poverty, especially in urban areas. AFD is helping the country lay the foundations for sustainable growth that benefits everyone.
Bangladesh Women pool quantities of rice to generate savings
AFD and Bangladesh: Addressing the challenge of urban development
Bangladesh Women pool quantities of rice to generate savings

Developing public transport

Traffic jams in Dhaka, Bangladesh

Developing public transport

Bangladesh is a predominantly rural country (72% of the population), but is experiencing rapid population growth in urban areas: the number of city dwellers is currently estimated at 43 million people, but is expected to double by 2030 and exceed 100 million by 2050. With some 45,000 inhabitants per km², the capital Dhaka is today the most densely populated megacity in the world. It is also the only city without any public transport system. This leads to constant traffic jams, which hamper economic activity and pollute the air. 

AFD is improving urban mobility by developing low-carbon public transport. 

For example, in Dhaka, we are cofinancing the construction of a bus rapid transit (BRT) line, which will connect the north of the city to the airport. These high-capacity buses will run on a reserved lane. This project will improve productivity in Dhaka City and increase access to jobs and urban facilities for the entire population. 

Thanks to funds delegated by the European Union, we are also leading a technical assistance program to strengthen coordination between the various actors and authorities responsible for transport in the capital. The objective: improve urban mobility governance
 

Improving access to drinking water for all

Woman filling her jug of water, Bangladesh

Improving access to drinking water for all

Dhaka has 17 million inhabitants and the number of people living in the capital increases by 500,000 a year. Access to drinking water for all is a major challenge: to meet demand, its production will need to double by 2030. Yet the city currently covers 70% of its needs through groundwater withdrawals. This is too much for them to be replenished. The authorities aim to address the situation by exploiting surface water. These abundant sources are located near the capital, but they are polluted and the process to make them clean is complicated.

AFD is cofinancing two new drinking water treatment plants to improve the distribution of water resources. They will draw water from rivers further away from the city. They are cleaner and the project will ensure that they remain so. 

In January 2015, we launched a project in partnership with the Asian Development Bank, which aims to increase drinking water production by 500 million liters a day. Some 2 million people will benefit.

It is completed by a second project. It aims to reduce groundwater withdrawals, improve the quality of the drinking water service and increase its production by 450 million liters a day. It will cover the water needs of 2.5 million people. AFD is the lead donor for this financing, in which Germany’s KfW and the European Investment Bank are participating. 

Furthermore, AFD is managing a European Union grant to finance the connection of a large number of slums to the water distribution network. Indeed, drinking water supply in the capital’s precarious districts is one of the priorities of the Government of Bangladesh. This project will improve living conditions for 300,000 people. 

We are also financing a preliminary feasibility study for the implementation of a water and sanitation project in a dozen or so secondary cities in the country. 
 

Doubling power generation

Bangladesh electricity street

Doubling power generation

In Bangladesh, power cuts are frequent, including in the capital. The instability of the power grid seriously hinders the country’s economic and industrial development. The Government of Bangladesh has set the target of doubling its power generation capacity from 12 to 24 GW between 2016 and 2021. The project is based on upgrading and extending distribution grids. 

AFD is financing 14 medium and high-voltage transformers (including power cables and lines). This project has a triple benefit: it provides a stable power supply, reduces losses caused by the poor quality of the distribution grid, and reduces greenhouse gas emissions per kWh consumed. Some 5 million people are benefiting from this project, including 250,000 families living in slums.

Promoting CSR in the textile industry

Bangladesh textile workshop women

Promoting CSR in the textile industry

With 4,500 exporting factories, Bangladesh is the second largest textile product manufacturer in the world, after China. The sector accounts for 80% of the country’s exports (mainly to Europe and the USA) and employs some 5 million people.

The Rana Plaza collapse (1,138 people killed in April 2014) highlighted the lack of and/or failure to comply with social and worker protection standards. Certain buyers subsequently set up groups, such as Accord and Alliance, to conduct factory audits and improve working conditions for employees.

