Vietnam

In a matter of 30 years, Vietnam has experienced remarkable economic growth. This creates new challenges: responding to growing energy demand, coping with rapid urban development, and training the one million new young workers who enter the labour market every year. Yet these challenges come with an emergency: exposure to natural disasters and impacts of climate change. AFD acts to strengthen the resilience capacity of the country.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Port industriel de Tan Cang, Vietnam
AFD AND VIETNAM: ASSISTING THE COUNTRY IN ITS PATH TOWARD GREEN GROWTH AND RESILIENCE
Bassin du fleuve Rouge, Vietnam

Challenging climate change

Fisherman near a river

CHALLENGING CLIMATE CHANGE

With more than 3,000 km of coastline, Vietnam is one of the most vulnerable countries to impacts of climate change. The deltas of Mekong and Red River as well as the coastal regions are particularly concerned. Sea level rise, soil erosion, extreme weather events (drought, floods): Vietnam urgently needs to adapt to better resist. 

To cope with this, the Vietnamese government has integrated the fight against climate change into the country’s economic development policy. In response to the country’s request and in line with commitments following the Paris Agreement, AFD is determined to support the development of a low-carbon and resilient path. 

In total, over the period 2006–2017, AFD has granted 829 million euros to Vietnam through 26 projects and development programmes contributing to the fight against climate change. 
We step in on both the adaptation and mitigation aspects:

  • We support "climate" public policies with budget support to the Vietnamese government, co-financing with World Bank and Jica
  • We support the regions that are most exposed to the consequences of climate change and hazards, in order to assist Vietnam in its implementation of climate change adaptation measures.

Developing sustainable energy

Electricity in Vietnam

DEVELOPING SUSTAINABLE ENERGY

Vietnam’s strong growth is leading to a very rapid increase in electricity production, which will be multiplied by 4 in 2030 compared to 2014. For sure, renewable energy development increasingly plays an important role in the master plans, but it remains in a rank behind the high development of coal.

To face this challenge, AFD has financed the hydroelectric plant Huoi Quang (with a capacity of 520 MW) and Proparco, its private sector subsidiary, finances the Phu My 2.2 combined cycle power plant (715 MW). At the distribution level, we have aided electric transport projects in the north of the country and the construction of Pleiku-My Phuoc-Cau Bong high-voltage line. We are also striving to strengthen the power supply in the countryside (Mekong Delta). 

Promoting sustainable urban development

Train in Vietnam

PROMOTING SUSTAINABLE URBAN DEVELOPMENT

Vietnam has experienced very rapid urbanisation in the past 30 years. Its strong demographic growth intensifies this phenomenon and the urban surface keeps increasing. By 2050, cities should be home to 60% of the Vietnamese population. Initially gathered in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City, urban development quickly spread to other major cities like Danang and Can Tho and to coastal areas. The challenges are abundant: high urban density, increased air, water and soil pollution, traffic congestion and failure of public transport network.

AFD supports the authorities in the development of urban infrastructure:

  • We have assisted local investment funds for the development of Ho Chi Minh City, Can Tho, Danang and Khanh Hoa.
  • We finance the construction of line 3 of Hanoi underground and participated in the financing of Yen Vien-Lao Cai railway to link to the city of Lao Cai
  • We contribute to the supply of drinking water in several cities of the Mekong Delta. We also support the sewage treatment, flood control and waste management in medium-size cities of central Vietnam.
  • In Huê, we are financing the imperial canal renovation to fight against floods and improve restoration work of the citadel. 

Supporting the productive sector

Professional training in Vietnam

SUPPORT THE PRODUCTIVE SECTOR

In order to maintain dynamic growth and successfully integrate into the regional economic area, Vietnam must continue to modernise its productive sector, by increasing its productivity and its environmental and social performance. AFD steps in to support this transformation by:

  • Supporting the development of a vocational training offer in line with the needs of the economy. This is in order to promote the integration of young people as well as to support the social and ecological transition of Vietnam. 
  • Focusing on environmental and climate-related businesses to enhance environmental responsibility goals and practices. It is also to contribute to the promotion of cost-effective and "efficient" natural resource management. This is how AFD is concerned for energy efficiency. 
  • By supporting local banks to drive dynamism of the private sector, or directly via its subsidiary Proparco.

Acting with civil society

Woman in a Lab

ACTING WITH CIVIL SOCIETY

French NGOs are very keen and active in Vietnam. There are nearly 150 organisations of which 70 are currently conducting projects in the field. These organisations have a positive image among the population. AFD works in partnership with NGOs because of their experience in the field and proximity to the people, particularly in the sectors of education, health and environment. 

Since 2014, we have organised an annual meeting between these different actors in order to facilitate exchanges and to promote better cohesion of international solidarity organisations. Since 2009, we have funded more than 25 projects in Vietnam. 

Our main local partners: GRET, WWF France, French Red Cross, Planète Enfants et Développement, IECD, Batik International, AVSF, Médecins du monde, Entrepreneurs du monde, Enda and Agrisud. 

1.9
billion euros committed for almost 25 years
2
million tonnes of CO2 emissions avoided each year
1 out of 3
Vietnamese benefits from our projects

On the edge of Southeast Asia, Vietnam stretches along the coast of the Indochinese peninsula. With more than 92 million inhabitants, it is one of the fifteen most densely populated countries in the world.

Vietnam has experienced very fast-growing record in the past 30 years. The economic opening and political reforms undertaken in 1986 have given good result. For several years, its annual economic growth has been 6%. As for the poverty rate, it has dropped from 37% in 1998 to 8.2% in 2014. For the so-called "new Southeast Asian dragon," the challenges have changed. These are now linked to its rapid urbanisation, vulnerability to hazards and natural disasters as well as the challenge of climate change.  

That is because Vietnam will have by 2025 more than 100 million inhabitants. A demographic growth that raises many issues. Therefore, we must quickly respond to the increase in energy demand, adapt cities to the increased number of urban dwellers, train the one million new young people who arrive every year on the workforce and improve productivity for global competitiveness. All while guaranteeing the social well-being of the population.

With 3,260 km of coastline and two deltas, the Mekong River to the south and Red River to the north, Vietnam is one of the most vulnerable countries to climate change. In addition, meteorological hazards (rising water levels, floods, drought) affect its coastal regions, cities and agricultural regions, threatening the production and income of the rural population. The country is regularly affected and must adapt by implementing realistic actions. Signatory to the Paris climate agreement, Vietnam has also committed to reduce its CO2 emission by 8% by 2030 compared to the baseline scenario, which could be increased to 25% with support from foreign aid.

Present since 1994, AFD works in close collaboration with the Vietnamese authorities to help the country taking a path of green, inclusive and resilient growth and to fight against climate change. With a wide range of financial instruments combining sovereign, non-sovereign and grant loans, we have financed 84 projects worth nearly €1.9 billion.

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Climate
  • Education
  • Employment and Shared Prosperity
  • Energy
  • Global Partnerships
  • Hunger and Food
  • Infrastructure
  • Water and Sanitation

Funding type

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Loan

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

In Vietnam, resilience as seen by young people

During a competition organised by the Youth Union and AFD from August 27 to October 14, 2018, Vietnamese youth from 15 to 35 years old were asked to translate the notion of "resilience" in words and images. There were 400 applicants and 11 laureates were awarded. We met them at the awards ceremony early November in Hanoi.
Know more

Vietnam

En l’espace de 30 ans, le Vietnam a connu une croissance économique remarquable. Cela induit de nouveaux défis : répondre à la croissance de la demande d’énergie, faire face à un développement urbain rapide, former le million de nouveaux jeunes travailleurs qui arrivent chaque année sur le marché de l’emploi. À ces enjeux s’ajoute une urgence : l’exposition aux catastrophes naturelles et aux effets du changement climatique. L’AFD intervient afin de renforcer la capacité de résilience du pays.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Port industriel de Tan Cang, Vietnam
L’AFD et le Vietnam : accompagner le pays dans sa trajectoire de croissance verte et résiliente
Bassin du fleuve Rouge, Vietnam

Relever les défis du changement climatique

Vietnam barrage eau lutte changement climatique

Relever les défis du changement climatique

Avec plus de 3 000 km de côtes, le Vietnam est l’un des pays les plus vulnérables aux effets du changement climatique. Les deltas du Mékong et du fleuve Rouge comme les régions côtières sont particulièrement touchés. Élévation du niveau de la mer, érosion des sols, phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes (sécheresse, inondations) : il est urgent pour le Vietnam de s’adapter pour mieux résister. 

Face à ce constat, le gouvernement vietnamien a intégré les défis du changement climatique à la politique de développement économique du pays. En réponse à la demande du pays et en lien avec les engagements pris dans l’Accord de Paris, l’AFD est déterminée à soutenir le développement d’une trajectoire bas carbone et résiliente. 

