Hélène Ehrhart, AFD

Hélène EHRHART

Economist
Expertise
Development economics, public finance, country risk analysis

Overview

As a development Economist, Hélène Ehrhart contributes to the macro-economic analysis of countries where AFD operates and conducts research into public finance.

Her research focuses on the quality of public expenditure, links between taxation and inequality, and the redistributive impacts of budgetary policies in Kenya and Morocco, in the framework of AFD-European Union research

Hélène Ehrhart earned a PhD in Economic Science from the University of Auvergne (CERDI), where she developed an interest in public finance issues. For her thesis, she studied the mobilization of tax revenues in developing countries. Her research focused on the impact of political economy factors in tax mobilization and on the macroeconomic consequences of different tax structures.

Before joining AFD in 2014, Hélène worked for three years as an economist for the Franc Zone and Development Finance Department at the Banque de France. She participates in the macroeconomic monitoring of Franc Zone countries and leads research on development finance.

AFD publications

Other publications

Hélène Ehrhart, AFD

Hélène EHRHART

Économiste
Expertise(s)
Économie du développement, finances publiques, analyse du risque pays

Carrière

Économiste du développement, Hélène Ehrhart contribue à l’analyse macro-économique des pays d’intervention de l’AFD et mène des travaux de recherche sur la thématique des finances publiques.

Ses travaux de recherche portent notamment sur la question de la qualité de la dépense publique, sur les liens entre fiscalité et inégalités et sur l’analyse des impacts redistributifs des politiques budgétaires au Kenya et au Maroc, dans le cadre de la facilité de recherche AFD-Union européenne sur les inégalités..

Titulaire d’un doctorat en sciences économiques de l’université d’Auvergne (CERDI), Hélène Ehrhart s’intéressait déjà aux questions de finances publiques. Pour sa thèse, elle a étudié les enjeux liés à la mobilisation des recettes fiscales dans les pays en développement. Ses travaux de recherche ont notamment porté sur l’effet des facteurs d’économie politique sur la mobilisation fiscale et sur les conséquences macroéconomiques de différentes structures fiscales.

Avant de rejoindre l’AFD, en 2014, Hélène a travaillé pendant trois ans comme économiste à la Banque de France, au sein du service de la zone franc et du financement du développement. Elle a participé au suivi macroéconomique des pays de la zone franc et conduit des recherches sur le thème du financement du développement. 

Autres travaux