Agence Française de Développement

The Agence Française de Développement (AFD) funds, supports and accelerates the transitions to a fairer and more sustainable world.
Focusing on climate, biodiversity, peace, education, urban development, health and governance, our teams carry out more than 4,000 projects in France’s overseas departments and territories and another 115 countries. In this way, we contribute to the commitment of France and French people to support the sustainable development goals.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
vocational training, woman, Senegal
our role, AFD, solar plant, India

Our role

Agence Française de Développement (AFD) finances, supports and accelerates the transition to a fairer and more sustainable world.

Zagtouli, Burkina Faso's photovoltaic power plant

Our priorities

Our strategy rests on a vision of "world in common" and five foundational commitments that underpin all actions: 100% Paris Agreement, 100% social link, 3D development thinking, non-sovereign first and partnership design.

image générique AFD

Governance

AFD has now become a financing company. It was granted this status by the European Central Bank on 30 June 2017. It had previously had the status of a credit institution under French law. This change does not affect AFD’s EPIC (Public Industrial and Commercial Undertaking) status under French law, and its mandate and objectives remain unchanged.ter meet the South's challenges.

tramway, Niger, AFD history

Our history

Created in 1941, AFD is the world’s longest-standing development institution.

Transparency, computer, laptop, hands

Transparency and dialogue

For us, supporting sustainable projects with strong impacts for populations involves submitting results to the judgments and opinions of all stakeholders.

corporate social responsibility, AFD

Our social responsibility

The Corporate Social Responsibility approach is vital for AFD Group. It entails high demands concerning social matters, the environment, ethics, respect for human rights, the fight against corruption, and transparency.

Proparco, woman, computer

Proparco

An AFD Group subsidiary dedicated to the private sector, Proparco has been funding business projects and financial institutions in over 80 countries for over 40 years. Its interventions help to build sustainable economic growth, create jobs, provide essential goods and services and more widely, reduce poverty and contribute to the fight against climate change.

Committed to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), Proparco works with over 450 clients to limit the impacts of their activities and, more generally, to improve their environmental, social and governance-related practices. 

It concentrates its actions on key development sectors: infrastructure with a focus on renewable energies, agro-industry, financial institutions, health, education, etc.

FFEM, biodiversity

FFEM

Created by the French government in 1994 following the first Earth Summit, the French Facility for Global Environment (Fonds français pour l'environnement mondial - FFEM) implements sustainable development projects that encompass protection of global public goods, international solidarity and innovation in developing and emerging countries.

FFEM encourages innovative solutions that provide responses to global environmental problems in the fields of biodiversity, the climate, international waters, land degradation (including deforestation), chemical pollutants and stratospheric ozone.

Since its creation, FFEM has funded over 300 projects in over 120 countries, 69% of which are in Africa and the Mediterranean.

AFD provides the secretariat, as well as material and human resources and signs the conventions and contracts for the projects funded by FFEM.

global goals

The Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, every country in the world agreed on 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, fight against inequalities and injustices, tackle climate change and build a common world by 2030.

Our action is fully in line with the SDGs.

11,4
billion euros committed in 2018
Rémy Rioux, AFD Chief Executive Officer

Rémy Rioux, Chief Executive Officer of AFD

Published on 25 May 2020

L'AFD

L'Agence française de développement

Le groupe Agence française de développement (AFD) est un établissement public qui met en œuvre la politique de la France en matière de développement et de solidarité internationale.

Climat, biodiversité, paix, éducation, urbanisme, santé, gouvernance… Nos équipes sont engagées dans plus de 4000 projets à fort impact social et environnemental dans les Outre-mer français et 115 pays. Nous contribuons ainsi à l’engagement de la France et des Français en faveur des Objectifs de développement durable (ODD).
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
notre rôle, AFD, centrale solaire, Inde

Notre rôle

Le groupe Agence française de développement (AFD) finance, accompagne et accélère les transitions vers un monde plus juste et durable.

Zagtouli, la centrale photovoltaïque du Burkina Faso

Nos priorités

Notre stratégie repose sur une vision, celle d’un monde en commun, et sur cinq engagements structurants : 100 % accord de Paris, 100 % lien social, développement en 3D, priorité au non souverain et réflexe partenarial.

image générique

Gouvernance

L’AFD est désormais une société de financement. Ce statut lui a été accordé le 30 juin 2017 par la Banque centrale européenne. Jusque-là, le statut de l’AFD en droit français était celui d’établissement de crédit. Ce changement n’affecte pas le statut d’EPIC (Établissement Public Industriel et Commercial) de l’AFD en droit français, et sa mission comme ses objectifs restent inchangés.

barrage hydroélectrique Congo archives AFD 1950

Notre histoire

Créée en 1941, l’AFD est la plus ancienne des institutions de développement au monde.

Transparence ordinateur portable clavier mains

Transparence et dialogue

Information, dialogue et réponse aux demandes sont les conditions clés d’une relation de confiance avec l’ensemble de nos partenaires.

Visuel responsabilité sociétale AFD

Notre responsabilité sociétale

La démarche de responsabilité sociétale de l'organisation est indispensable pour le groupe AFD. Elle implique des exigences en matière sociale, environnementale, éthique, de respect des droits de l’homme, de lutte contre la corruption, de transparence.

visuel Proparco, femme, ordinateur

Proparco

Filiale du Groupe AFD dédiée au secteur privé, Proparco finance depuis 40 ans des projets d’entreprises et d’institutions financières dans plus de 80 pays. Ses interventions participent à la construction d’une croissance économique durable, à la création d’emplois, à la fourniture de biens et de services essentiels, et plus largement à la réduction de la pauvreté et à la lutte contre le changement climatique.

Engagé en faveur des Objectifs de développement durable (ODD), Proparco accompagne plus de 450 clients dans la maîtrise des impacts de leur activité et, plus généralement, dans l’amélioration de leurs pratiques en matière environnementale, sociale et de gouvernance. 

Son action se concentre sur les secteurs clés du développement : les infrastructures avec un focus sur les énergies renouvelables, l’agro-industrie, les institutions financières, la santé, l’éducation...

Visuel FFEM, biodiversité

FFEM

Créé en 1994 par le gouvernement français, à la suite du premier Sommet de la Terre, le Fonds français pour l'environnement mondial (FFEM) met en œuvre des projets de développement durable qui intègrent préservation des biens publics mondiaux, solidarité internationale et innovation dans les pays en développement et émergents.

Le FFEM encourage des solutions innovantes qui répondent aux problèmes d'environnement mondial dans les domaines de la biodiversité, du climat, des eaux internationales, de la dégradation des terres (dont la déforestation), des polluants chimiques et de l'ozone stratosphérique.

Depuis sa création, le FFEM a financé plus de 300 projets, dans plus de 120 pays dont 69 % sont situés en Afrique et en Méditerranée.

L’AFD assure le secrétariat, fournit les moyens matériels et humains, signe les conventions et les contrats des projets financés par le FFEM.

Objectifs de développement durable

Les Objectifs de développement durable

En 2015, tous les pays du monde se sont accordés sur 17 Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) pour mettre fin à la pauvreté, lutter contre les inégalités et les injustices, faire face au changement climatique et construire un monde en commun d’ici à 2030.

Notre action s'inscrit pleinement dans le cadre de ces objectifs.

10,4
milliards d'euros engagés en 2017 sur plus de 700 projets
Rémy Rioux, Directeur général de l'AFD

Rémy Rioux, Directeur général de l'AFD

Publié le 19 Apr 2019