Rwanda

At the heart of the Great Lakes region, Rwanda has been experiencing sustained growth for more than two decades to improve the living conditions of the population. The normalization of diplomatic relations between France and Rwanda has enabled AFD to resume its activities in 2019 and to reopen an agency in Kigali in 2021. AFD is working with the Rwandan government to support human capital development, finance economic development that promotes innovation and green growth and foster inclusive local development.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
AFD action in Rwanda
AFD and Rwanda: supporting an ambitious development trajectory for the benefit of the population
East africa regional office AFD Group

Supporting human capital development

Supporting human capital development in Rwanda, AFD

Supporting human capital development

In Rwanda, AFD supports the strengthening of human capital in the areas of education, vocational training and health.

With around 60% of the population under the age of 25, education and training for the youth are government priorities. AFD supports vocational training by financing a higher vocational training institution and TVET (Technical and Vocational Educational Training) schools in the Rulindo district to improve the employability of the youth. Support for the French language also helps to increase the professional assets of young Rwandans. Finally, AFD is supporting the deployment of the school sports policy through the Isonga program.

In the health sector, we have mobilized financing to contribute to the response to the Covid-19 epidemic.

Boosting economic development and supporting the private sector

Boosting economic development for innovation and green growth, AFD Rwanda

Boosting economic development and supporting the private sector

AFD is supporting the Rwandan government's efforts to develop new innovative services, mobilize the financial sector for green growth and diversify the economy.

Rwanda is a country that is particularly vulnerable to climate change and has made ambitious commitments in the framework of the Paris Agreement. AFD is working alongside national financial actors to support the financing of this voluntary trajectory, notably through support to the Rwandan Development Bank to enable it to fully fulfill its mandate as a national development bank.

The Rwandan government hopes to create 1.5 million jobs between 2017 and 2024. AFD is contributing to this through lines of credit and guarantees granted to Bank of Kigali, the country's main bank.

Supporting local development that strengthens essential services and social cohesion

Supporting local development that strengthens access to essential services and social cohesion

Supporting local development that strengthens essential services and social cohesion

AFD supports local development, which is notably based on the country's urbanization, as well as initiatives to strengthen social ties and improve access to essential services.

While 89% of Rwandans have access to electricity in urban areas, this rate drops to 23% in rural areas, where 83% of the population lives. To reduce these territorial divides, AFD is co-financing a program with the World Bank that aims to provide universal access to electricity for households in the Northern and Western provinces.

218.6
million committed between 2019 and 2021
3
cultural and creative enterprises run by women supported in their growth
2,100
student-athletes trained thanks to the Isonga programme

A landlocked and densely populated state in the Great Lakes region, Rwanda has experienced strong development since the end of the genocide against the Tutsis in 1994. Thanks to Rwanda's effective governance systems, economic growth has been sustained at 7.2% per annum over the past decade, allowing for significant social progress.

GDP per capita has grown at an annual rate of 5%, reducing the poverty rate. Health conditions have also improved thanks to the social security system, while Rwanda has almost reached the goal of universal basic education. Through proactive policies, the government has increased the diversification and attractiveness of its economy, notably through a favourable business environment.  

To achieve the objectives of its Vision 2050 project, Rwanda relies on funding and technical support from its development partners. The gradual normalisation of diplomatic relations between France and Rwanda, materialised by the visit to Rwanda of the President of the French Republic in May 2021, has made it possible to initiate a new phase of ambitious cooperation. It translates into the objective of increasing the total amount of French funding in Rwanda to nearly 500 million euros over the period 2019-2023.

AFD's Rwanda office is directly attached to the East Africa regional office in Nairobi.

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Funding type

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

News & Events

All news

Contact

Rwanda

Au coeur de la région des Grands Lacs, le Rwanda connaît depuis plus de deux décennies une croissance soutenue qui améliore les conditions de vie de la population. La normalisation des relations diplomatiques entre la France et le Rwanda a permis une reprise des activités de l’AFD en 2019, puis la réouverture d’une agence à Kigali en 2021. L’AFD accompagne le gouvernement rwandais pour soutenir le renforcement du capital humain, financer un développement économique au service de l’innovation et de la croissance verte et favoriser un développement local inclusif.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
L'action de l'AFD au Rwanda
L’AFD et le Rwanda : accompagner une trajectoire de développement ambitieuse au bénéfice de la population
La direction régionale Afrique de l'Est, basée à Nairobi, couvre 11 pays de la région : Burundi, Djibouti, Éthiopie, Érythrée, Kenya, Ouganda, Rwanda, Tanzanie, Somalie, Soudan, Soudan du Sud.

