Orients

From the Western Balkans to the Indo-Pacific, and including the Near East and Central Asia, the Orients region covers countries with diverse development trajectories. The Orients play a key role in the response to global challenges, yet their resilience has been undermined by the crises. They now need to develop more sustainable and inclusive economic and social models. AFD Group’s action in the Orients aims to support low-carbon trajectories, strengthen social cohesion and reduce vulnerabilities, by mobilizing French and international actors.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
subway, metro, transport, Bangalore, India
AFD GROUP AND THE ORIENTS: SUPPORTING SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT TRAJECTORIES
Kishoreganj, Bangladesh

Eurasia Regional Office

Eurasia Regional Office, AFD group

Eurasia Regional Office

Eurasia’s Regional Office covers a wide geographical area, from the borders of the European Union to the heart of the Eurasian landmass. Four sub-regions compose this area: the Western Balkans, Turkey, the South Caucasus (Azerbaijan, Armenia, Georgia), and Central Asia (Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan). Despite their different socioeconomic structures, the countries in the region face similar environmental, social and demographic challenges. AFD Group in Eurasia actively contributes to the fight against climate change, while working towards more just and inclusive transitions.

Find out more about the Eurasia Regional Office

Middle East Regional Office

Middle East Regional Office, AFD Group

Middle East Regional Office

In the Middle East, AFD Group’s action aims to identify and promote sustainable development pathways to mitigate vulnerabilities that compromise the future of next generations. The Middle East Regional Office manages and supports the Group's activities in Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon and the Palestinian Territories. Its work in Syria and Yemen is limited to monitoring and analysis.

Find out more about the Middle East Regional Office

South Asia Regional Office

South Asia Regional Office, AFD Group

SOUTH ASIA REGIONAL OFFICE

From Afghanistan in the West to Bangladesh in the East, bordered by the Himalayas in the North and the Indian Ocean in the South, South Asia covers a wide range of geographical, political and economic conditions. AFD Group supports South Asian countries ((Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka)  in their efforts to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals. AFD's priorities for action are in line with France's policy in the Indo-Pacific region and contribute to the fight against climate change and the promotion of gender equality.

Find out more about the South Asia Regional Office

China Regional Office

China Regional Office, AFD Group

China Regional Office

China, with the world’s largest population and second largest economy, is also one of the most biodiverse countries on the planet. However, rapid growth has had an impact both on the environment and the quality of life of its inhabitants. AFD has been developing cooperation actions with the Chinese authorities since 2004 in terms of sustainable development and the fight against climate change. Our projects mobilize French expertise and know-how to support China's transition to a low-carbon, environmentally friendly economy.

Find out more about the China Regional Office

Southeast Asia Regional Office

Southeast Asia Regional Office, AFD Group

SOUTHEAST ASIA REGIONAL OFFICE

Southeast Asia is a region of opportunities and challenges. Although there are marked linguistic, religious, political, economic and geographical contrasts, common dynamics are emerging in relation to the vulnerability of these territories to climate change, biodiversity loss and increasing inequalities. The Southeast Asia Regional Office supports the region in its transitions and catalyzes projects and partnerships at regional level in seven countries, all members of ASEAN: Myanmar, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam.

Find out more about the Southeast Asia Regional Office

2.9
billion euros committed in 2020 in the Orients

Countries in Asia and the Middle East are characterized by the diversity of their development trajectories. Asian countries are faced with the major internal challenges of redressing the balance between regions and the transition towards a model based on the middle classes and domestic demand. In China, the new Silk Road (Belt and Road Initiative – BRI – strategy), could in the future further strengthen the link between the sub-regions in the Orients. In the Near and Middle East, the social and political integration of young people and women is now more than ever essential to the development and stability of the region.

To support countries in the Orients region, AFD Group engages in dialogue and sharing models and mutual experiences. The objective of the Group’s action in the Orients is to contribute to strengthening social cohesion, by reducing inequality and fulfilling the social protection expectations of the middle classes. We also support transitions towards low-carbon models, the protection of ecosystems and biodiversity, and the promotion of sustainable cities to contribute to the implementation of the Paris Agreement. 

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Funding type

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

Downloads

Voir toutes les ressources

Orients

Des Balkans occidentaux à l’Indopacifique, en passant par le Proche-Orient et l’Asie centrale, la région Orients couvre des pays aux trajectoires de développement diversifiées. Les Orients, incontournables pour répondre aux défis mondiaux, voient leur résilience fragilisée par les crises et doivent façonner des modèles économiques et sociaux plus durables et inclusifs. L’action du groupe AFD dans les Orients vise à accompagner des trajectoires sobres en carbone, consolider le lien social et réduire les vulnérabilités, en mobilisant acteurs français et internationaux.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
métro, transport, Bangalore, Inde
Le groupe AFD et les Orients : accompagner des trajectoires de développement durable
Région de Kishoreganj, Bangladesh

Direction régionale Eurasie

Direction régionale Eurasie, groupe AFD

DIRECTION RÉGIONALE EURASIE

S’étendant des frontières de l’Union européenne au coeur de l’Asie, la direction régionale Eurasie se distingue par un périmètre géographique vaste, regroupant quatre sous-régions : les Balkans occidentaux, la Turquie, le Sud-Caucase (Azerbaïdjan, Arménie, Géorgie) et l’Asie centrale (Kazakhstan, Ouzbékistan). S'ils présentent des contextes socio-économiques divers, les pays de la zone font face à des défis environnementaux, sociaux et démographiques communs. En Eurasie, le groupe AFD s'engage en faveur de la lutte contre le changement climatique et oeuvre à des transitions plus justes et inclusives.

En savoir plus sur la direction régionale Eurasie

Direction régionale Proche et Moyen-Orient

Direction régionale Proche et Moyen-Orient, groupe AFD

DIRECTION RÉGIONALE PROCHE ET MOYEN-ORIENT

Au Proche et au Moyen-Orient, le groupe AFD a pour objectif de contribuer à identifier et enclencher des trajectoires de développement durable afin de réduire les fragilités qui compromettent l’avenir des prochaines générations de la région. La direction régionale Proche et Moyen-Orient pilote et appuie les activités du groupe AFD en Jordanie, en Irak, au Liban et en Palestine, et effectue le suivi de la Syrie et du Yémen, deux pays où l’AFD n’a plus d’opérations.

En savoir plus sur la direction régionale Proche et Moyen-Orient

Direction régionale Asie du Sud

Direction régionale Asie du Sud, groupe AFD

DIRECTION RÉGIONALE ASIE DU SUD

S’étendant de l’Afghanistan à l’Ouest au Bangladesh à l’Est, bordée par l’Himalaya au Nord et l'océan Indien au Sud, l’Asie du Sud recouvre une diversité de situations géographiques, politiques et économiques. Le groupe AFD accompagne les pays d'Asie du Sud (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Inde, Pakistan et Sri Lanka) vers l’atteinte des Objectifs de développement durable. Ses priorités d’action s’inscrivent dans le cadre de la politique française en Indopacifique et contribuent à la lutte contre le changement climatique et à la promotion de l’égalité entre les femmes et hommes.

En savoir plus sur la direction régionale Asie du Sud

Direction régionale Chine

Direction régionale Chine, groupe AFD

Direction régionale Chine

Pays le plus peuplé au monde et deuxième puissance économique, la Chine est aussi l'un des pays qui abritent la plus grande biodiversité de la planète. Sa croissance rapide a cependant eu des répercussions sur l’environnement et la qualité de vie des habitants. Depuis 2004, l’AFD développe avec les autorités chinoises des actions de coopération en matière de développement durable et de lutte contre le changement climatique. Nos projets permettent de mobiliser l’expertise et les savoir-faire français au service de la transition de la Chine vers une économie sobre en carbone et respectueuse de l’environnement.

En savoir plus sur la direction régionale Chine

Direction régionale Asie du Sud-Est

Direction régionale Asie du Sud-Est, groupe AFD

DIRECTION RÉGIONALE ASIE DU SUD-EST

L’Asie du Sud-Est est une région d’opportunités et de défis. Si elle présente des contrastes marqués tant linguistiques, religieux, politiques qu'économiques et géographiques, des dynamiques communes émergent néanmoins, au regard de la vulnérabilité de ces territoires au changement climatique, à la perte de biodiversité et à l’augmentation des inégalités. La direction régionale Asie du Sud-Est accompagne la région dans ses transitions et catalyse des projets et partenariats à l'échelle régionale dans sept pays, tous membres de l'ASEAN : Birmanie, Cambodge, Indonésie, Laos, Philippines, Thaïlande et Vietnam.

En savoir plus sur la direction régionale Asie du Sud-Est

2,9
milliards d'euros engagés en 2020 dans les Orients

Les pays d’Asie et du Moyen-Orient se caractérisent par la diversité de leurs trajectoires de développement. Les pays asiatiques connaissent des enjeux internes majeurs de rééquilibrage entre régions et de transition vers un modèle fondé sur les classes moyennes et la demande intérieure. En Chine, la nouvelle route de la soie (stratégie « Belt and Road Initiative » ou BRI) pourrait, à l’avenir, lier plus étroitement encore les sous-régions des Orients. Au Proche et Moyen-Orient, l’insertion sociale et politique des jeunes et des femmes paraît plus que jamais essentielle au développement et à la stabilité de la région.

Pour accompagner les pays de la région Orients, le groupe AFD s'engage dans le dialogue, le partage des modèles et la réciprocité des expériences. L'action du Groupe dans les Orients entend contribuer à consolider le lien social à travers la réduction des inégalités et à répondre aux aspirations des classes moyennes en matière de protection sociale. Nous appuyons également les transitions vers des modèles bas-carbone, la protection des écosystèmes et de la biodiversité et la promotion de la ville durable, pour contribuer à la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris. 

Carte des projets
Cette carte est utilisée à titre d’illustration, elle ne reflète pas toujours la position officielle de la France et n’engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD.
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Type de financement

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennes

Afficher les agences locales

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Téléchargements

Publication institutionnelle

Stratégie régionale Orients 2021-2025

Mar 2022
Publication institutionnelle

Le groupe AFD et l'Europe en Eurasie

Fév 2022
Publication institutionnelle

Stratégie Liban 2021-2025

Sep 2021
Voir toutes les ressources