Social and Inclusive Business

Social & Inclusive Business brings together economic stakeholders, including not-for-profit organizations and businesses, that put social and/or environmental development front and centre of what they do. It is an approach championed by AFD Group. We support all those operating within the ecosystem at the different phases of their development, from getting ideas off the ground to scaling up and strengthening the institutional framework.
Our initiatives target not only not-for-profit organizations, SMEs and big businesses, but also technical-support organizations, funding bodies and political decision-makers.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Social & Inclusive Business
Tackling Inequality Through Entrepreneurship
Social & Inclusive Business

Social and inclusive projects

Social & Inclusive Business

Social and inclusive projects

Social & Inclusive Business is driven by private- and public-sector stakeholders whose raison d’être is to make a positive social and environmental impact, from start-ups to local businesses, multinationals and not-for-profit organizations. They do this by coming up with innovative models and developing internal structures that are in line with their objectives.

To help grow the sector, AFD Group takes measures that strengthen the entire ecosystem, involving stakeholders such as businesses, support organizations, funding bodies, advocacy groups, governments and political decision-makers. Our initiatives target:

  • Social businesses that have a clear social and/or environmental purpose and sustainable business model, whose internal structure reflects their objectives (e.g. their governance, use of profits and HR policies). 
  • Inclusive businesses that incorporate the most disadvantaged groups–those at the “bottom of the pyramid”–into their value chain, whether as customers, distributors or suppliers.

We are therefore helping to bring about development that adds greater social, economic and environmental value, one that tackles inequality through entrepreneurship.
 

Championing initiatives that support the very poorest

Social & Inclusive Business

Championing initiatives that support the very poorest

From education to the health-care, food, energy and water sectors, promoting the inclusion of the most disadvantaged groups offers major economic prospects for those seeking customers or business opportunities. It is also a way of establishing a fairer, more inclusive economy.

AFD Group supports Social & Inclusive Business projects that make it easier for such groups to access basic goods and services. For example, we are helping to reduce infant malnutrition in Madagascar by supporting the Nutri’zaza initiative and improving access to clean drinking water through our work with operators such as the Phnom Penh Water Supply Authority (PPWSA) in Cambodia.

We also support those working in microfinance who are helping disadvantaged groups achieve greater financial independence. For example, AFD Group’s private-sector financing arm Proparco has invested in the Tunisian microfinance organization Enda Tamweel.
 

Improving access to employment for the most vulnerable

employment, Turkey

Improving access to employment for the most vulnerable

As part of its Social & Inclusive Business strategy, AFD group is promoting integration through economic activity. How? By facilitating the recruitment of persons remote from the labor market and providing them with the necessary conditions for a lasting improvement in their professional and personal situation.  

The primary components for qualifying an integration project through economic activity project are:

  • targeting persons remote from the labor market according to the local context (Bottom of the Pyramid, migrants, people with disabilities, single mothers, etc.)
  • integrating the latter, temporarily or long-term, in an economic activity coupled with an offer for training and/or apprenticeship and with working conditions adapted to their situation.

In Vietnam and Burma for example, AFD supported la Boulangerie française. Under the auspices of the Institute for Economic Cooperation and Development (IECD), this project enables young people to receive training while also working in manufacturing to learn different aspects of the bakery profession. They can then obtain a formal job and a decent wage. 
 

Getting social & inclusive business projects off the ground

Social & Inclusive Business

Getting social & inclusive business projects off the ground

We help young economic stakeholders (including start-ups, VSEs, SMEs, incubators and funding bodies) get off the ground, primarily by backing support and funding organizations. 
We do this in a number of ways:

  • Investments via funds. For example, in 2015, the Investment and Support Fund for Businesses in Africa or FISEA, which is advised by Proparco, invested in the Novastar East Africa fund, which supports entrepreneurs in East Africa who are developing basic services for the very poorest in the education, health-care, food and water sectors.
  • Grants. Each year, AFD Group puts out a “call for initiatives” with the aim of identifying and supporting social and inclusive start-ups in a range of countries and helping to fast-track their entrepreneurial work. The first project to win AFIDBA (AFD for Inclusive & Digital Business in Africa) funding kicked off in 2019.
  • Our Social and Inclusive Business Camp (SIBC), a networking programme for entrepreneurs that places particular emphasis on promoting gender equality.