Accompagner le renforcement du capital humain

Soutenir le renforcement du capital humain au Rwanda, AFD

Accompagner le renforcement du capital humain

Au Rwanda, l’AFD accompagne le renforcement du capital humain dans le domaine de l’éducation, de la formation professionnelle et de la santé

Alors qu’environ 60 % de la population est âgée de moins de 25 ans, l’éducation et la formation de la jeunesse sont des priorités du gouvernement. L’AFD soutient la formation professionnelle en finançant une institution supérieure de formation professionnelle et des écoles TVET (Technical and Vocational Educational Training) dans le district de Rulindo, pour renforcer l’employabilité de la jeunesse. Le soutien à la francophonie permet aussi de multiplier les atouts professionnels des jeunes Rwandais. Enfin, l’AFD soutient le déploiement de la politique de sport scolaire à travers le programme Isonga.

Dans le secteur de la santé, nous avons mobilisé des financements afin de contribuer à la riposte contre l’épidémie de Covid-19.

Amplifier le développement économique et le soutien au secteur privé

Amplifier le développement économique au service de l’innovation et de la croissance verte, AFD Rwanda

Amplifier le développement économique et le soutien au secteur privé

L’AFD appuie les efforts du gouvernement rwandais pour faire émerger de nouveaux services innovants, mobiliser le secteur financier au service de la croissance verte et diversifier l’économie.

Pays particulièrement vulnérable au changement climatique, le Rwanda a pris des engagements ambitieux dans le cadre de l’Accord de Paris. Aux côtés des acteurs financiers nationaux, l’AFD appuie le financement de cette trajectoire volontariste, notamment au travers d’un soutien à la Banque rwandaise de développement, pour lui permettre de remplir pleinement son mandat de banque nationale de développement. 

Le gouvernement rwandais espère la création de 1,5 million d’emplois entre 2017 et 2024. L’AFD y contribue à travers des lignes de crédit et des garanties accordées à la Bank of Kigali, la principale banque du pays.

Soutenir un développement local renforçant les services essentiels et la cohésion sociale

Accompagner un développement local renforçant l’accès aux services essentiels et la cohésion sociale

Soutenir un développement local renforçant les services essentiels et la cohésion sociale

L’AFD soutient le développement local, qui repose notamment sur l’urbanisation du pays, ainsi que des initiatives visant à renforcer le lien social et à améliorer l’accès aux services essentiels.

Si 89 % des Rwandais ont accès à l’électricité en milieu urbain, ce taux chute à 23 % dans les zones rurales, qui concentrent pourtant 83 % de la population. Pour réduire ces fractures territoriales, l’AFD cofinance avec la Banque mondiale un programme visant à permettre l’accès universel des ménages à l’électricité dans les provinces du Nord et de l’Ouest.

218,6
millions d’euros engagés entre 2019 et 2021
3
entreprises culturelles et créatives dirigées par des femmes accompagnées dans leur croissance
2 100
étudiants-athlètes formés grâce au programme Isonga

État enclavé et densément peuplé de la région des Grands Lacs, le Rwanda a connu un fort développement depuis la fin du génocide contre les Tutsis en 1994. Grâce à l’efficacité des systèmes de gouvernance rwandais, la croissance économique s’est maintenue à 7,2 % par an sur la dernière décennie, permettant de nets progrès sociaux.

Le PIB par habitant a ainsi progressé au rythme annuel de 5 %, faisant reculer le taux de pauvreté. Les conditions sanitaires se sont aussi améliorées grâce au système de sécurité sociale, tandis que le Rwanda a presque atteint l’objectif d’une éducation fondamentale universelle. Grâce à des politiques volontaristes, le gouvernement a accru la diversification et l’attractivité de son économie, notamment grâce à un environnement des affaires favorable.

Pour atteindre les objectifs de son projet Vision 2050, le Rwanda compte sur les financements et l’appui technique de ses partenaires de développement. La normalisation progressive des relations diplomatiques entre la France et le Rwanda, matérialisée par la visite au Rwanda du président de la République française en mai 2021, a permis d’initier une nouvelle phase de coopération ambitieuse. Elle se traduit par l’objectif de porter le montant total des financements français au Rwanda à près de 500 millions d’euros sur la période 2019-2023. 

Notre action au Rwanda est rattachée à la direction régionale Afrique de l'Est du groupe AFD.

Carte des projets
Cette carte est utilisée à titre d’illustration, elle ne reflète pas toujours la position officielle de la France et n’engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD.
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Type de financement

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennes

Afficher les agences locales

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Contact