Togo

Togo is a small West African State which saw a return to growth in 2008, following a protracted political crisis. The country is now a booming regional port platform, but still has challenges to address. From basic infrastructure to education, and including support for the job-creating private sector, AFD is assisting it on the path to inclusive growth.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Village, Togo
AFD and Togo: consolidating growth and better sharing its benefits
Village, Togo

Developping basic services

Togo, waste processing

Developping basic services

Rapid urbanization exacerbates difficulties to access water and sanitation. Lomé, the capital, is hit by recurrent flooding. It suffers from a non-existent collective sanitation system and poor household waste management. The wet regions on the coastal strip, for their part, suffer from a poor upkeep and maintenance of lagoons. In the north of the country, which is drier, only 28% of the population has access to drinking water.

AFD supports projects for drinking water supply, stormwater drainage and solid waste management:

  • We are cofinancing, with the European Union, the construction of a landfill, and we are promoting the development of a 4th lake for stormwater drainage. It will protect 300,000 people from flooding and will provide them with healthier living conditions;
  • We are supporting two projects to improve the water supply in the city of Lomé with three objectives: improve the level of service of the water authority, rehabilitate damaged urban networks and increase the drinking water production capacity. The result: drinking water production has increased by some 30%. 
     

Strengthening the education system

training center, Togo

Strengthening the education system

AFD is a major and longstanding partner for education in Togo. Its successive projects promote school for all, especially for girls and in the rural areas of the country, as well as the decentralization of the decision-making centers of the education system. These efforts have borne fruit: the system benefits from better governance and the technical capacities of teachers have been strengthened. 

Today, we are continuing our support for Togo’s education system via three actions:

  • Working for quality basic education by supporting the high school reform and strengthening teacher training in teacher training institutes;
  • Developing vocational training in activities in industry through the creation and extension of a specialized training center, managed on the basis of a public-private partnership approach; 
  • Structuring and modernizing training in agricultural and rural activities by supporting all the training centers in the country. 
     

Developing the energy sector

High-voltage electric line in Ethiopia

Developing the energy sector

Togo has called on the international community for its energy development. AFD has made a long-term commitment in the energy sector.

It is now focusing its support on:

  • A project to extend the power grid in Lomé, cofinanced with the European Union and KfW
  • A project under study concerning the development of the hydropower potential of the Sarakawa site.

Taking action as close as possible to communities

 laboratoire de santé au Togo

Taking action as close as possible to communities

Supporting rural territories 

AFD fights to preserve our habitat and improves the network of roads to facilitate access to farms, means of production and opportunities. The objective: 

  • Support the development of cotton, coffee and cocoa production areas.
  • Support the dynamics for soil conservation and management for sustainable family farming.
Strengthening the healthcare system

To address the high rate of maternal and neonatal mortality in Togo, AFD is working to improve access to obstetric and neonatal care and its quality, as well as family planning, in the Maritime and Plateaux regions. AFD is assisting the Ministry of Health and Social Protection by working on the refurbishment of facilities and training for health workers. 

Supporting civil society

AFD finances the projects of French CSOs in Togo whose projects aim to build the capacities of local civil society actors and assist vulnerable populations. The 25 ongoing projects financed mainly concern food security, health and the fight against AIDS, education and vocational training and microfinance. Some also concern human rights, the environment, governance, as well as water and sanitation.

161
million euros committed between 2008 and 2016
18
18 ongoing projects

Togo is one of the smallest countries in West Africa and has 7.5 million inhabitants. While the coastal region and central highlands are densely populated and suffer from recurrent flooding, the North remains apart, is dry, underserved and underdeveloped.

Following a protracted political crisis, which lasted 15 years (1990-2005), the country saw a return to growth back in 2008, in particular thanks to help from donors.

Togo is a mainly rural country, with 65% of the working population employed in agriculture. It also relies heavily on its phosphate mines. The creation of a free zone at the Port of Lomé has turned this small State into a bustling port platform, which is very important for regional operators.

Togo now needs to face several challenges: while education has made significant strides, the population, which is very young, suffers from underemployment and unemployment. In addition, while poverty has declined, it still affects over 50% of Togo’s population.

AFD has been operating in Lomé since 1957. It initially focused its activity on the basic needs of populations: access to water and school. Togo is one of the priority poor countries for French aid and AFD is one of the only donors to have remained in the country during the crisis. Since 2010, AFD has extended its scope of action and has implemented activities in the private sector, with the aim of boosting growth and employment, and in energy. It operates via grants, guarantees to facilitate access to financing (ARIZ), loans to banks and companies and, since 2017, via loans to the Togolese State.

