Education

Education and training are among the first Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) defined by the United Nations in 2015. AFD takes action in the field, alongside its partners, to ensure access to quality education for all: from primary school to higher education, from vocational training to employment.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Young girls at the Amoronimania public school , Madagascar
Youth at the heart of development
Young girls at the Amoronimania public school , Madagascar

Improving access to education

A little girl closes the classroom door in Uganda

Improving access to education

First the good news: thanks to the concerted action of developing countries and the international community, net primary school enrolment around the world rose from 84 to 91% between 1999 and 2014. In spite of this, however, over 57 million children and 69 million adolescents, mainly girls and children living in rural areas, still did not have access to effective basic education (primary and secondary school) in 2014. There are many reasons for this: high population pressure and persistent inequalities related to gender, age, territories, ethnicity and disability. 

AFD works to facilitate access to basic, universal, equitable and valuable education for all. Its action targets: improving the quality of teaching, school curricula and vocational training, and working on training and professionalization for teachers, head teachers and supervisory staff.

Strengthening vocational training systems

National Institute of Judicial Training of Côte d'Ivoire

Strengthening vocational training systems

We can see from the example of Asian countries: technical vocational education and training (TVET) is essential for the economic development of countries. However, it remains the poor relation in sectoral policies in a number of countries, especially in Sub-Saharan Africa: lack of equipment and qualified trainers, outdated curricula and equipment, insufficient budgets… The result: training remains largely confined to poor quality informal learning.  

AFD helps the least developed countries increase the level of technical and vocational education. It improves the quality of curricula and ensures they match the needs of the labor market. To do so, it diversifies the range of educational provision and creates high-level vocational training centers. AFD’s approach pays special attention to courses in the agricultural sector – an economic pillar in many developing countries.  

Promoting employment and integration policies

Infotep, vocational training in Dominican Republic

Promoting employment and integration policies

It is a fact: countries which invest the most in employment see their standard of living increase more rapidly. This is shown by the findings of a study of the past twenty years commissioned by the World Bank (4). However, 201 million people around the world were still unemployed in 2014, a situation which affects over a third of the young population. One particularly alarming phenomenon is the increase in the number of adolescents Not in Education, Employment or Training (NEET), which reached 260 million in 2015.

AFD helps developing countries promote job creation policies and private sector participation. It develops dialogue with all stakeholders, with the aim of improving working conditions, improving knowledge of labor markets, and developing programs which meet the needs of territories. It establishes lifelong learning systems.

Overhauling higher education

Truong Quoc Vi, student at the Industrial university of Ho Chi Minh city

Overhauling higher education

There are some 200 million students around the world, 50% of whom are women, a figure which has doubled in 15 years. These dynamics can be seen in all parts of the world, including in Africa, despite the fact that only 8% of young people achieved this level in 2014, when the global average stood at 34%. The challenge lies in managing the explosion in student numbers. 

AFD supports its partners’ initiatives to develop higher education provision that is more equitable, of better quality and more in line with the labor market. It supports industry sectors which have strong potential for occupations of the future and ensures there are exchanges between the sectors of higher education, research, innovation and the private sector.

2.5
billion euros committed by AFD since 2000
1
million children enrolled in school every year
13,0000
young people in training every year

AFD’s action is based on the fact that youth is a great asset and knowledge is today widely shared and accessible to the vast majority of people. At the same time, new forms of work are being created, alternative development models are being established, and civil society is having greater influence in the public debate. AFD supports and assists these movements via education, training and employment.

With EUR 326m, i.e. 70% of the budget AFD earmarks for this sector, Sub-Saharan Africa is the main region to benefit from our financing. 

On the economic front, education and training are essential investments for building green economies, which are prosperous because they are inclusive, dynamic, competitive, diversified and innovative. 

On the environmental front, one of the potential avenues for the future of education, training and employment lies in new energy and digital technologies. They will also ensure the transition towards a low-carbon economy, which the United Nations is calling for with the SDGs.
But education and training issues go well beyond the economic aspect. We know that education and training reduce inequalities – a breeding ground for the feeling of exclusion and factors which fuel crises –, while strengthening social cohesion and increasing resilience. They provide a common foundation on which the sense that everyone has of belonging to society is built. 
 