AFD is leading a European credit program which allows factories to invest in the safety of production buildings and in bringing them up to social and environmental standards. The EU and two German institutions, KfW and GIZ, are partners of this initiative.

We are also financing a study which aims to define the actions required to bring the textile industry in line with CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) standards.
 

Supporting the development of a maritime and waterway economy

Bangladesh boats river fish

Supporting the development of a maritime and waterway economy

Bangladesh is an immense delta with considerable aquatic potential: three major Himalayan rivers flow through the country (the Ganges, the Brahmaputra and the Meghna) and it is crisscrossed by an abundant network of over 700 rivers and tributaries making up 24,000 km of waterways. The country also has a 700 km-long coastline, which opens out onto the Bay of Bengal, and its maritime space is equivalent to 80% of its land space, i.e. some 120,000 km² of territorial waters. These resources are major assets for the country: traffic routes, energy sources, fishing, naval industry, tourism, etc. Since the resolution of its maritime border conflicts with India (2014) and Burma (2012), Bangladesh, which has become aware of the potential of this maritime space, wants to protect it and develop it.

The workshop organized by the French Embassy and the Ministry of Energy’s “Blue Economy” unit in Dhaka in March 2017 showed that AFD has the means of action required to build a maritime and waterway economy. It can support climate-resilient infrastructure projects in coastal areas, set up flood forecasting instruments and weather risk management tools, support marine and river energies, ensure sustainable fisheries management, etc. 
 

367
million euros committed since 2013
8
projects ongoing
57 %
of commitments in the urban development sector

Since 2010, annual economic growth has stood at 6% in Bangladesh. This performance is combined with considerable social progress. However, the challenges remain daunting: facilities and equipment are still inadequate, one of the highest population densities in the world, increasing urbanization and a high exposure to climate risks. AFD operates in Bangladesh to address these challenges.

The opening of an office in Dhaka in May 2013, attached to the regional agency in New Delhi, has considerably improved project identification and implementation, in partnership with the administrative authorities and other international donors. Our focus area: financing large-scale infrastructure projects. Four years after the opening of the regional agency, AFD’s commitments stand at over EUR 360m. This figure reaches EUR 460m when the activities of PROPARCO, AFD’s private sector financing arm, are included.

Carte interactive
Cette carte est uniquement utilisée à titre d’illustration et n'engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

  • Climat
  • Eau et assainissement
  • Infrastructures
  • Villes durables
  • Énergie

Funding type

  • Prêt concessionnel souverain

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
Voir la carte de tous les projets

Bangladesh

Depuis 2010, le Bangladesh connait un développement économique remarquable. Mais il reste insuffisant pour éradiquer la pauvreté, notamment urbaine. L’AFD l’accompagne pour poser les bases d’une croissance durable et bénéfique au plus grand nombre.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Les femmes mettent des quantités de riz en commun pour générer de l'épargne. Bangladesh
L'AFD et le Bangladesh : relever le défi du développement urbain
Le village inondé de Shohila, Bangladesh

Développer les transports de masse

Bangladesh embouteillage Dhaka transport

Développer les transports de masse

Le Bangladesh est un pays encore majoritairement rural (72 % de la population) mais qui connait une très forte poussée démographique en milieu urbain : le nombre de citadins, estimé aujourd’hui à 43 millions de personnes, devrait doubler d’ici 2030 et dépasser les 100 millions en 2050. Avec près de 45 000 habitants par km², la capitale Dacca est aujourd’hui la mégalopole la plus dense au monde. Elle est aussi la seule à n’avoir aucun système de transport de masse. Conséquence : des embouteillages permanents qui pénalisent l’activité économique et polluent l’air.

L’AFD améliore la mobilité urbaine via le développement de moyens de transport collectifs sobres en carbone.

À Dacca par exemple, nous cofinançons la construction d’une ligne de bus rapides qui reliera le nord de la ville à l’aéroport. Une voie sera dédiée intégralement à ces bus à forte capacité. Ce projet améliorera la productivité de l’agglomération de Dacca et assurera une meilleure accessibilité aux emplois et aux équipements urbains pour l’ensemble de la population.

Grâce à des fonds délégués de l’Union européenne, nous pilotons également un programme d’assistance technique pour renforcer la coordination entre les différents acteurs et autorités en charges des transports dans la capitale. L’objectif : une meilleure gouvernance de la mobilité urbaine.

 

Améliorer l’accès de tous à une eau potable

Bangladesh femme eau

Améliorer l’accès de tous à une eau potable

Dacca compte 17 millions d’habitants. Et le nombre de personnes vivant dans la capitale augmente de 500 000 par an. L’accès à une eau potable pour tous est un défi majeur : sa production doit doubler d’ici 2030 si l’on veut satisfaire la demande. Or la ville couvre actuellement 70 % de ses besoins par des prélèvements dans les nappes phréatiques. C’est trop pour leur permettre de se renouveler. Pour y remédier, les autorités veulent exploiter les eaux de surface. Abondantes, ces sources, qui se trouvent à proximité de la capitale, sont néanmoins polluées et le processus pour les rendre potables est délicat.

Afin d’améliorer la distribution de la ressource hydrique, l’AFD cofinance deux nouvelles stations de potabilisation qui puiseront l’eau dans des rivières plus éloignées de la ville. Elles sont plus propres et le projet s’assurera qu’elles le restent.

En janvier 2015, en partenariat avec la Banque asiatique de développement, nous avons lancé un projet qui vise à augmenter la production d’eau potable de 500 millions de litres par jour. Environ 2 millions de personnes en bénéficieront.

Un second projet vient le compléter. Son objectif est de réduire les prélèvements dans les nappes phréatiques, d’améliorer la qualité du service de l’eau potable et d’augmenter sa production de 450 millions de litres par jour. Il couvrira les besoins en eau de 2,5 millions de personnes. L’AFD est chef de file de ce financement, auquel participent la KfW allemande et la Banque européenne d’investissement.

Par ailleurs, l’AFD gère une subvention de l’Union européenne pour financer le raccordement d’un grand nombre de bidonvilles au réseau de distribution de l’eau. De fait, l’alimentation en eau potable des quartiers précaires de la capitale est une des priorités du gouvernement bangladais. Ce projet améliorera les conditions de vie de 300 000 personnes.

Nous finançons également une étude de faisabilité préparatoire à la mise en œuvre d’un projet d’eau et d’assainissement dans une dizaine de villes secondaires du pays.

Renforcer les réseaux électriques

Bangladesh électricité rue

Renforcer les réseaux électriques

Au Bangladesh, les coupures de courant sont fréquentes, y compris dans la capitale. L’instabilité du réseau électrique est un véritable frein au développement économique et industriel du pays. Le gouvernement bangladais s’est fixé comme objectif de doubler ses capacités de production d’électricité de 12 à 24 GW entre 2016 et 2021, grâce à l’amélioration et l’extension des réseaux de distribution.

L’AFD finance un projet de modernisation et d’extension du réseau électrique de la société de distribution DPDC, à Dacca. Ce projet a un triple gain : il assure une alimentation stable en électricité, diminue les pertes liées à la mauvaise qualité du réseau de distribution et réduit les émissions de gaz à effet de serre par kWh consommé. Près de 5 millions de personnes bénéficient de ce projet, dont 250 000 familles qui vivent dans les bidonvilles.

Promouvoir la RSE dans l’industrie textile

Bangladesh atelier textile femmes

Promouvoir la RSE dans l’industrie textile

Avec 4500 usines exportatrices, le Bangladesh est le second fabricant au monde de produits textiles, après la Chine. Le secteur représente 80 % des exportations du pays (principalement vers l’Europe et les États-unis) et emploie près de 5 millions de personnes.

