Pakistan

Pakistan, the sixth most populated country of the world, is facing pressure from its strong demographic growth. The country must not only satisfy the essential needs of its population, but also deal with an energy crisis that is threatening its development. Since 2006, AFD has been working with Pakistan to develop renewable energies and energy efficiency.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
lake, Pakistan, wilderness
AFD and Pakistan: promoting green and inclusive growth
lake, Pakistan, wilderness

Developing renewable energy

hydroelectricity, energy, water, Jaggran, Pakistan

Developing renewable energy

Pakistan’s energy sector is undergoing a major crisis: the country manages to meet only half of electricity demand. The frequent electricity outages handicap businesses and interrupt industrial production, contributing further to the degradation of the economic situation.

To deal with these shortages, AFD is becoming especially involved in the financing of energy effectiveness and is counting on Pakistan’s huge and still largely unexploited hydroelectric potential.

For example, we are financing the rehabilitation of the Warsak, Dargai and Chitral hydroelectric power stations and the construction of the Jaggran-II and Harpo hydroelectric power stations in order to guarantee access to reliable and environment-friendly energy that will help improve people’s living conditions.
 

Strengthening the water and sanitation sector

woman, water access, Pakistan, woman, Pirozzi

Strengthening the water and sanitation sector

Since April 2018, AFD has been investing in a new intervention sector in Pakistan: that of water and sanitation. AFD has granted a loan of 95 million euros to the Faisalabad Water and Sanitation Agency (F-WASA). The objective is to increase drinking-water production by 30 million gallons per day, by building a new drinking-water production plant, by increasing the existing plant and by improving the effectiveness of its distribution network.

We are also providing capacity building for the sector by supporting Al Jazari Academy, the institution that ensures the training of Pakistan’s water agency professionals.

In the coming years, AFD intends to continue supporting this sector because of its strategic importance for the country’s future.
 

Helping to guide urban development

Lahore, city view, Pakistan

Helping to guide urban development

AFD is helping to guide the development of several major cities of Pakistan. For example, with the Asian Development Bank (ADB), it’s providing co-financing of 130 million euros for the first BRT (Bus Rapid Transit) network in Peshawar, in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Province. This means rapid, regular and priority buses that run in dedicated lanes and are accessible to persons with reduced mobility. The project will enable the financing of 65 km of bus-reserved lanes, 150 stops and 450 hybrid buses, etc. A similar project could be financed in Karachi in the coming years.

In partnership with Punjab Province and the Aga Khan Trust for Culture, AFD is currently examining the possibility of a loan to rehabilitate Lahore Fort and to improve access to it and its immediate vicinities (parking areas, landscapes, etc.). The objective is to help promote tourism in this historic city emblematic of Pakistan and to enhance its image abroad.
 

11
years of presence in Pakistan
16
projects currently being implemented
804
million euros of accumulated commitments
9.5
million euros of grants since 2007

Pakistan is the sixth most populated country of the world and lies at the crossroads of several highly strategic Asian regions. Bordered by the Arabian Sea and surrounded by the two giants of the continent (India and China) as well as by Afghanistan and Iran, Pakistan plays a crucial role in the region’s geopolitical balance. Since it obtained its independence in 1947, Pakistan’s foreign policy has been very influenced by its rivalry with India, which has given rise to three wars between the countries. Even though relations have calmed down since the 2000s, the question of Kashmir still remains very sensitive.

Pakistan’s demography is dynamic, and the emergence of a consumer middle class has generated growth in the population’s needs. Pakistan is currently facing a serious energy crisis, and the frequent electricity outages have a considerable negative impact on the Pakistani economy (estimated at a loss of 2 or 3 percentage points in GDP growth rate) and on the living conditions of the country’s inhabitants.

AFD has been active in Pakistan since 2006 with a “green and inclusive growth mandate”. It’s especially involved in financing energy efficiency and the production of hydroelectricity. Its actions thus target renewable energies in order to further climate change mitigation and adaptation. To fulfill its goals, AFD provides sovereign and non-sovereign loans, and it mobilizes European Union grants as part of the Asia Investment Facility.

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Climate
  • Education
  • Employment and Shared Prosperity
  • Energy
  • Health
  • Sustainable Consumption and Production
  • Water and Sanitation

Funding type

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Delegation of European Union Funds
  • Fund for Technical Expertise and Experience Transfers (FEXTE)
  • Grant
  • Loan
  • Non Sovereign Concessional Loan
  • Sovereign Concessional Loan

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

Pakistan: winds of hope

In Pakistan, a new wind farm was built in the province of Sindh. Developed thanks to AFD's private sector branch, Proparco, the project is a factor in creating local jobs and bolstering renewable energy in a country marked by a shortfall.
Know more

Download

Institutional document

AFD and Pakistan

Oct 2018

Pakistan

Sixième pays le plus peuplé du monde, le Pakistan connaît une forte croissance démographique. Une pression à gérer : le pays doit parvenir à satisfaire les besoins fondamentaux de sa population. Et faire face à la crise énergétique qui menace son développement. Depuis 2006, l’AFD accompagne le Pakistan dans le développement des énergies renouvelables et l’efficacité énergétique.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Lac, Pakistan, nature
L'AFD et le Pakistan : promouvoir une croissance verte et solidaire
Lahore, vue, ville, Pakistan

Développer les énergies renouvelables

hydroélectricité, eau, énergie, Pakistan, Jaggran

Développer les énergies renouvelables

Le secteur énergétique au Pakistan connaît une crise majeure : le pays ne parvient à satisfaire que la moitié de la demande en électricité. Les coupures de courant fréquentes handicapent les entreprises et interrompent la production industrielle, dégradant encore un peu plus la situation économique.

Pour faire face à la pénurie, l’AFD s’engage particulièrement dans le financement de l’efficacité énergétique et mise sur l'énorme potentiel hydroélectrique du pays, encore largement inexploité.

Nous finançons ainsi la réhabilitation des centrales hydroélectriques de Warsak, de Dargaï, de Chitral et la construction des centrales hydroélectrique de Jaggran-II et de Harpo afin de garantir l’accès à une énergie fiable et respectueuse de l’environnement qui permettra d’améliorer les conditions de vie des populations.

Renforcer le secteur de l'eau et de l'assainissement

femme, accès à l'eau potable, Pakistan

Renforcer le secteur de l'eau et de l'assainissement

Depuis avril 2018, l’AFD investit un nouveau secteur d’intervention au Pakistan : celui de l’eau et de l’assainissement. L’AFD a accordé un prêt de 95 millions d’euros à la Faisalabad Water and Sanitation Agency (F-WASA). L’objectif :augmenter la capacité de production d’eau potable de 30 millions de gallons par jour en construisant une nouvelle usine de production d’eau potable, en augmentant celle de l’unité existante et en améliorant l’efficacité de son réseau de distribution. 

Nous renforçons également les capacités du secteur en appuyant Al Jazari Academy, l’académie assurant la formation des professionnels des agences de l’eau du Pakistan.

Dans les prochaines années, l’AFD entend continuer à appuyer ce secteur en raison de son importance stratégique pour l’avenir du pays.

Accompagner le développement urbain

Lahore, vue, ville, Pakistan

Accompagner le développement urbain

L'AFD accompagne le développement de plusieurs grandes villes du Pakistan. Ainsi, elle cofinance avec la Banque asiatique de développement (ADB) à hauteur de 130 millions d'euros le premier réseau de BRT (Bus Rapid Transit) à Peshawar, dans la province du Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP). Soit des bus rapides, réguliers, prioritaires, aux couloirs de circulation dédiés et accessibles aux personnes à mobilité réduites. Le projet permettra de financer 65 km de voies réservées aux bus, 150 arrêts, 450 bus hydrides…Un projet similaire pourrait être financé à Karachi dans les prochaines années.

En partenariat avec la province du Penjab et l’Aga Khan Trust for Culture, l’AFD procède actuellement à l’instruction d’un prêt destiné à réhabiliter le fort de Lahore et mettre en valeur ses accès et environs immédiats (parking, espaces paysagers…). L'objectif : contribuer à la promotion touristique de cette ville historique emblématique du Pakistan et valoriser son image à l’étranger.

11
ans de présence au Pakistan
16
projets en cours d’exécution
804
millions d’euros d’engagements cumulés
9,5
millions d’euros de subventions depuis 2007

Sixième pays le plus peuplé au monde, le Pakistan se trouve au carrefour de plusieurs régions asiatiques hautement stratégiques. Bordé par la mer d’Arabie et entouré par les deux géants du continent (l’Inde et la Chine), ainsi que par l’Afghanistan et l’Iran, ce pays joue un rôle crucial dans l’équilibre géopolitique de la région. Depuis l’obtention de son indépendance en 1947, la politique extérieure du Pakistan a été très influencée par sa rivalité avec l’Inde, qui a donné lieu à trois guerres entre les deux pays. Bien que les relations se soient apaisées depuis le début des années 2000, la question du Cachemire demeure toujours très sensible. 

Le pays possède désormais une démographie dynamique et l’émergence d’une classe moyenne de consommateurs a généré l’accroissement des besoins de la population. Aujourd’hui, le Pakistan fait face à une grave crise énergétique, et les fréquentes coupures d'électricité ont un impact négatif considérable sur l’économie pakistanaise (estimé à une perte de 2 % à 3 % de taux de croissance du PIB) et sur les conditions de vie des habitants. 

Intervenant au Pakistan depuis 2006 selon un « mandat croissance verte et solidaire », l’AFD s’engage particulièrement dans le financement de l’efficacité énergétique et de la production d’hydroélectricité. Ses actions sont donc ciblées sur les énergies renouvelables afin de favoriser l’atténuation et l’adaptation au changement climatique. Pour mener à bien ses missions, elle  intervient sous forme de prêts, souverains et non souverains, et mobilise des subventions européennes au titre de la Facilité d’Investissement pour l’Asie. 

Carte des projets
Cette carte est uniquement utilisée à titre d’illustration et n'engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

  • Climat
  • Consommation et production durables
  • Emploi et prospérité partagée
  • Faim et alimentation
  • Santé
  • Éducation
  • Énergie

Type de financement

  • Délégation de fonds de l'Union européenne
  • Prêt
  • Prêt concessionnel non souverain
  • Prêt concessionnel souverain
  • Subvention

Antennes

Display local antennas

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Pakistan : le vent se lève sur l'éolien

Au Pakistan, un nouveau parc éolien est sorti de terre dans la province de Sindh. Développé grâce au soutien de Proparco, la branche de l'AFD dédiée au secteur privé, ce projet participe à la production d’énergie renouvelable d'un pays en proie à la pénurie et favorise l'emploi local.
En savoir plus