En cumulé, sur la période 2006-2017, l'AFD a accordé 829 millions d'euros au Vietnam à travers 26 projets et programmes de développement contribuant à la lutte contre le changement climatique. 
Nous intervenons à la fois sur les volets adaptation et atténuation :

  • Nous appuyons les politiques publiques « climat » par une aide budgétaire au gouvernement vietnamien, en cofinancement avec la Banque mondiale et Jica.
  • Nous soutenons les régions les plus exposées aux conséquences du dérèglement climatique et aux aléas, en vue d’accompagner le pays dans la mise en œuvre de mesures d’adaptation au changement climatique.

Développer une énergie durable

Vietnam Hanoï électricité dans la ville

Développer une énergie durable

La forte croissance du Vietnam induit une hausse très rapide de la production d’électricité qui sera multipliée par 4 en 2030 par rapport à 2014. Certes, le développement des énergies renouvelables occupe une place croissante dans les schémas directeurs mais demeure en retrait par rapport au fort développement du charbon.

Pour faire face à ce défi, l’AFD a financé la centrale hydro-électrique Huoi Quang (d’une puissance de 520 MW) et Proparco, sa filiale secteur privé, a financé la centrale à cycle combiné Phu My 2.2 (715 MW). Au niveau de la distribution, nous avons appuyé des projets de transport électrique dans le nord du pays et la construction de la ligne de haute tension Pleiku–My Phuoc–Cau Bong. Nous nous attachons aussi à renforcer l’alimentation en électricité dans les campagnes (delta du Mékong). 

 

Promouvoir un développement urbain durable

lutte contre les inondations, drainage, hygiène et santé, traitement des eaux usées, collecte et enfouissement des déchets

Promouvoir un développement urbain durable

Le Vietnam a connu une urbanisation très rapide ces 30 dernières années. Sa forte croissance démographique accentue le phénomène et la surface urbaine ne cesse d’augmenter. D’ici 2050, les villes devraient abriter 60 % de la population vietnamienne. D’abord concentré sur Hanoi et Hô Chi Minh-Ville, le développement urbain s’est rapidement étendu à d'autres grandes villes comme Danang et Can Tho et aux zones côtières. Les enjeux sont nombreux : forte densité urbaine, augmentation de la pollution de l’air, des eaux et du sol, congestion routière et défaillance du réseau de transport en commun.

L’AFD soutient les autorités dans le développement des infrastructures urbaines :

  • nous avons accompagné les fonds d’investissements locaux pour le développement d’Hô Chi Minh-Ville, Can Tho, Danang et Khanh Hoa
  • nous finançons la construction de la ligne 3 du métro de Hanoï et avons participé au financement du chemin de fer Yen Vien-Lao Cai pour désenclaver la ville de Lao Cai
  • nous contribuons à l’approvisionnement en eau potable dans plusieurs villes du delta du Mekong et à l’assainissement des eaux usées, la lutte contre les inondations et la gestion des déchets dans des villes intermédiaires du centre du Vietnam
  • nous finançons à Huê la rénovation du canal impérial pour lutter contre les inondations et améliorer l’assainissement de la citadelle. 

Soutenir le secteur productif

Soutenir le secteur productif

Afin de maintenir une croissance dynamique et réussir son intégration dans l’espace économique régional, le Vietnam doit poursuivre la modernisation de son secteur productif, en augmentant sa productivité et ses performances environnementales et sociales. L’AFD a décidé d’accompagner cette transformation en :

  • soutenant le développement d’une offre de formation professionnelle en adéquation avec les besoins de l’économie, afin de favoriser l’insertion des jeunes et accompagner la transition sociale et écologique du Vietnam. 
  • appuyant les entreprises en lien avec l’environnement et le climat afin de rehausser les ambitions et pratiques en matière de responsabilité environnementale, et de contribuer à la promotion d’une gestion économe et « efficiente » en ressources naturelles. L'AFD s’intéresse ainsi au domaine de l’efficacité énergétique. 
  • en intervenant en appui aux banques locales pour soutenir le dynamisme du secteur privé, ou directement via sa filiale Proparco.

Agir avec la société civile

Vietnam formation femme laboratoire

Agir avec la société civile

Les ONG françaises sont très présentes et actives au Vietnam : on en compte près de 150 dont 70 mènent actuellement des projets sur le terrain. Elles bénéficient d’une image positive auprès de la population. En raison de leur expérience sur le terrain et de leur proximité avec les habitants, l’AFD travaille en partenariat avec les ONG, notamment sur les secteurs de l’éducation, de la santé et de l’environnement. 

Depuis 2014, nous organisons une rencontre annuelle entre ces différents acteurs afin de faciliter les échanges et de favoriser une meilleure cohésion des organisations de solidarité internationale. Depuis 2009, nous avons financé plus de 25 projets au Vietnam. 

Nos principaux partenaires localement : le GRET, WWF France, la Croix-Rouge française, Planète Enfants et Développement, l’IECD, Batik International, AVSF, Médecins du monde, Entrepreneurs du monde, Enda et Agrisud. 

1,9
milliard d’euros engagés depuis presque 25 ans
2
millions de tonnes d’émissions de CO2 évitées chaque année
1
Vietnamien sur 3 bénéficie de nos projets

En bordure de l’Asie du Sud-Est, le Vietnam s’étend le long de la côte de la péninsule indochinoise. Avec plus de 92 millions d’habitants, c’est l’un des quinze pays les plus peuplés de la planète.

Le Vietnam a connu un essor record ces trente dernières années. L’ouverture économique et les réformes politiques entreprises dès 1986 ont porté leurs fruits : depuis plusieurs années, sa croissance économique annuelle est de 6 %. Quant au taux de pauvreté, il a chuté, passant de 37 % en 1998 à 8,2% en 2014. Pour celui qu’on surnomme le « nouveau dragon d’Asie du Sud-Est », les défis ont changé : ils sont aujourd’hui liés à son urbanisation rapide, à la vulnérabilité aux aléas et catastrophes naturelles et au défi du changement climatique.  

Car le Vietnam comptera d’ici 2025 plus de 100 millions d’habitants. Une croissance démographique qui soulève de nombreux enjeux : il faut rapidement répondre à la hausse de la demande en énergie, adapter les villes à l’augmentation du nombre de citadins, former le million de nouveaux jeunes qui arrivent chaque année sur le marché de l’emploi et améliorer la productivité pour une meilleure compétitivité au niveau mondial. Le tout en garantissant le bien-être social de la population.

Avec ses 3260 km de côtes et ses deux deltas, celui du Mékong au sud et celui du fleuve Rouge au nord, le Vietnam est l’un des pays les plus vulnérables au changement climatique. De plus, les aléas météorologiques (montée des eaux, inondations, sécheresse) touchent ses régions côtières, ses villes et ses régions agricoles les plus importantes, menaçant ainsi les productions et les revenus des populations rurales. Régulièrement éprouvé, le pays doit s’adapter par la mise en oeuvre d'actions concrètes. Signataire de l’accord de Paris sur le climat, le Vietnam s’est aussi engagé à réduire ses émissions de CO2 de 8 % d’ici à 2030 par rapport au scénario de base, qui pourrait être augmenté à 25 % grâce aux aides étrangères.

Présente depuis 1994, l’AFD travaille en étroite collaboration avec les autorités vietnamiennes pour aider le pays à prendre le chemin d’une croissance verte, inclusive et résiliente et à lutter contre le changement climatique. Grâce à une vaste palette d’instruments financiers associant prêts souverains, non souverains et subventions, nous avons financé 84 projets pour un montant de près de 1,9 milliard d’euros.
 

Carte des projets
Cette carte est utilisée à titre d’illustration, elle ne reflète pas toujours la position officielle de la France et n’engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD.
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Climat
  • Eau et assainissement
  • Emploi et prospérité partagée
  • Faim et alimentation
  • Forêts et biodiversité
  • Infrastructures
  • Inégalités
  • Pauvreté
  • Villes durables
  • Énergie

Type de financement

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Prêt
  • Prêt concessionnel non souverain
  • Prêt concessionnel souverain
  • Subvention

Antennes

Afficher les agences locales

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Au Vietnam, la résilience vue par les jeunes

Du 27 août au 14 octobre 2018, les jeunes Vietnamiens de 15 à 35 ans ont été appelés à traduire la notion de résilience en mots et en images, à l’occasion d’un concours organisé par l’Union de la jeunesse et l’AFD. Sur les 400 candidatures reçues, 11 lauréats ont été récompensés. Nous les avons rencontrés lors de la remise des prix début novembre, à Hanoï.
En savoir plus

Téléchargement

Publication institutionnelle

L'AFD et le Vietnam

Aug 2016
Publication institutionnelle

L'AFD et le Vietnam

Aug 2016
Publication institutionnelle

Profil Genre : Asie

Dec 2016
Publication institutionnelle

Cadre d'intervention : Vietnam 2016-2020

Dec 2016