Helping social & inclusive business stakeholders to grow

Social & Inclusive Business

Helping social & inclusive business stakeholders to grow

AFD Group supports inclusive businesses, mature businesses with the potential to be more inclusive and funding organizations with the aim of guiding them towards a more inclusive approach and helping them to grow.

AFD and its subsidiary Proparco, which focuses on private-sector financing, make full use of all the financial tools at their disposal:

  • loans, 
  • guarantees, 
  • investments,
  • technical support.

Strengthening the institutional framework

Social & Inclusive Business, Institutional frame

Strengthening the institutional framework

A suitable institutional framework is key to ensuring that Social & Inclusive Business initiatives can be developed sustainably. AFD Group promotes the implementation of a framework that fosters Social & Inclusive Business (e.g. legal and tax frameworks, the adoption of common definitions or the establishment of labels), primarily by helping to structure advocacy channels in the countries in which it operates.

Our initiatives are targeted at public-sector stakeholders, such as legislators, political decision-makers and advocacy groups, who benefit from AFD loans.
 

€1 billion
allocated by AFD Group by 2023

Whether they come from the private or public sectors, or from civil society organizations, economic stakeholders play a vital role in helping bring about sustainable social, economic and environmental development.
 
At a time when we are seeing the rise of a new generation of entrepreneurs devoted to ensuring their businesses make a positive social impact, AFD Group is stepping up its support of Social & Inclusive Business in developing countries.

Between now and 2023, AFD Group will be allocating €1 billion to support more than 500 businesses and impact the lives of over 50 million people.

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Geography
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Geography

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Funding type

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

Social and Inclusive Business

Le Social & Inclusive Business regroupe les acteurs économiques (associations, entreprises, etc.) qui font du développement social et/ou environnemental une priorité. Le groupe AFD promeut cette approche. Nous accompagnons l’ensemble de l’écosystème aux différents stades de développement, de l’émergence à la croissance en passant par le renforcement du cadre institutionnel.
Nos actions ciblent autant les associations, les petites et grandes entreprises que les structures d’accompagnement technique, les financeurs et les décideurs politiques.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Social & Inclusive Business
Allier dynamique entrepreneuriale et lutte contre les inégalités
Social & Inclusive Business

Des projets sociaux et inclusifs

Social & Inclusive Business

Des projets sociaux et inclusifs

Start-up, entreprises locales ou multinationales, associations… Le Social & Inclusive Business est porté par des acteurs privés et publics dont la raison d’être est la recherche d’impacts sociaux et environnementaux positifs. Pour cela, ils imaginent des modèles innovants et développent une organisation interne cohérente avec leur mission sociale.

Pour favoriser le développement du secteur, le groupe AFD accompagne le renforcement de l’ensemble de l’écosystème (entreprises, structures d’appui, financeurs, acteurs du plaidoyer, gouvernements, décideurs politiques…). Notre action cible :

  • le social business (ou entrepreneuriat social) aux activités à finalité sociale et/ou environnementale claire, dont le modèle économique vise la pérennité et dont l’organisation interne reflète la mission sociale (type de gouvernance, utilisation des profits, politiques RH, etc.). 
  • l’inclusive business (ou entrepreneuriat inclusif), qui intègre les populations les plus défavorisées dites bottom of the pyramid (base de la pyramide) dans sa chaîne de valeur comme clients, distributeurs ou fournisseurs.

Nous contribuons ainsi à un développement plus social, économique et écologique, alliant dynamique entrepreneuriale et lutte contre les inégalités.

Appuyer des actions au bénéfice des plus démunis

Social & Inclusive Business

Appuyer des actions au bénéfice des plus démunis

Dans les secteurs de l’éducation, de la santé, de l’alimentation, de l’énergie ou de l’eau, l’inclusion des populations les plus dévaforisées constitue une opportunité économique incontournable pour des acteurs à la recherche de clients ou de débouchés. Elle représente également la possibilité de faire émerger une économie plus équitable, partagée et solidaire.

