Ghana

Since 1992, the level of poverty in Ghana has been falling thanks to a stable political situation and remarkable economic growth. However, the State is currently heavily indebted. AFD is contributing to strengthening the national economy by supporting public and private actors.
Ghana Accra sky view
AFD and Ghana: Diversifying the economy and improving electricity supply
Ghana Accra sky view

Supporting farmers

Ghana Village rubber outgrowing in Takarodi

Supporting farmers

Agriculture is the backbone of Ghana’s economy and employs some 40% of the working population. However, for the past seven years, its share in the country’s GDP has been constantly falling and currently stands at the 20% mark. This poses a challenge for the new government. It has just launched a program called “Planting for Food and Jobs” to attract Ghanaians to farming. AFD operates in two sectors: rubber and rice. 

Supporting smallholder rubber outgrower plantations 

AFD has allocated two loans to Agricultural Development Bank (ADB). The result: 5,500 smallholder outgrowers are able to farm 18,000 ha of rubber plantations. This project came about through a tripartite agreement between the bank, the technical operator, Ghana Rubber Estate Ltd., and the Rubber Outgrowers and Agents Association. 

Strengthening the rice-growing sector

For some fifty years now, AFD has been helping rural communities in the north of the country strengthen the rice-growing sector. We have financed lowland development (small valleys with flat bottoms used for rice growing). We are supporting 7,500 producers and are contributing to developing an additional 5,000 ha of agricultural land. The benefits: improvement in technical skills, increase in rice production, sales on a fast-growing national market, and fall in the cost of food imports. 

Developing transport and infrastructure

Ghana Accra sky view

Developing transport and infrastructure

With an annual urban population growth rate estimated at 3.6%, the urbanization rate in Ghana follows the general trend in Sub-Saharan Africa. According to forecasts, some 60% of Ghana’s population will be living in urban areas by 2030. AFD is a major partner in Ghana’s decentralization and urban development process and today focuses on the transport and urban mobility sector.

We are financing the Ghana Urban Management Pilot Project in four of Ghana’s secondary cities: Kumasi, Tamale, Sekondi-Takoradi and Ho. The project, which is part of the national urban and decentralization policy, aims to:

  • Equip the four cities with markets, abattoirs, drains, etc.;
  • Regenerate neighborhoods;
  • Train officers from local authorities in public infrastructure management and territorial development. 

In Ghana, 95% of passenger and freight transport is by road. The lack of appropriate transport infrastructure causes major congestion and environmental pollution.

We are supporting the extension of road and drainage infrastructure in Kumasi to reduce traffic jams and flooding.

We are improving urban transport (Kumasi bypass, widening of the Awoshie-Pokuase road, construction of double lanes reserved for Bus Rapid Transit ) to reduce the negative environmental impact of traffic congestion and increase urban productivity.
 

Strengthening the power grid

Ghana Implementation of the electrification strategy

Strengthening the power grid

Access to electricity for rural and urban populations is a major challenge. In recent years, the Ghanaian Government has been implementing major institutional, organizational and tariff reforms. AFD is supporting this energy policy via a range of projects which concern power generation and distribution:


• Rehabilitating the hydropower dam to secure hydropower generation at the Kpong power plant and, eventually, irrigating important areas for agriculture, while reducing the use of fossil fuels;


• Strengthening the power grid in the North. The existing 160 kV line will be replaced by a new 330 kV high-voltage line. The project also provides for the construction of power substations and the extension of the interconnection power line between Ghana and Burkina Faso. The objective: support Ghana’s target of exporting electricity to neighboring countries.
 

Supporting the private sector

Ghana Accra Hair salon which has benefited from microfinance

Supporting the private sector

Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) are sources of job creation and economic growth. But they have difficulties in obtaining the capital required for the development of their commercial activities. AFD and PROPARCO, its private sector financing arm, allocate credit lines to Ghanaian commercial banks to increase their capacity to lend to SMEs.

Supporting companies in the energy and agriculture sectors

PROPARCO also finances infrastructure and agro-industry. At the Takoradi 2 power plant, the installation of a combined cycle has increased the installed generation capacity (220 MW) by 110 MW. Ghana Rubber Estates Limited has benefited from financing for the development of rubber outgrower plantations.

Banking on microfinance

AFD is also supporting the Ghana Association of Microfinance Companies. The project’s objective: improve the service standards of the most efficient microfinance institutions in the sector in order to reduce costs, lower interest rates and improve management.

900
million euros committed since 2004
60
projects financed in the past 10 years
7,500
outgrowers benefit from an increase in their incomes

Despite its remarkable growth, Ghana’s economy needs to face three challenges: the decline in world prices for most of the raw materials exported by the country (gold, cocoa), the sharp fall in oil prices, which has halved its oil revenues, and an electricity grid which is still underdeveloped and unstable.

Ghana must now diversify its economy and increase its energy supply. To achieve this, the Government has just launched a new industrial policy, which plans to build a factory in each of the country’s 126 districts (One-district-one-factory-policy).

AFD has been a partner of Ghana for over 30 years. It focuses its activities on the country’s main economic development projects, particularly in the agriculture, transport and energy sectors.

In view of the level of debt of the Ghanaian State, AFD is now refocusing its activities on financing non-State actors: local banks, State-owned companies (without a State guarantee) and the private sector.

AFD in Ghana: over EUR 1.2bn committed over the past 30 years via over 150 projects.
 

Carte interactive
Cette carte est uniquement utilisée à titre d’illustration et n'engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

Funding type

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
Voir la carte de tous les projets

Ghana

Depuis 1992, le Ghana voit son niveau de pauvreté se réduire grâce à une conjoncture politique stable et une croissance économique remarquable. Cependant, l’État est actuellement lourdement endetté. Pour renforcer l’économie nationale, l’AFD soutient les acteurs publics et privés.
Ghana Accra vue du ciel
L’AFD et le Ghana : diversifier l’économie et améliorer la fourniture en électricité
Ghana Accra vue du ciel

Soutenir les agriculteurs

Ghana plantation d'hévéas à Takarodi

Soutenir les agriculteurs

L’agriculture, épine dorsale de l’économie ghanéenne, emploie environ 40 % de la population active. Mais depuis sept ans, sa part dans le PIB du pays ne cesse de diminuer pour atteindre actuellement la barre des 20 %. Un défi pour le nouveau gouvernement qui vient de lancer un programme intitulé « Planting for Food and Job » pour attirer les Ghanéens vers l’agriculture. L’AFD intervient dans deux filières : l’hévéa et le riz.

Appuyer les plantations villageoises d’hévéas

L’AFD a accordé deux prêts à l’Agricultural Development Bank (ADB). Résultat : 5 500 planteurs villageois sont en mesure d’exploiter 18 000 ha de plantations d’hévéas. Un accord tripartite entre la banque, l’opérateur technique Ghana Rubber Estate Ltd. et l’association des planteurs villageois d’hévéas (Rubber Outgrowers and Agents Association) est à l’origine du projet.

Renforcer la filière rizicole

L'AFD accompagne depuis une cinquantaine d’années les communautés rurales du nord du pays pour renforcer la filière rizicole. Nous avons financé l’aménagement de bas-fonds (petites vallées à fond plat utilisées pour la culture du riz). Nous soutenons 7 500 producteurs et contribuons à l’aménagement de 5 000 ha supplémentaires de surfaces cultivables. Les bénéfices : amélioration des compétences techniques, augmentation de la production de riz, vente sur le marché national en pleine expansion et baisse du coût d’importation de denrées alimentaires.

Développer les transports et les infrastructures

Ghana Accra vue du ciel

Développer les transports et les infrastructures

Avec une croissance de la population urbaine estimée à 3,6 % par an, le taux d’urbanisation au Ghana suit la tendance générale en Afrique subsaharienne. Selon les prévisions, près de 60 % de la population ghanéenne résidera dans des zones urbaines d’ici à 2030. L’AFD, partenaire de poids dans le processus de décentralisation et de développement urbain ghanéen, se concentre aujourd’hui sur le secteur des transports et de la mobilité urbaine.

Nous finançons le Ghana Urban Management Pilot Project dans quatre villes secondaires ghanéennes : Kumasi, Tamale, Sekondi-Takoradi et Ho. Le projet, qui s’intègre dans la politique nationale urbaine et de décentralisation, vise à :

  • doter les quatre villes de marchés, abattoirs, drains, etc. ;
  • réhabiliter les quartiers ;
  • former des agents des collectivités locales à la gestion des infrastructures publiques et à l’aménagement du territoire.

Au Ghana, 95% des transports de passagers et de marchandises sont effectués par voie routière. L’absence d’infrastructures de transport adaptées est à l’origine de congestions majeures et de pollution environnementale.

