• logo linkedin
  • logo email

With over 100 million inhabitants and high growth levels since 2004, Ethiopia has benefited from remarkable progress in terms of development, but which has not, for the time being, led to major structural changes in the economy.

To maintain strong dynamics and achieve the status of Middle-Income Country (MIC) by 2025, Ethiopia needs to find alternatives to public funding and get out of a situation where there is a chronic lack of foreign exchange, as stressed by phase II of the Ethiopian Government’s Growth and Transformation Plan (GTP II).

The signing on 6 June 2019 in Addis Ababa of a € 85m public policy loan agreement and a € 15m grant agreement between AFD and the Ethiopian State, as well as a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Expertise France for the implementation of part of a technical assistance program concerning the development of public-private partnerships (PPPs), supports the dynamics of these reforms and comes in addition to initial financing from the World Bank.

The planned reforms will include increasing private investment, phasing in the liberalization of the energy, logistics and telecommunications sectors, and a better governance of public enterprises, thereby reducing the financial risks borne by the State.

This operation will also support the new Ethiopian Public Enterprises Assets and Administration Agency, in line with the recommendations of the framework paper on the governance of public enterprises.

Further reading

• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email

Avec plus de 100 millions d’habitants et des niveaux de croissance élevés depuis 2004, l’Éthiopie a pu bénéficier de progrès notables en matière de développement, mais qui ne se sont, pour l’instant, pas traduits par des changements structurels majeurs de l’économie.

Pour maintenir une dynamique forte et atteindre le statut de Pays à revenu intermédiaire (PRI) d’ici 2025, l’Éthiopie doit trouver des alternatives au financement public et sortir d’une situation d’insuffisance chronique de devises, comme le souligne la phase II du plan de croissance et de développement du gouvernement éthiopien (Growth and Transformation Plan II, GTP II).

La signature le 6 juin 2019 à Addis-Abeba d’une convention de prêt de politique publique de 85 millions d’euros, d’une convention de subvention de 15 millions d’euros entre l’AFD et l’État éthiopien, ainsi que d’un protocole (MoU) avec Expertise France pour la mise en œuvre d’une partie du programme d’assistance technique portant sur le développement des partenariats publics privés (PPP) vient conforter la dynamique de ces réformes et s’ajoute à un premier financement de la Banque mondiale.

Les réformes envisagées vont passer notamment par l’augmentation de l’investissement privé, la libéralisation progressive des secteurs de l’énergie, de la logistique et des télécommunications, et par une meilleure gouvernance des entreprises publiques, réduisant ainsi les risques financiers portés par l’État.

Cette opération permettra également d’appuyer la nouvelle Agence de détention et d’administration des entreprises publiques éthiopiennes, conformément aux préconisations de la note de cadrage sur la gouvernance des entreprises publiques.