Sri Lanka

A small island state in the middle of the Indian Ocean, Sri Lanka has found its way back to the growth path after 30 years of civil war. The country now has to meet the challenge of sustainable development while adapting to global warming. AFD is providing Sri Lanka its support on the road to a green and shared growth.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Port de Colombo, Sri Lanka
AFD AND SRI LANKA: ENCOURAGING GREEN GROWTH AND ADAPTING TO CLIMATE CHANGE
Port de Colombo, Sri Lanka

Bolstering urban development

Sri Lanka eau robinet garçon

Bolstering urban development

While the country is not yet overwhelmed by large-scale urbanisation, cities are growing fast and struggling to provide essential services to the population. And there is considerable pressure on the natural and cultural heritage, especially along the coast.

Aware of the need for better urban development planning so as to meet the needs of urban dwellers better, the government is developing a system of competitive and environmentally friendly secondary cities, among other things.

AFD supports these initiatives by financing:

  • A more sustainable and energy-efficient drinking water network in the capital city of Colombo, along with the Asian Development Bank
  • An investment programme for the city of Anuradhapura, the former capitalof Sri Lanka, to enhance its attractiveness

Encouraging sustainable development

Sri Lanka Raccordement électrique en milieu rural

Encouraging sustainable development

A biodiversity hotspot, Sri Lanka is endowed with extraordinary natural resources. Preserving this heritage is a key issue for the country. As a signatory to the Paris climate agreement, the government is committed to reducing greenhouse gas emissions by 7% by 2030.

Sri Lanka goes green

To meet the growing energy demand and diversify the Sri Lankan energy mix, AFD has entered into a partnership with the Ceylon Electricity Board (CEB). Our action is aimed at:

  • Promoting renewable energies
  • Improving the electricity distribution network's efficiency
  • Connecting small hydropower plants to the grid.

We are also working with EDF international, which is providing its expertise.

For the better management and development of water

To protect and develop the Sri Lankan economy's potential, including fisheries and coastal tourism, AFD supports public policies and infrastructure financing. Our goal: to develop water resources and promote a blue economy.

We are supporting better wastewater management in the cities of Galle, Kelaniya and Negombo on the southwest coast. This is a project that meets major health needs, while preserving tourism at the same time.

Supporting the population in the face of natural disasters

Sri Lanka Ville de Colombo

Supporting the population in the face of natural disasters

The country is subject to climatic variations that weaken the economic stability of some of its regions. The alternation of floods and droughts in the east and north of the country, coupled with the lack of planning in urban areas, makes people vulnerable, as recent episodes of drought and flooding have shown in 2016 and 2017. And the situation is further aggravated by global warming.

AFD supports the authorities in the definition and implementation of policies for risk prevention and adaptation to climate change. In Anuradhapura, a city that is particularly exposed to floods, we are  strengthening the rainwater network strengthening the rainwater network (building canals and side ditches) to reduce the risk.

359
Million Euros invested since 2005

A small island state in the Indian Ocean, to the south-east of India, Sri Lanka has an exceptional natural and cultural heritage. It has a population of nearly 21 million.

Torn apart by a nearly 30-year long civil war and the devastating tsunami of 2004, Sri Lanka has now returned to the growth path (4.4% in 2016). It has also dramatically reduced its people's poverty levels. Hence, the country has significantly improved access to health and education, placing it fourth among Asian countries in terms of human development.

However, challenges still remain: Sri Lanka faces rapid urbanisation, a poorly diversified economy, and persistent poverty in rural areas. Not to mention that with a coastline of over 1000 km, the country is particularly vulnerable to climate change. To meet these challenges, the Sri Lankan government has set itself four goals: create one million jobs, increase incomes, boost rural economies and promote a strong middle class.

Present in Sri Lanka since 2005 as part of a post-tsunami intervention, AFD is now promoting green growth while fostering social cohesion. Its interventions take place through loans to the State as well as European subsidies. It has also established a strong partnership with the Asian Development Bank.

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Funding type

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

Sri Lanka

Petit État insulaire en plein océan Indien, le Sri Lanka a retrouvé le chemin de la croissance après 30 ans de guerre civile. Le pays doit à présent relever le défi d’un développement durable tout en s’adaptant au réchauffement climatique. L’AFD l’accompagne sur le chemin d’une croissance verte et partagée.
Port de Colombo, Sri Lanka
L’AFD et le Sri Lanka : encourager la croissance verte et s’adapter au changement climatique
Port de Colombo, Sri Lanka

Accompagner l’urbanisation

Sri Lanka eau robinet garçon

Accompagner l’urbanisation

Si le pays n’est pas encore débordé par l’urbanisation à grande échelle, les villes sont quant à elle confrontées à une forte croissance et peinent à assurer les services essentiels aux populations. Et la pression exercée sur les patrimoines naturel et culturel est forte, surtout sur les côtes. 

Conscient de la nécessité de mieux planifier l’urbanisation pour mieux répondre aux besoins des citadins, le gouvernement développe, notamment, un système de villes secondaires compétitives et respectueuses de l’environnement.

