Gabon

Gabon, the second largest economic power in Equatorial Africa, has major advantages: vast forestry resources, arable land and exceptional biodiversity. However, the country needs to address the challenge of inequalities, develop its infrastructure and scale up access to healthcare and education for all. AFD is assisting it on the path towards emergence.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Transgabonais, train, woman, Gabon, transport
AFD and Gabon: Providing access to basic services for all and protecting natural resources
nature, sheds, Gabon, Sonier Issembé

Facilitating access to education for all

education, classroom, young girls, Gabon

Facilitating access to education for all

The characteristics of Gabon in the education sector are out of step with countries that have the same income level: only 44.4% of the over 25s had had a secondary education in 2010 and the satisfaction index for the quality of education stood at 46.5% in 2011. The public education system faces many challenges: insufficient number of classes, overcrowded classes, shortage of teachers, reduction in the theoretical learning time… In this context marked by years of underinvestment and rural exodus, the Gabonese Government has identified two priorities: develop human capital and catch up in terms of needs for school infrastructure.

To achieve these objectives, AFD is assisting the Ministry of Education with the Education Sector Investment Program – PISE, which aims to:

  • Reduce the school infrastructure deficit by building 500 new classrooms (primary and secondary) in Libreville and Port-Gentil, which will receive some 25,000 students. 
  • Contribute to the quality of education provision and school life by assisting the ministry in handling the improvement of schooling and learning conditions for students.
     

Reviving the agriculture sector

agriculture, plantation, Gabon

Reviving the agriculture sector

Gabon’s economy is marked by its agricultural dependence on the outside world. With domestic production falling short of local demand, there has been a sharp rise in food imports to meet the growing needs of the population. 

Gabon can, however, boast major advantages: 3.5 million hectares of unexploited arable land, an abundant and qualified labor force, favorable climatic conditions and a buoyant domestic market. 

To reduce its dependence on imports, diversify an economy largely fueled by oil, increase employment and revitalize rural areas, the Gabonese authorities have made the agriculture sector a national priority.

AFD has been supporting this strategy for over 20 years by helping set up the Gabonese Institute for Development Support (IGAD) and financing the activities of this institute. In the context of the last project (PRODIAG), 1,034 farms were developed nationwide, 3,000 people were trained in environmentally friendly agricultural practices and over 8,000 tons of agricultural commodities were produced, generating over FCFA 3.5bn of income in 2016.

Reconciling biodiversity protection and rational exploitation

exploitation, forests, stack of wood, Gabon

Reconciling biodiversity protection and rational exploitation

Gabon is regarded as one of the world’s biodiversity hotspots and has a forest which is described as the world’s second lung after Amazonia. It has made a strong commitment to the conservation and sustainable use of natural resources. 

For example, this led to the classification of 13 national parks in August 2002, covering some 3 million hectares, i.e. 11% of the territory, managed by the National Agency for National Parks. The Government of Gabon also intends to regulate the timber industry and ensure the sustainable exploitation of forestry resources, as the forest sector plays an essential role in Gabon’s economy. 

It is in this context that AFD is contributing to preserving forestry ecosystems and to their rational exploitation. These projects have contributed to conserving and developing national parks on the outskirts of Libreville, but also, at national level, to improving the control of forest development and to supporting the forest/timber industry to facilitate its transformation.

Making healthcare accessible to all, everywhere

doctors, man, woman, health, Gabon

Making healthcare accessible to all, everywhere

Gabon’s health sector has significant resources compared to neighboring countries. However, the budget allocation for the sector remains low, there is insufficient medical infrastructure and staff and a great disparity between territories. 

In this context, the Government of Gabon has pledged to ensure the health system removes institutional and geographical barriers and improves the effectiveness of care practices. The aim is to improve access to health services for populations. 

AFD has been working to achieve this objective since 2010:

  • A first project rehabilitated medical centers in Libreville (Okala, London, Lapeyrie) and the north of the country and supplied health goods. 
  • A second ongoing project aims to strengthen healthcare provision. How? By rehabilitating 27 medical centers in 4 provinces (Woleu-Ntem, Ogooué Ivindo, Haut Ogooué, Ngounié), building housing for health workers and supplying equipment which complies with national standards. The project also aims to improve the quality of healthcare delivery thanks to a program to develop and optimize health human resources (assistance in planning and managing the HR services of the Ministry of Health, in-service training).

Promoting cohesion in the country with the Transgabonais

driver, train, transport, Transgabonais, Gabon

Promoting cohesion in the country with the Transgabonais

The Transgabonais is 648 km long and is the only railway in Gabon. It plays a crucial role in the economic and social development of the country. It transports passengers, minerals, timber and goods via the equatorial forest, from Franceville to Libreville. Since the commissioning of the last section connecting Franceville in 1986, there had been no more major works on the Transgabonais: the infrastructure and equipment were ageing.

The Transgabonais Operating Company (SETRAG) set out to address this situation by launching a plan to upgrade the railway, over several years, involving various actors, including AFD Group. The project provides for the construction of housing for SETRAG employees, clinics and support for the training center in Franceville.

The works should not only benefit users, but also railway employees and people living along the track.

800m
euros committed between 2010 and 2017

Gabon, a country in Equatorial Africa located in the Gulf of Guinea, has 1.8 million inhabitants and one of the highest GDPs per capita in Sub-Saharan Africa. It is the second largest economic power in the region.

The country, nicknamed “the world’s second lung” after Amazonia, has vast forestry resources. It also benefits from arable land and favorable climatic conditions for agriculture.

However, it does stand out for its socioeconomic characteristics, which are unusual for a country in this income bracket: 21% of the population lives below the poverty line and there are persistent income inequalities. The situation on the labor market also gives cause for concern: the unemployment rate stands at 28%, and is particularly high among young working people (almost 37%). Gabon’s growth model is fragile and insufficiently diversified: economic growth and the level of public investment are heavily dependent on sustained high oil prices. The country is also seriously lagging behind in the development of infrastructure (transport, sanitation) and in social and educational services (health, education). 

The country’s development policy is set out in the Emerging Gabon Strategic Plan (PSGE) prepared in 2009. This plan defines the guidelines to make Gabon an emerging country by 2025. AFD is supporting the implementation of the PSGE and committed some EUR 800m between 2010 and 2017.

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Climate
  • Forests and Biodiversity

Funding type

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

Download

Research document

Export diversification in the franc zone: its extent, sophistication and dynamics

It is now a widely recognised fact in the economic literature that the level of per capita income and the degree of sectoral concentration of economic activity evolve together over ...
Dec 2012

Gabon

Deuxième puissance économique d’Afrique équatoriale, le Gabon dispose de sérieux atouts : vastes ressources forestières, terres arables et biodiversité exceptionnelle. Mais le pays doit relever le défi des inégalités, développer ses infrastructures et renforcer l’accès de tous à la santé et à l’éducation. L’AFD l'accompagne sur la voie de l’émergence.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Transgabonais, train, femme, Gabon, transport
L’AFD et le Gabon : permettre l’accès de tous aux services de base et protéger les ressources naturelles
nature, hangars, Gabon, Sonier Issembé

Faciliter l’accès de tous à l’éducation

éducation, classe, jeunes filles, Gabon

Faciliter l’accès de tous à l’éducation

Les caractéristiques du Gabon dans le secteur de l’éducation sont en décalage par rapport aux pays ayant le même niveau de revenus : 44,4 % des plus de 25 ans seulement avaient suivi un enseignement secondaire en 2010 et l’indice de satisfaction de la qualité de l’éducation était de 46,5 % en 2011. Le système éducatif public cumule les défis : nombre de classes insuffisant, classes en sureffectifs, manque d’enseignants, diminution du temps théorique d’apprentissage... Dans ce contexte marqué par des années de sous-investissement et d’exode rural, le gouvernement gabonais a identifié deux priorités : le développement du capital humain et le rattrapage des besoins en infrastructures scolaires.

Pour atteindre ces objectifs, l’AFD accompagne le ministère de l’Éducation avec le Programme d’investissements dans le secteur de l’éducation – PISE, qui vise à :

  • Réduire le déficit en infrastructures scolaires par la construction de 500 nouvelles salles de classe (primaires et collèges), à Libreville et Port-Gentil, qui accueilleront 25 000 élèves environ. 
  • Contribuer à la qualité de l’offre éducative et de la vie scolaire en appuyant le ministère dans la prise en charge de l’amélioration des conditions de scolarisation et d’apprentissage des élèves.

Relancer le secteur agricole

agriculture, plantation, Gabon

Relancer le secteur agricole

L’économie gabonaise se distingue par sa dépendance agricole vis-à-vis de l’extérieur. Face à une production nationale insuffisante pour la demande locale, les importations alimentaires ont fortement progressé pour répondre aux besoins croissants de la population. 

Le Gabon a pourtant de sérieux atouts à faire valoir : 3,5 millions d’hectares de terres arables non exploitées, une main d’œuvre abondante et compétente, des conditions climatiques favorables et un marché intérieur porteur. 

Afin de réduire sa dépendance aux importations, diversifier une économie largement soutenue par le pétrole, multiplier les emplois et redynamiser les zones rurales, les autorités gabonaises ont fait du secteur agricole une priorité nationale.

L’AFD soutient depuis plus de 20 ans cette stratégie à travers l’appui à la création de l’Institut gabonais d’appui au développement (IGAD) et le financement des activités de cette structure. Dans le cadre du dernier projet (PRODIAG), 1034 exploitations ont été aménagées à travers tout le pays, 3000 personnes formées à des pratiques agricoles respectueuses de l’environnement et plus de 8000 tonnes de denrées agricoles produites, générant plus de 3,5 milliards de francs CFA de revenus en 2016.

Concilier protection de la biodiversité et exploitation raisonnée

exploitation, forêts, pile de bois, Gabon

Concilier protection de la biodiversité et exploitation raisonnée

Considéré comme l’un des pôles mondiaux de la biodiversité et riche d’une forêt que l’on qualifie de second poumon du monde après l’Amazonie, le Gabon s’est fortement engagé dans la conservation et l’utilisation durable des ressources naturelles. 

Cela s’est notamment traduit par le classement de 13 parcs nationaux en août 2002, couvrant près de 3 millions d’hectares soit 11 % du territoire géré par l’Agence nationale des parcs nationaux. L’État gabonais entend également réglementer l’industrie du bois et garantir l’exploitation durable des ressources forestières, le secteur forestier jouant un rôle essentiel dans l’économie gabonaise. 

C’est dans ce cadre que l’AFD contribue à la préservation des écosystèmes forestiers et à leur exploitation raisonnée. Ces projets ont permis de contribuer à la conservation et à la valorisation des parcs nationaux en périphérie de Libreville mais également, à l’échelle du pays, à l’amélioration du contrôle de l’aménagement forestier et à l’accompagnement de la filière forêt/bois pour faciliter sa mutation.

Rendre la santé accessible à tous, partout

médecins, homme, femme, santé, Gabon

Rendre la santé accessible à tous, partout

Le secteur de la santé au Gabon dispose de moyens significatifs en comparaison des pays voisins. Mais la part du budget consenti au secteur reste faible, les infrastructures et les personnels médicaux sont insuffisants et il existe une grande disparité entre les territoires. 

Dans ce contexte, le gouvernement gabonais s’est engagé à garantir un système de santé permettant de lever les obstacles institutionnels et géographiques et d’améliorer l’efficacité des pratiques de soins, pour un meilleur accès des populations aux services de santé. 

L’AFD intervient depuis 2010 pour atteindre cet objectif :

  • Un premier projet a permis la réhabilitation de centres médicaux de Libreville (Okala, London, Lapeyrie) et du nord du pays, et l’apport de matériels de santé. 
  • Un second projet, en cours, vise le renforcement de l’offre de soins. Comment ? En réhabilitant 27 centres médicaux dans 4 provinces (Woleu-Ntem, Ogooué Ivindo, Haut Ogooué, Ngounié), en construisant des logements pour le personnel de santé et en fournissant des équipements conformes aux standards nationaux. Le projet entend également améliorer la qualité des prestations de soins grâce à un programme de développement et d’optimisation des ressources humaines en santé (appui à la planification et à la gestion des services RH du ministère de la Santé, formation continue).
     

Favoriser la cohésion du territoire avec le Transgabonais

conducteur, train, transport, Transgabonais, Gabon

Favoriser la cohésion du territoire avec le Transgabonais

Long de 648 km, le Transgabonais, unique chemin de fer du Gabon, joue un rôle essentiel dans le développement économique et social du pays. Il achemine passagers, minerais, bois et marchandises à travers la forêt équatoriale, de Franceville à Libreville. Depuis la mise en service en 1986 du dernier tronçon reliant Franceville, le Transgabonais n’avait plus connu de travaux majeurs : l’infrastructure et le matériel vieillissaient.

Face à ce constat, la Société d’Exploitation du Transgabonais (SETRAG) a lancé un plan de remise à niveau de la voie ferrée, sur plusieurs années, faisant intervenir différents acteurs dont le groupe AFD. Le projet prévoit notamment la construction de logements pour les employés de la SETRAG, d'écoles, de dispensaires et un appui au centre de formation de Franceville.

Les travaux doivent bénéficier non seulement aux usagers mais aussi aux employés du chemin de fer et aux populations qui vivent le long de la voie.

800
millions d'euros engagés sur la période 2010-2017

Pays d’Afrique équatoriale, situé sur le golfe de Guinée, le Gabon est peuplé de 1,8 million d’habitants et dispose d’un PIB par tête parmi les plus élevés d’Afrique subsaharienne. C’est la deuxième puissance économique de la région.

Surnommé « second poumon du monde » après l’Amazonie, le pays dispose de vastes ressources forestières et bénéficie également de terres arables et de conditions climatiques favorables à l’agriculture.

Il se distingue néanmoins par des caractéristiques socio-économiques atypiques pour un pays de cette tranche de revenu : 21 % de la population vit sous le seuil de pauvreté et les inégalités de revenu perdurent. La situation sur le marché du travail est également préoccupante : le taux de chômage est de 28 %, notamment chez les jeunes actifs (près de 37%). Quant au modèle de croissance gabonais, il est fragile et insuffisamment diversifié : la croissance de l’économie et le niveau d’investissement public sont très largement dépendants de la bonne tenue des cours du pétrole. Le pays enregistre également un retard significatif dans le développement des infrastructures (transports, assainissement) et dans les services socio-éducatifs (santé, éducation).

La politique de développement du pays est contenue dans le Plan Stratégique Gabon Emergent (PSGE) élaboré en 2009. Ce plan définit les orientations devant faire du Gabon un pays émergent en 2025. L’AFD accompagne la mise en œuvre du PSGE et a engagé près de 800 millions d’euros entre 2010 et 2017.

Carte des projets
Cette carte est uniquement utilisée à titre d’illustration et n'engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Climat
  • Eau et assainissement
  • Emploi et prospérité partagée
  • Faim et alimentation
  • Forêts et biodiversité
  • Infrastructures
  • Inégalités
  • Partenariats mondiaux
  • Villes durables
  • Énergie

Type de financement

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Accord de conversion de dette
  • Prêt
  • Prêt concessionnel non souverain
  • Prêt concessionnel souverain
  • Subvention

Antennes

Display local antennas

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Téléchargement

Document de recherche

La diversification des exportations en zone franc

Nombre d‘études sur la diversification des exportations sujet sont essentiellement consacrées aux pays industrialisés ou émergents, un fait regrettable compte tenu de la vulnérabilité à laquelle les ...
Apr 2012
Document de recherche

Accès à l’électricité en Afrique subsaharienne : retours d‘expérience et approches innovantes

Cette étude a été réalisée dans l’objectif de développer de nouvelles approches et une capitalisation méthodologique sur la thématique de l’accès pour ...
Apr 2012
Document de recherche

Impacts de la crise en Afrique subsaharienne

Bien que moins intégrée à l’économie mondiale, l’Afrique subsaharienne n‘a pourtant pas été épargnée par la crise mondiale. L’analyse empirique des impacts de la ...
Jul 2011
Document de recherche

Mesure et évolutions récentes de l’intégration commerciale en zone franc

S‘inspirant des expériences des pays industrialisés, de nombreux pays en développement ont adopté des politiques d‘intégration commerciale. Leur impact sur la croissance des échanges ...
Nov 2010
Publication institutionnelle

Profil Genre : Afrique

Les « Profils Genre Pays » ont pour objectif d’appuyer les équipes (siège et agences) à développer un dialogue et faciliter la mise en réseau avec nos partenaires dans ...
Dec 2016