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Climate
  • Employment and Shared Prosperity
  • Hunger and Food
  • Infrastructure
  • Poverty
  • Sustainable Cities
  • Sustainable Consumption and Production

Funding type

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Grant
  • Sovereign Concessional Loan

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

Download

Research document

Waste, how much does it cost?

The French Development Agency (AFD), along with Le Mans University, the Gevalor Association, Urbananalyse, and ALBWaste, conducted the ORVA2D (Organisation for Waste Recycling in Developing Cities) research program, aimed ...
Aug 2018
Research document

Export diversification in the franc zone: its extent, sophistication and dynamics

It is now a widely recognised fact in the economic literature that the level of per capita income and the degree of sectoral concentration of economic activity evolve together over ...
Dec 2012
Research document

How Can We Capitalize on the Demographic Dividend? Demographics at the Heart of Development Pathways

In the coming decades, West African countries could benefit from a “demographic window of opportunity” in order to reduce their poverty. The entry of 160 million young people into the labor ...
Mar 2012
Research document

Developing Lower Secondary Education: a Rural Issue and Challenge for Sub-Saharan Africa

The current development of African education systems focuses on the perspective of universal completion of six years of schooling. This perspective, targeted by the international community for the year 2015 (Dakar ...
Oct 2010

Togo

Petit État d’Afrique de l’Ouest, le Togo a renoué avec la croissance en 2008 après une longue crise politique. Désormais plateforme portuaire régionale en pleine effervescence, le pays a encore des défis à relever. Des infrastructures de base à l’éducation, en passant par l’appui à un secteur privé pourvoyeur d’emplois, l’AFD l’accompagne sur la voie d’une croissance inclusive.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Village, Togo
L’AFD et le Togo : consolider la croissance et mieux en partager les fruits
Village, Togo

Développer les services de base

Togo Centre de pré-collecte des déchets

Développer les services de base

L’urbanisation rapide aggrave les difficultés d’accès à l’eau et à l’assainissement. Lomé, la capitale, est victime d’inondations récurrentes. Elle pâtit d’un système d’assainissement collectif inexistant ainsi que d’une mauvaise gestion des ordures ménagères. Les régions humides de la bande côtière souffrent quant à elles d’un mauvais entretien et de maintenance des lagunes. Au nord du pays, plus sec, seul 28 % de la population a accès à l’eau potable.

L’AFD soutient des projets d’adduction d’eau potable, de drainage des eaux pluviales et de gestion des déchets solides :

  • nous cofinançons, avec l’Union européenne, la construction d’un centre d’enfouissement des déchets, et nous encourageons l’aménagement d’un 4ème lac destiné à assurer le drainage des eaux pluviales. Il protégera 300 000 personnes des inondations et leur offrira un cadre de vie assaini ;
  • nous soutenons deux projets d’amélioration de l’alimentation en eau de la ville de Lomé avec trois objectifs : améliorer le niveau de service de la régie des eaux, réhabiliter les réseaux urbains endommagés et augmenter la capacité de production d’eau potable. Résultat : la production en eau potable a augmenté d'environ 30 %. 

Renforcer le système éducatif

Atelier de froid industriel au Centre de Formation aux Métiers de l'Industrie au Togo

Renforcer le système éducatif

L’AFD est un partenaire important et de longue date pour l’éducation au Togo. Ses projets successifs promeuvent l’école pour tous, notamment pour les filles et dans les zones rurales du pays, ainsi que la déconcentration des centres de décision du système éducatif. Des efforts qui portent leurs fruits : le système bénéficie d’une meilleure gouvernance et les capacités techniques des enseignants sont renforcées.  

Aujourd’hui, nous poursuivons notre soutien au système scolaire togolais à travers trois actions :

Développer le secteur énergétique

Ligne électrique haute tension en Ethiopie

Développer le secteur énergétique

Le Togo a fait appel à la communauté internationale pour assurer son développement énergétique. L’AFD s’est engagée durablement dans le secteur de l’Énergie.

Elle concentre désormais son appui via :

  • un projet relatif à l’extension du réseau électrique de Lomé, en cofinancement avec l’Union européenne et la KfW
  • un projet à l’étude concernant la valorisation du potentiel hydroélectrique du site de Sarakawa.