L’écroulement du Rana Plaza (1138 morts en avril 2014) a mis en lumière l’absence et/ou le non-respect des normes sociales et de protection des travailleurs. Certains acheteurs se sont alors réunis au sein de groupements comme Accord et Alliance pour mener des audits d’usines et améliorer les conditions de travail des employés.

L’AFD pilote un programme de crédit européen qui permet aux usines d’investir dans la sécurité et la mise aux normes sociales et environnementales des bâtiments de production. L’UE et les deux institutions allemandes KfW et GIZ sont partenaires de cette initiative.

Nous finançons également une étude qui doit définir les actions nécessaires à la mise en œuvre des normes RSE (responsabilité sociale et environnementale) au sein de l’industrie textile.

 

Soutenir le développement d’une économie maritime et fluviale

Bangladesh barques fleuve pêche

Soutenir le développement d’une économie maritime et fluviale

Le Bangladesh est un immense delta au potentiel aquatique considérable : le pays est traversé par trois grands fleuves himalayens (le Gange, le Brahmapoutre et la Meghna) et il est quadrillé par un réseau abondant de plus de 700 rivières et affluents qui représente 24 000 km de cours d’eau. Le pays dispose également de 700 km de côtes qui ouvrent sur le golfe du Bengale et son espace maritime représente 80 % de son espace terrestre, soit près de 120 000 km² d’eaux territoriales. Ces ressources sont de grands atouts pour le pays : voies de circulation, sources d’énergie, pêche, industrie navale, tourisme, etc. Depuis la résolution de ses conflits frontaliers maritimes avec l’Inde (2014) et la Birmanie (2012), le Bangladesh, qui a pris conscience du potentiel de cet espace maritime, veut le protéger et le développer.

L’atelier de travail organisé par l’ambassade de France et la cellule « Blue Economy » du ministère de l’Énergie en mars 2017 à Dacca a montré que l’AFD dispose des moyens d’actions nécessaires à l’émergence d’une économie maritime et fluviale. Elle peut soutenir des projets d’infrastructures résilientes au changement climatique en zone côtière, mettre en place des instruments de prévision des crues et des outils de gestion des risques météorologiques, soutenir les énergies marines et fluviales, assurer une gestion durable de la pêche, etc.

367
millions d’euros engagés depuis 2013
8
projets en cours
57%
des montants engagés dans le secteur du développement urbain

Depuis 2010, le Bangladesh affiche une croissance économique annuelle de 6 %. Une performance qui s’accompagne d’importantes avancées sociales. Mais les défis demeurent considérables : des installations et des équipements encore insuffisants, une densité démographique parmi les plus élevées du monde, une urbanisation croissante et une forte exposition au risque climatique. C’est pour les relever que l’AFD intervient au Bangladesh.

L’ouverture en mai 2013 d’un bureau à Dacca, rattaché à l’agence régionale de New Delhi, a amélioré considérablement l’identification et la mise en œuvre de projets, en collaboration avec les autorités administratives et d’autres bailleurs de fonds internationaux. Notre fil conducteur : le financement de grands projets d’infrastructures et l'accès aux services essentiels pour les populations. Cinq ans après l’ouverture du bureau, l’engagement de l’AFD s’élève à plus de 360 millions d’euros. Un chiffre qui atteint 460 millions lorsque l’on ajoute les activités de Proparco, la filiale de l’AFD dédiée au secteur privé.

Carte des projets
Cette carte est uniquement utilisée à titre d’illustration et n'engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

  • Climat
  • Consommation et production durables
  • Eau et assainissement
  • Infrastructures
  • Inégalités
  • Villes durables
  • Énergie

Type de financement

  • Délégation de fonds de l'Union européenne
  • Prêt concessionnel souverain

Antennes

Display local antennas

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Téléchargement

Document de recherche

Creating Alliances to Accelerate Commercially Viable Sanitation - Lessons learned from the toilet board coalition and its market-based initiatives

The past decades have seen a growing appreciation of the role of market-based approaches in driving global development. Many coalitions of public and private players have emerged to promote them. ...
Nov 2015