Nous accompagnons l’extension des infrastructures routières et de drainage à Kumasi pour réduire les embouteillages et les inondations.

Nous améliorons le transport urbain (rocade de Kumasi, élargissement de l’axe routier Awoshie-Pokuase, construction de doubles voies réservées au Bus Rapid Transit) pour réduire l'impact environnemental négatif de la congestion automobile et augmenter la productivité urbaine.

Renforcer le réseau énergétique

Ghana énergie électricité homme femme casque

Renforcer le réseau énergétique

L’accès à l’électricité pour les populations rurales et urbaines est un enjeu majeur. Ces dernières années, le gouvernement ghanéen a mené d’importantes réformes institutionnelles, organisationnelles et tarifaires. L’AFD accompagne cette politique énergétique via une palette de projets qui touchent à la production et à la distribution de l’électricité :

  • Réhabiliter le barrage hydroélectrique pour sécuriser la production hydroélectrique de la centrale de Kpong et, à terme, permettre l’irrigation de périmètres importants pour l’agriculture, tout en réduisant le recours aux énergies fossiles.
  • Renforcer le réseau électrique du Nord. La ligne existante de 160 kV sera remplacée par une nouvelle ligne à haute tension de 330 kV. Le projet prévoit également la construction de sous-stations électriques et l’extension de la ligne d'interconnexion électrique entre le Ghana et le Burkina Faso. Objectif : appuyer le Ghana dans ses ambitions d’exportateur d’électricité vers les pays voisins.

Appuyer le secteur privé

Ghana Accra Hair salon

Appuyer le secteur privé

Les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) sont sources de création d’emplois et de croissance économique. Mais elles ont des difficultés à se procurer les capitaux nécessaires au développement de leurs activités commerciales. L’AFD et sa filiale PROPARCO, dédiée au secteur privé, accordent des lignes de crédits aux banques commerciales ghanéennes afin d’accroître leurs capacités à prêter aux PME.

Appuyer les entreprises du secteur de l’énergie et de l’agriculture

PROPARCO finance également des infrastructures et l’agro-industrie. A la centrale de Takoradi 2, la mise en place d’un cycle combiné a augmenté la capacité installée (220 MW) de 110 MW d’électricité. La Ghana Rubber Estates Limited a bénéficié d’un financement pour le développement des plantations d’hévéas.

Miser sur la microfinance

L’AFD soutient également la Ghana Association of Microfinance Companies. L’objectif du projet : perfectionner les standards de service de microfinance les plus performants du secteur pour réduire les coûts, baisser les taux d’intérêt et améliorer la gestion.

900
millions d'euros engagés depuis 2004
60
projets financés ces 10 dernières années
7 500
cultivateurs bénéficient d’une hausse de leurs revenus

Malgré sa croissance remarquable, l’économie ghanéenne doit faire face à trois défis : la baisse des cours mondiaux de la plupart des matières premières dont le pays est exportateur (or, cacao), la chute des cours du brut qui a réduit de moitié ses revenus pétroliers et un réseau électrique encore sous-développé et instable.

Le Ghana doit aujourd’hui diversifier son économie et augmenter son approvisionnement en énergie. Pour ce faire, le gouvernement vient de lancer une nouvelle politique industrielle. Celle-ci prévoit d’établir une usine dans chacun des 126 districts du pays (One-district-one-factory-policy).

Partenaire du Ghana depuis plus de 30 ans, l'AFD a concentré ses activités sur les grands projets de développement économique du pays, notamment dans les secteurs de l’agriculture, des transports et de l'énergie.

Aujourd’hui, au regard du niveau d’endettement de l’État ghanéen, l’AFD recentre ses activités vers le financement des acteurs non-étatiques, qu’il s’agisse de banques locales, d’entreprises publiques (sans garantie de l’État) ou du secteur privé.

L’AFD au Ghana, c’est plus de 1,2 milliard d’euros engagés au cours des 30 dernières années à travers plus de 150 projets.

Carte interactive
Cette carte est uniquement utilisée à titre d’illustration et n'engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

  • Consommation et production durables
  • Eau et assainissement
  • Emploi et prospérité partagée
  • Faim et alimentation
  • Infrastructures
  • Paix et justice
  • Partenariats mondiaux
  • Pauvreté
  • Villes durables
  • Énergie

Type de financement

  • Prêt concessionnel non souverain
  • Prêt concessionnel souverain
  • Subvention

Antennes

Display local antennas

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir la carte de tous les projets