L’AFD soutient ces initiatives en finançant :

  • un réseau d’eau potable plus durable et moins énergivore dans la capitale Colombo, au côté de la Banque asiatique de développement ;
  • le programme d’investissements de la ville d’Anuradhapura, l’ancienne capitale du Sri Lanka, afin de renforcer son attractivité. 
     

Encourager le développement durable

Sri Lanka Raccordement électrique en milieu rural

Encourager le développement durable

Hotspot de biodiversité, le Sri Lanka est doté de ressources naturelles exceptionnelles. Préserver ce patrimoine constitue un enjeu essentiel pour le pays. Signataire de l’accord de Paris sur le climat, le gouvernement s’est engagé à réduire les émissions de gaz à effets de serre de 7 % d’ici 2030.

Le Sri Lanka se met au vert

Pour satisfaire une demande en énergie qui ne cesse d’augmenter et diversifier le mix énergétique sri-lankais, l’AFD a noué un partenariat avec la compagnie d’électricité Ceylon Electricity Board (CEB). Notre action vise à : 

  • promouvoir les énergies renouvelables ;
  • améliorer l’efficacité du réseau de distribution d’électricité ;
  • raccorder les petites centrales hydroélectriques au réseau.

Nous travaillons également avec EDF international qui apporte son expertise.

Vers une meilleure gestion et valorisation de l’eau

Pour protéger et développer le potentiel de l’économie sri-lankaise, notamment la pêche et le tourisme côtier, l’AFD appuie les politiques publiques et le financement d’infrastructures. Notre objectif : valoriser les ressources en eau et promouvoir une économie bleue. 
Nous soutenons ainsi une meilleure gestion des eaux usées dans les villes de Galle, Kelaniya et Negombo, sur la côte sud-ouest. Un projet qui répond à un besoin sanitaire majeur mais permet aussi de préserver l’activité touristique.
 

Soutenir les populations face aux catastrophes naturelles

Sri Lanka Ville de Colombo

Soutenir les populations face aux catastrophes naturelles

Le pays est soumis à des variations climatiques qui fragilisent la stabilité économique de certaines régions. L’alternance d’inondations et de sécheresses dans l’est et le nord du pays, accompagnée d’une absence de planification dans les zones urbaines, rend les populations vulnérables, comme l’ont montré les récents épisodes de sécheresses et d’inondations de 2016 et 2017. Une situation accentuée par le réchauffement climatique.

L’AFD accompagne les autorités dans la définition et la mise en œuvre de politiques de prévention des risques et d’adaptation au changement climatique. À Anuradhapura, ville particulièrement exposée aux inondations, nous renforçons ainsi le réseau pluvial (construction de canaux et fossés latéraux) pour diminuer le risque. 
 

359
millions d’euros engagés depuis 2005
3
millions de personnes ont accès à l’eau potable grâce aux projets financés par l'AFD

Petit État insulaire de l’océan Indien, au sud-est de l’Inde, le Sri Lanka est doté d’un patrimoine naturel et culturel exceptionnel. Sa population s’élève à près de 21 millions d’habitants.

Meurtri par une guerre civile de près de 30 ans et le tsunami dévastateur de 2004, le Sri Lanka a désormais retrouvé le chemin de la croissance (4,4 % en 2016). Il a aussi fait reculer considérablement la pauvreté de sa population. Le pays a ainsi amélioré l’accès à la santé et à l’éducation de manière significative, se plaçant au 4e rang des pays asiatiques en termes de développement humain.

Mais les défis restent présents : le Sri Lanka doit faire face à une urbanisation rapide, une économie peu diversifiée et une pauvreté qui persiste en milieu rural. Sans oublier qu’avec plus de 1000 km de côtes, le pays est particulièrement vulnérable au changement climatique. Pour relever ces défis, le gouvernement sri-lankais s’est fixé 4 objectifs : créer un million d’emplois, augmenter les revenus, dynamiser les économies rurales et faire émerger une classe moyenne forte.

Présente depuis 2005 dans le cadre d’une intervention post-tsunami, l’AFD promeut aujourd’hui une croissance verte tout en favorisant la cohésion sociale. Elle intervient grâce à des prêts à l’État ainsi que des subventions européennes. Elle a également noué un solide partenariat avec la Banque asiatique de développement.
 

Carte interactive
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

  • Climat
  • Eau et assainissement
  • Infrastructures
  • Villes durables

Type de financement

  • Prêt non concessionnel souverain

Antennes

Display local antennas

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir la carte de tous les projets

Téléchargement

Publication institutionnelle

L'AFD et le Sri Lanka

Nos activités au Sri Lanka
Document de recherche

Le modèle de croissance sri lankais : avancées et vulnérabilités

Malgré une histoire récente marquée par près de trente années de conflit, le Sri Lanka fait figure de réussite en matière de développement, ...
Jan 2017
Publication institutionnelle

Plaquette l'AFD et le Sri Lanka

Au cours des dernières années, deux événements majeurs ont marqué le pays : le tsunami dévastateur de 2004 et la fin du conflit entre Tigres tamouls et gouvernement ...
Jun 2015
Publication institutionnelle

L'AFD et le Sri Lanka

Nos activités au Sri Lanka
Jun 2015