Agir au plus près des populations

 laboratoire de santé au Togo

Agir au plus près des populations

Soutenir les territoires ruraux

L’AFD lutte pour la préservation de notre habitat et améliore le réseau des pistes pour faciliter l’accès aux exploitations agricoles, aux moyens de production et aux débouchés. L’objectif : 

 Renforcer le système de soins

Face à un important taux de mortalité maternelle et néo-natale au Togo, l’AFD s’engage en faveur de l’accessibilité et de la qualité des soins obstétriques et néonataux ainsi que de la planification familiale dans les régions Maritime et des Plateaux. En appui au ministère de la Santé et de la Protection sociale, l’AFD œuvre à la réhabilitation des structures et à la formation du personnel de santé

Soutenir la société civile

L’AFD finance des projets d’OSC françaises au Togo dont les projets visent à renforcer les capacités des acteurs de la société civile locale et à venir en aide aux populations vulnérables. Les 25 projets financés en cours concernent principalement la sécurité alimentaire, la santé et la lutte contre le SIDA, l’éducation et la formation professionnelle ou la microfinance. Certains portent également sur les droits de l’Homme, l’environnement, la gouvernance ou encore l’eau et l’assainissement.

161
millions d’euros engagés entre 2008 et 2016
18
projets en cours

Le Togo est l’un des plus petits pays d’Afrique de l’Ouest et compte 7,5 millions d’habitants. Si la région côtière et les plateaux du centre sont densément peuplés et victimes d’inondations récurrentes, le Nord demeure à part, sec, mal desservi et peu développé.

Après une longue crise politique qui aura duré 15 ans (1990-2005), le pays renoue avec la croissance dès 2008, notamment grâce à l’aide des bailleurs de fonds.

Majoritairement rural avec 65 % de la population active travaillant dans l’agriculture, le Togo compte aussi beaucoup sur ses mines de phosphate. La création d’une zone franche au port de Lomé a fait de ce petit État une plateforme portuaire bouillonnante et très importante pour les opérateurs régionaux.

Le Togo doit maintenant faire face à plusieurs défis : si l’éducation a connu de grands progrès, la population, très jeune, est en proie au sous-emploi et au chômage. Et si la pauvreté a reculé, elle touche encore plus de 50 % des Togolais.

Présente à Lomé depuis 1957, l’AFD a d’abord concentré son activité sur les besoins élémentaires des populations : l’accès à l’eau et à l’école. Le Togo figure parmi les pays pauvres prioritaires de l’aide française et l’AFD est l’un des rares bailleurs à être resté dans le pays durant la crise. Depuis 2010, l’AFD a élargi son champ d’action et a déployé des activités dans le secteur privé, afin de dynamiser la croissance et l’emploi, et dans l’énergie. Elle intervient grâce à des subventions, des garanties destinées à faciliter l’accès aux financements (ARIZ), des prêts à des banques et des entreprises et, depuis 2017, via des prêts à l’État togolais.

Carte des projets
Cette carte est utilisée à titre d’illustration, elle ne reflète pas toujours la position officielle de la France et n’engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD.
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Climat
  • Eau et assainissement
  • Emploi et prospérité partagée
  • Faim et alimentation
  • Infrastructures
  • Inégalités
  • Partenariats mondiaux
  • Santé
  • Villes durables
  • Éducation

Type de financement

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Prêt concessionnel non souverain
  • Subvention

Antennes

Afficher les agences locales

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Téléchargement

Document d'évaluation

Analyse croisée de vingt-huit évaluations décentralisées sur le thème transversal du renforcement des capacités

L’AFD s‘est engagée, depuis 2007, dans un processus de réflexion sur le renforcement des capacités et ambitionne de se doter d‘une stratégie opérationnelle ...
Mar 2011
Document d'évaluation

Microfinance dans les Etats fragiles - Quelques enseignements de l'expérience de l'AFD

L’Agence Française de Développement a souhaité étudier la question de l’intervention en microfinance dans les États fragiles, à partir d‘une revue du portefeuille de projets qu’...
Feb 2010
Document de recherche

L’utilisation des nouvelles technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) dans le domaine de la santé maternelle et infantile en Afrique subsaharienne

Dans le domaine de l’amélioration de la santé materno-infantile et l’appui aux politiques de population, l’AFD a souhaité faire le point sur les opportunités offertes ...
Jul 2013
Document de recherche

La diversification des exportations en zone franc

Nombre d‘études sur la diversification des exportations sujet sont essentiellement consacrées aux pays industrialisés ou émergents, un fait regrettable compte tenu de la vulnérabilité à laquelle les ...
Apr 2012
Document de recherche

L’économie informelle dans les pays en développement

Le secteur informel est largement méconnu par les chercheurs et négligé - voire perçu négativement - par les politiques publiques. Les travaux présentés ici ...
Dec 2012
Publication institutionnelle

Profil Genre : Afrique

Les « Profils Genre Pays » ont pour objectif d’appuyer les équipes (siège et agences) à développer un dialogue et faciliter la mise en réseau avec nos partenaires dans ...
Dec 2016