Le groupe AFD soutient des projets de Social & Inclusive Business qui facilitent l’accès de ces populations aux biens et services essentiels. Par exemple, en accompagnant le développement de l’initiative Nutri’zaza à Madagascar, nous contribuons à la réduction de la malnutrition infantile dans la Grande Île. Pour améliorer l'accès à l'eau potable, nous travaillons avec des opérateurs tels que la régie des eaux de Phnom Penh (PPWSA) au Cambodge.

Nous accompagnons également des acteurs de la microfinance qui participent à l’autonomisation financière des populations démunies : PROPARCO, filiale secteur privé du groupe AFD, a ainsi pris une participation dans l'institution de microfinance Enda Tamweel en Tunisie (voir sur le site de PROPARCO).

Faire émerger le Social & Inclusive Business

Social & Inclusive Business

Faire émerger le Social & Inclusive Business

Nous encourageons l’émergence de jeunes acteurs économiques (start-up, TPE, PME, incubateurs, financeurs), en soutenant notamment les structures d’accompagnement et de financement. 

Cet objectif se traduit par :

  • des prises de participation via des fonds. FISEA, le Fonds d’investissement et de soutien aux entreprises en Afrique conseillé par PROPARCO (voir sur le site de PROPARCO), a ainsi investi en 2015 dans le fonds Novastar East Africa qui accompagne les entrepreneurs d’Afrique de l’Est développant des services de base à destination des plus démunis dans les secteurs de l’éducation, de la santé, de l’alimentation et de l’eau.
  • la mobilisation de subventions. Le groupe AFD lance chaque année un appel à initiatives afin d’identifier et d’accompagner des start-up sociales et inclusives dans plusieurs pays, pour accélérer rapidement leur activité entrepreneuriale. Le premier projet sélectionné, AFIDBA - AFD for Inclusive and Digital Business in Africa, a ainsi démarré en 2019.
  • un programme de mise en réseau destiné aux entrepreneurs : le Social and Inclusive Business Camp (SIBC). Cette initiative met l'accent sur une approche pro-genre.

Accompagner la croissance des acteurs du secteur

Social & Inclusive Business

Accompagner la croissance des acteurs du secteur

Pour les guider vers une approche plus inclusive et accompagner leur croissance, le groupe AFD appuie des entreprises inclusives ou à potentiel inclusif déjà matures, ainsi que des institutions financières.
 
L’AFD et PROPARCO, sa filiale dédiée au secteur privé, mobilisent toute leur gamme d’outils financiers :

  • prêts, 
  • garanties
  • investissements,
  • assistance technique.

Renforcer le cadre institutionnel

Social & Inclusive Business, cadre institutionnel

Renforcer le cadre institutionnel

Pour assurer un développement durable des initiatives de Social & Inclusive Business, un cadre institutionnel adapté est indispensable. Le groupe AFD promeut la mise en place d’un cadre favorable (cadre juridique et fiscal, adoption d’une définition commune, création d’un label, etc.) en appuyant notamment la structuration des actions de plaidoyer dans les pays d’intervention.

Notre action cible les acteurs publics (législateurs, décideurs politiques, acteurs du plaidoyer) que nous appuyons grâce à des prêts.

1
milliard d’euros mobilisés d'ici 2023 par le groupe AFD

Qu’ils soient issus du secteur privé, du secteur public ou de la société civile, les acteurs économiques jouent un rôle essentiel dans la construction d’un développement durable en termes sociaux, économiques et environnementaux. 

À l’heure où une nouvelle génération d’entrepreneurs voit le jour, attachés à l’impact social de leur entreprise, le groupe AFD renforce son soutien au Social & Inclusive Business (entrepreneuriat social et inclusif) dans les pays en développement.

D’ici 2023, le groupe AFD mobilisera 1 milliard d’euros pour accompagner plus de 500 entreprises et toucher plus de 50 millions de personnes.

Carte des projets
Cette carte est utilisée à titre d’illustration, elle ne reflète pas toujours la position officielle de la France et n’engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD.
Géographie
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Géographie

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Type de financement

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennes

Afficher les agences locales

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets