Laos

A mountainous and landlocked country, Laos is not lacking in assets. For some fifteen years, the country's economic activity has been very sustained, driven by an economic model based mainly on the exploitation of natural resources (mining, forestry and hydraulic resources). In 2018, this dynamic slowed down when the country was hit by devastating climatic events (drought, floods) which heavily penalised production in the agricultural and manufacturing sectors. The COVID-19 pandemic and the subsequent global economic slowdown strongly affected the Laotian economy in the first half of 2020.

AFD has been supporting Laos in its sustainable development for over 25 years. It finances projects implemented by public authorities, civil society or the private sector, mainly in the agriculture, rural development, biodiversity, heritage protection and development and justice sectors.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Statuettes, Laos
AFD and Laos: Supporting rural development and developing heritage
Statuettes, Laos

Supporting rural and agricultural development

Coffee shoots Laos

Supporting rural and agricultural development

Over 65% of the population living in rural areas, meaning that it is fundamental to eradicate poverty in these zones. AFD has been a longstanding partner and combines support for public policies, field actions and capacity building for local actors. The aim: to improve living conditions by increasing the quantity and quality of agricultural production, supporting sustainable agricultural practices and promoting market access.

Our action:

  • To accompany the agro-ecological transition by promoting practices, concerted local land-use planning, and the networking of agro-ecological actors. Lao facilitated the Initiative for a regional Coaching of Agroecological transition in Southeast Asia (LICA) with the aim of homogenising regulations and support mechanisms for agroecology in order to develop a common ASEAN position.
  • Support local authorities in planning and building small rural infrastructure. The construction and rehabilitation of small irrigation schemes for the benefit of poor families is being carried out in northern Laos to support the Lao government's policy on poverty reduction by increasing agricultural production capacity through sustainable water supply.
  • Strengthening value chains. AFD has been supporting the emergence of a quality coffee sector on the Bolovens plateau since 1998 and has supported the creation and development of the Coffee Producers' Cooperative (CPC). Support for the CPC has enabled it to demonstrate to the Lao government that well-organized family producers can become key players in the sector. The replication of the CPC model is a development axis for family coffee producers supported by the Prime Minister of Laos.  AFD has also been supporting the tea sector since 2019 with the aim of improving the living conditions and incomes of small tea producers and developing structured governance of the sector in Laos.
  • AFD has been supporting the development and promotion of Geographical Indications (GIs) in the region since 2000. In Laos two GI products have been registered with our support: “petit poussin” rice and Boloven coffee.
  • Promote agriculture that is sensitive to nutritional issues
  • Develop agriculture, livestock farming and fishing for the populations of the Nakai plateau, displaced following the construction of the Nam Theun 2 dam
  • Reconcile conservation and economic development by working with the populations of landscapes rich in biodiversity such as Nam Et Phou Loeuy, Nam Kading, Phou Sithone and Xe Champhone.

Preserving heritage

Ho Prabang, pagoda of the royal palace, Luang Prabang, Laos

Preserving heritage

Laos has long remained away from the tourist circuits. However, the country is full of heritage riches. From a few hundred tourists in the 1990s, it has grown to nearly 5 million visitors (foreigners) in 2019. This attraction constitutes both an opportunity for local economic development and a potential threat to the preservation of sites and landscapes.

AFD supports authorities in the balanced management of UNESCO World Heritage sites. AFD has been working to preserve and develop the heritage of Luang Prabang, the former capital of Northern Laos, since 1998 with a view to reconciling tourism and traditions.

Since 2012, AFD support in this sector has been extended to the sector of Vat Phu Champasak where many pre-angkorian temples can be found (Champasak province). AFD has allocated €6M in financing to better preserve the Vat Phu Champasak site and to create and implement tourist attraction sites. This will help to improve living conditions for local inhabitants and encourage them to preserve their cultures and traditions.

From 2021, cooperation actions in this sector will also be extended to Savannakhet, a central province of the country, which possesses many elements of historical and cultural wealth.  

Supporting the NGO network

Rice paddy, Laos

Supporting the NGO network

The NGO network is very active in Laos. AFD provides financial support via a Civil Society Initiative Facility to six of them for a total of nine projects, five of which are implemented in Laos alone, and four multi-country programs that include activities in Laos:

  • The Laos Cooperation Committee (CCL) supports rural communities in Phongsaly through projects on nutrition, as well as a project on tea production and biodiversity. The CCL is also helping to diversify agricultural production and facilitate market access, while promoting environmentally friendly (or agro-ecological) practices in Oudomxay province.
  • GRET supports the sustainable participation of civil society in the co-management of sustainable bamboo and rattan supply chains. It is also involved in a project on commons and governance, which will produce diagnoses and recommendations on the impact of the 'commons' approach on shared governance and on the support methodology.
  • Aide Odontologique Internationale (AOI) improves oral health through the analysis of fluoride toothpastes, prevention and control of infections in hospitals, and capacity building of dentists and practitioners, in close collaboration with the Department of Curative Medicine. Over the past 2.5 years, emphasis has been placed on supporting district hospitals in the capital city of Vientiane in their infectious disease prevention and control activities.
  • Tetraktys involves and integrates communities in the ecotourism development of the Konglor Cave in the villages of Konglor and Natane in Khammouane province.
  • AgriSud strengthens the skills of the populations of the Viengkham district in the Luang Prabang province, to combine production, management and protection of natural resources.
  • AVSF is strengthening farmers' organisations and civil society for the agro-ecological transition of territories, for sustainable and equitable commodity chains.

Supporting the justice sector

Supporting the justice sector

France is one of the Laotian authorities' oldest partners in this sector. It has supported the modernisation and functioning of the justice system through the implementation of successive projects, with the assistance of several French actors. The Laotian partners recognise this support and appreciate the professionalism of French institutions and experts. In 2019 AFD allocated €1.5M of financing to support judicial institutions by providing human resource support to the Ministry of Justice and the high judicial authorities (Office of the Supreme People's Prosecutor - OSPP - and the Supreme People's Court - PSC) to promote effective, equitable and timely access to justice for populations.

Our other activities

Vegetation, Laos

Our other activities

AFD also finances regional projects with activities in Laos. It is present alongside:

  • The NGO Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS), in addition to the national ECILL project for community management of protected areas in the Indo-Burmese hotspot (Myanmar, Cambodia and Laos).
  • The Mekong River Commission (MRC), in charge of dialogue between the countries of the region for the management of the Mekong River, on which some 65 million people depend.
  • GRET and its 26 partners for the implementation of the ASSET programme on the agro-ecological transition of food systems.
  • The Pasteur Institute of Laos and its first European standard laboratory, as well as the ECOMORE 2 project, focusing on the emergence of diseases linked to climate change, in particular dengue fever and leptospirosis, and a complementary component linked to COVID-19.
  • AFD Group, via PROPARCO, supports local economic activity thanks to the ARIZ guarantee, a risk-sharing tool to encourage banks to lend to small and medium-sized enterprises and microfinance institutions. To date AFD is working with the Banque Franco-Lao (BFL) and ARIZ has facilitated over 7 million euros in loans to SMEs.
  • