• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Port, Algeria, Marine Protected Areas in the Mediterranean
The marine and coastal ecosystems of the Mediterranean are under considerable anthropic pressure. AFD is participating in the effort to remedy this situation with a €4 million grant to a trust fund dedicated to strengthening protected marine areas.

A funding agreement was signed on 25 July at the Oceanographic Museum of Monaco. Agence Française de Développement (AFD) will be contributing €4 million to the fund's capital.  

Created at the initiative of Tunisia, Monaco and France, The MedFund is an environmental trust fund: the capital is invested on the financial markets in line with a responsible investment strategy and the interest generated is used to fund activities in the Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) of the Mediterranean. 

AFD thus joins a number of other major donors: the Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco, the French Facility for Global Environment (FFEM), the Global Environment Facility (GEF) and the Government of Monaco.


A sea under threat

The Mediterranean Sea is one of thirty-five "hot spots" identified by the NGO Conservation International, one where almost 10% of the world's marine biodiversity is concentrated in less than 1% of the ocean surface, with a high rate of endemism. 

Not only is the Mediterranean the world's leading tourist destination with 30% of international tourism, the maritime façade of the countries bordering the Mediterranean is also subject to high levels of demographic concentration and economic development that are causing pollution and placing extreme pressure on maritime and coastal ecosystems.

In addition, climate change could lead to substantial disruption to the sea and coastline with major impacts on ecosystems and the related human activities.
 

Marine protected areas, an essential tool

Marine protected areas help to oversee human activities and define rules for usages such as limits on fishing catches and visitor numbers.

They are a useful and effective tool for protecting marine ecosystems, providing benefits in terms of protection of biodiversity, sustainable management of natural resources and environmental services.
 
There are currently 1,200 MPAs and Other Effective area-based Conservation Measures (OECMs) in the Mediterranean, covering approximately 180,000 km², or 7.14% of its surface.
 

Towards more sustainable management

Nevertheless, the effectiveness of Mediterranean MPAs is generally poor due to a lack of sustainable resources to fund recurrent management costs (costs of staffing, equipment, maintenance) and the costs of scientific monitoring, surveillance, awareness raising and good governance. 

The main objective of AFD's contribution to the capital of The MedFund is therefore to contribute to the sustainability and effectiveness of the MPAs of the Mediterranean countries eligible for official development assistance (ODA) by providing permanent funding, mainly for activities that currently receive little or no funding and which are line with the implementation of their management plan.

Accordingly, some twenty marine protected areas in Tunisia, Morocco, Albania, Algeria, Montenegro, Lebanon and Turkey will receive support over the coming years with their efforts to preserve marine ecosystems. 
 

Biodiversity & climate

In line with its commitment in favor of the climate, AFD's contribution means that that the actions taken will facilitate the adaptation of ecosystems and communities to the effects of climate change and, in some cases, increase carbon sequestration (by protecting Posidonia meadows, for example). 

The AFD group is increasing its activities in favor of the preservation of biodiversity. Over the period 2013-2017, the average amount of its funding commitments in this area amounted to €252 million a year. In 2018, it reached €446 million.
 

Further reading

• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
port, Algérie, Méditerranée
Les écosystèmes marins et côtiers de Méditerranée connaissent une pression anthropique considérable. Pour y remédier, l’AFD participe via une subvention de 4 millions d’euros à un fonds fiduciaire dédié au renforcement des aires marines protégées.

Une convention de financement a été signée ce 25 juillet au musée océanographique de Monaco. L’Agence française de développement (AFD) va contribuer au capital du fonds à hauteur de 4 millions d’euros.  

Créé à l’initiative de la Tunisie, de Monaco et de la France, The MedFund est un fonds fiduciaire environnemental : l’argent du capital est placé sur les marchés financiers suivant une stratégie d’investissement responsable et les intérêts générés sont consacrés au financement des activités des aires marines protégées (AMP) de Méditerranée. 

L’AFD rejoint ainsi d’autres donateurs : la Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco, le Fonds français pour l'environnement mondial (FFEM), le Fonds pour l’environnement mondial (GEF) et le gouvernement de Monaco

Une mer menacée

La mer Méditerranée est l’un des 35 hotspots recensés par l’ONG Conservation International et rassemble, sur moins de 1 % de la surface des océans, près de 10 % de la biodiversité marine mondiale, avec un fort niveau d’endémisme.

Première destination touristique mondiale avec 30 % du tourisme international, la façade maritime des pays riverains de la Méditerranée connaît une forte concentration démographique et un développement économique qui engendrent des pollutions et une importante pression sur les écosystèmes marins et côtiers.

Les évolutions climatiques pourraient de plus entraîner de très fortes perturbations au niveau des mers et du littoral avec des impacts majeurs sur les écosystèmes et les activités humaines associées.

Les aires marines protégées, un outil essentiel

Les aires marines protégées permettent d’encadrer les activités humaines et de définir des règles d'usages en matière de prélèvements et de fréquentation.

Elles représentent un outil pertinent et efficace pour protéger les écosystèmes marins. De plus, des bénéfices en matière de protection de la biodiversité, de gestion durable des ressources naturelles et de fourniture de services environnementaux en découlent.

La Méditerranée compte à ce jour plus de 1 200 AMP et AMSC (autres mesures spatiales de conservation), qui couvrent environ 180 000 km², soit 7,14 % de sa surface.

Vers une gestion plus pérenne

L’efficacité des AMP méditerranéennes est néanmoins globalement défaillante faute de ressources durables pour financer leurs coûts récurrents de gestion (frais de personnel, d’équipement, de maintenance), de suivi scientifique, de surveillance, de sensibilisation et de bonne gouvernance. 

La capitalisation par l’AFD de The MedFund se fixe donc comme objectif premier de contribuer à la durabilité et à l’efficacité des AMP des pays méditerranéens éligibles à l’aide publique au développement (APD) en pérennisant leur financement, principalement pour les activités qui sont peu ou pas financées à l’heure actuelle et qui correspondent à la mise en œuvre de leur plan de gestion.

Ainsi, une vingtaine d’aires marines protégées en Tunisie, au Maroc, en Albanie, en Algérie, au Monténégro, au Liban et en Turquie seront soutenues dans les prochaines années dans leurs missions de préservation des écosystèmes marins. 

Biodiversité & climat

En lien avec son engagement en faveur du climat, la contribution de l’AFD implique que les actions mises en œuvre favorisent l’adaptation des écosystèmes et des communautés aux effets du changement climatique et permettent, dans certains cas, d’augmenter la séquestration de carbone (en protégeant les herbiers de posidonie par exemple). 

Le groupe AFD accroît par ailleurs son activité en faveur de la préservation de la biodiversité. Sur la période 2013-2017, le volume moyen d’engagements financiers en la matière s’est élevé à 252 millions d’euros par an. En 2018, cette activité a atteint 446 millions d'euros.