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Geography
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Geography

Funding type

  • Delegation of European Union Funds
  • Grant
  • Loan
  • Non Sovereign Concessional Loan
  • Non Sovereign Non Concessional Loan
  • Sovereign Concessional Loan

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

Download

Evaluation document

Evaluation of AFD‘s Sectoral Intervention Framework (SIF) on Education, Training and Employment, 2013-2015

AFD‘s Sectoral Intervention Frameworks (SIF) are reference documents that plan and steer work in a given field over a period of three to five years, in addition to providing ...
Oct 2016
Evaluation document

Practical Case of Resident Technical Assistance. Lessons Learned from Support to the Education Sector in Mauritania

Since the Paris Declaration, the topic of “capacity development” has gained considerable momentum in the reflection on Official Development Assistance (ODA). The international community had previously relied on heterogeneous practices ...
Jun 2012
Research document

Can Arabo-Islamic education in sub-Saharan Africa be ignored?

Arab-Islamic education in general, and Koranic schools in particular, are still largely excluded from programs advocating for education for all in Africa. Consequently, recognizing its existence, its importance and its ...
Jan 2018
Research document

Linkages between Education and Fertility in Sub-Saharan Africa

This paper explores linkages between women’s education and fertility in sub-Saharan Africa, using DHS data from about 30 countries. There are three substantive sets of analyses. First, we shed light ...
Nov 2017
Research document

Does one size fit all? The impact of cognitive skills on economic growth

This paper tests for heterogeneous effects of cognitive skills on economic growth across countries. Using a new extended dataset on cognitive skills and controlling for potential endogeneity, we find that ...
Jun 2017
Research document

An Application of the Alkire-Foster’s Multidimensional Poverty Index to Data from Madagascar: Taking Into Account the Dimensions of Employment and Gender Inequality

In this study, we build what we call the Malagasy Multidimensional Poverty Index (MALAMPI), which is an augmented-MPI. Here, in addition to the standard MPI dimensions (health, education and living ...
Apr 2017
Institutional document

Strategy Education, training, employment 2016-2020

A new cycle of international mobilization is opening in 2016. However, the world is changing, and newscasts remind us that the persistent imbalances in various regions of the planet have no ...
Video

Kenya: a bright couloured school start

In Kisumu, the third most populated city in Kenya, pupils and teachers in the Angira school could not wait a second more: walls were crumbling, classrooms were on the verge ...
Feb 2018
Video

Mozambique: children dare to dream big

In Mozambique, AFD and the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN) are banking on education. The country inherited a deteriorated education system because of the civil war. In 1992, one child in ...
Feb 2018
Video

Improving the employment of young people and women in a context of crisis in Lebanon

In Lebanon, AFD and the NGO IECD (“Semeurs d’Avenir”) are not only trying to teach young people a trade, they are promoting the togetherness. Lebanese society has not totally ...
Nov 2017

Éducation

L’éducation et la formation figurent parmi les premiers objectifs du développement durable (ODD) définis par les Nations unies en 2015. L’AFD agit sur le terrain, au côté de ses partenaires, pour assurer à tous l’accès à une éducation de qualité : de l’école primaire à l’enseignement supérieur, de la formation professionnelle à l’emploi.
Madagascar fille école classe éducation
L'AFD et l'éducation : les jeunes au cœur du développement
Madagascar fille école classe éducation

Améliorer l’accès à l’éducation

Une petite fille ferme la porte de la classe en Ouganda

Améliorer l’accès à l’éducation

D’abord la bonne nouvelle : grâce à l’action concertée des pays en développement et de la communauté internationale, le taux net de scolarisation primaire dans le monde est passé de 84 à 91% entre 1999 et 2014. Malgré tout, plus de 57 millions d’enfants et 69 millions d’adolescents, principalement les filles et les enfants vivant en milieu rural, n’ont toujours pas accès à un enseignement de base (primaire et collège) efficace en 2014. Les raisons sont nombreuses : une forte pression démographique, et des inégalités persistantes liées au genre, à l’âge, au territoire, à l’appartenance ethnique ou encore au handicap. 

L’AFD s’engage pour faciliter l’accès de tous à une éducation de base, universelle, équitable et de valeur. Son action : améliorer la qualité des enseignements, des programmes scolaires et des apprentissages professionnels, travailler à la formation et à la professionnalisation des enseignants, des chefs d’établissements et des personnels d’encadrement.

Renforcer les dispositifs de formation professionnelle

Institut national de formation judiciaire de Côte d'Ivoire

Renforcer les dispositifs de formation professionnelle

L’exemple des pays asiatiques le montre : l’enseignement et la formation technique et professionnelle formelle (EFTP) sont essentiels pour le développement économique des pays. Néanmoins, ils demeurent le parent pauvre des politiques sectorielles dans de nombreux pays, en particulier en Afrique subsaharienne : pénurie d’équipements et de formateurs qualifiés, obsolescence des programmes et des équipements, insuffisance des budgets… Conséquence : la formation reste largement cantonnée à un apprentissage informel de médiocre qualité.

L’AFD soutient les pays les moins avancés pour relever le niveau de l’enseignement technique et professionnel. Elle améliore la qualité des programmes et s’assure qu’ils correspondent bien aux besoins du marché de l’emploi. Pour ce faire, elle diversifie les offres pédagogiques et crée des centres de formation professionnelle de haut niveau. Dans sa démarche, l’AFD apporte une attention particulière aux cursus dans le secteur agricole, un pilier économique dans de nombreux pays en développement.  

Favoriser les politiques d’emploi et l’insertion

Infotep, formation en République dominicaine

Favoriser les politiques d’emploi et l’insertion

C’est un fait : les pays qui investissent le plus dans l’emploi voient leur niveau de vie s’améliorer plus rapidement. C’est ce que montrent les conclusions d’une étude sur ces vingt dernières années commandée par la Banque mondiale (4). Pourtant, 201 millions de personnes dans le monde se trouvaient encore au chômage en 2014, une situation qui affecte plus d’un tiers de la jeune population. Un phénomène particulièrement alarmant : l’augmentation d’adolescents sans éducation, sans emploi et sans formation (les NEET - Not in Education, Employment or Training), et dont le nombre atteint 260 millions en 2015.

L’AFD soutient les pays en développement pour encourager les politiques de création d’emplois et la participation du secteur privé. Elle valorise le dialogue avec toutes les parties prenantes pour améliorer les conditions de travail, affiner la connaissance des marchés de l’emploi et développer des programmes qui répondent aux besoins des territoires. Elle met sur pied des systèmes de formation tout au long de la vie.

Rénover l’enseignement supérieur

Truong Quoc Vi, étudiant à l'Université industrielle de Ho Chi Minh

Rénover l’enseignement supérieur

On compte environ 200 millions d’étudiants dans le monde, dont 50 % de femmes, un chiffre qui a doublé en 15 ans. Cette dynamique s’observe dans toutes les régions du monde, y compris en Afrique, où pourtant uniquement 8% des jeunes atteignaient ce niveau en 2014, quand la moyenne mondiale était de 34%. Le défi consiste à gérer l’explosion des effectifs. 

L’AFD soutient les initiatives de ses partenaires pour développer des offres d’enseignement supérieur plus équitables, de meilleure qualité et plus adéquates par rapport au marché de l’emploi. Elle appuie les filières industrielles porteuses de métiers d’avenir et garantit les échanges entre les secteurs de l’enseignement supérieur, de la recherche, de l’innovation et le secteur privé.

2,5
milliards d’euros engagés par l'AFD depuis 2000
1
million d’enfants scolarisés chaque année
130000
jeunes en formation par an

L’AFD part d’un constat : la jeunesse est une richesse et le savoir est aujourd’hui largement partagé et accessible au plus grand nombre. Parallèlement, de nouvelles formes de travail apparaissent, des modèles de développement alternatifs s’affirment et l’influence de la société civile dans le débat public s’étend. L’AFD soutient et accompagne ces mouvements par le biais de l’éducation, de la formation et de l’emploi.

Avec 326 millions d’euros, soit 70% de l’enveloppe que l’AFD consacre à ce secteur, l’Afrique subsaharienne est la première région bénéficiaire de nos financements. 

Sur le plan économique, l’éducation et la formation sont des investissements indispensables pour construire des économies vertes, prospères parce qu’inclusives, dynamiques, compétitives, diversifiées et innovantes. 

Sur le plan environnemental, l’une des pistes d’avenir quant à l’éducation, la formation et l’emploi réside dans les nouvelles technologies énergétiques et numériques. Elles assureront, de surcroît, la transition vers une économie bas-carbone que les Nations unies appellent de leurs vœux avec les ODD.

Mais les enjeux autour de l’éducation et de la formation dépassent le seul aspect économique. On sait que l’éducation et la formation réduisent les inégalités - terreau du sentiment d’exclusion et facteurs de crises – tout en renforçant la cohésion sociale et en augmentant la résilience. Elles constituent un socle commun sur lequel se construit le sentiment d’appartenance de chacun à la société. 

Carte interactive
Cette carte est uniquement utilisée à titre d’illustration et n'engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD
Géographie
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Géographie

Type de financement

  • Contrat de désendettement et de développement (C2D)
  • Délégation de fonds de l'Union européenne
  • Garantie
  • Ligne de crédit verte
  • Préfinancement des subventions publiques européennes et d'État
  • Prêt
  • Prêt concessionnel non souverain
  • Prêt concessionnel souverain
  • Prêt non concessionnel non souverain
  • Subvention

Antennes

Display local antennas

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir la carte de tous les projets

Téléchargement

Document d'évaluation

Evaluation à mi-parcours du Plan décennal de développement du secteur de l’éducation du Bénin (PDDSE 2006-2015)

Cette évaluation a été conçue par le gouvernement du Bénin, le ministère danois des Affaires étrangères (DANIDA) et par l’AFD, à la suite d'une initiative conjointe ...
Feb 2012
Document d'évaluation

Évaluation du cadre d‘intervention sectoriel (CIS) éducation, formation et emploi 2013-2015

Les cadres d‘intervention sectoriels (CIS) de l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD) sont des documents de référence qui anticipent et encadrent ses interventions dans un ...
Oct 2016
Document d'évaluation

Évaluation du cadre d‘intervention sectoriel (CIS) éducation, formation et emploi 2013-2015 | Rapport final

Les cadres d‘intervention sectoriels (CIS) de l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD) sont des documents de référence qui anticipent et encadrent ses interventions dans un ...
Dec 2016
Document d'évaluation

Cas pratique sur l’assistance technique résidente. Enseignements tirés d‘un appui au secteur de l’éducation en Mauritanie

L’assistance technique résidente (ATR) est un outil singulier, n‘ayant pas son pareil en dehors du champ de la coopération au développement, et poursuivant des objectifs ...
Oct 2011
Document de recherche

Analyse critique et méthodologique des données d‘éducation de l’Afrique subsaharienne

Les statistiques relatives au secteur éducatif sont de plus en plus abondantes dans les analyses sur le développement des pays. Depuis 2000 avec le lancement de l’initiative « Education Pour ...
Jul 2016
Document de recherche

"L’itinéraire professionnel du jeune africain" Les résultats d‘une enquête auprès de jeunes leaders africains sur les dispositifs de formation professionnelle post-primaire 

Cette enquête s‘insère dans le travail de recherche de l’AFD sur les dispositifs de formation professionnelle post-primaire. Ce travail a consisté, dans un premier temps, à analyser ...
Jan 2009
Document de recherche

Formation et emploi au Maroc - Etat des lieux et recommandations

Au début des années 2000, le Maroc lançait un important programme d‘investissement dans l’éducation. Aujourd'hui, de grands progrès ont été réalisés en matiè...
Sep 2011
Document de recherche

La formation en secteur informel - Rapport sur l’enquête terrain au Maroc

L’étude sur la formation en secteur informel repose sur des enquêtes terrains dans trois grands types de zones géographiques de l’Afrique : celle du Maghreb, celle de ...
Apr 2006
Publication institutionnelle

Boîte à outils : éducation, formation professionnelle et emploi

Le genre est à la fois un concept et un outil d’analyse. En tant que concept, il désigne ensemble deux entités : le féminin et le masculin ou ...
Jan 2016
Vidéo

La rencontre entre Carlos Moreno et Gaël Giraud

Trump, COP21, éducation, villes durables… Le Professeur Carlos Moreno, spécialiste des smart cities, rend visite à Gaël Giraud, chef économiste de l’AFD. Un débat riche pour faire é...
Jun 2017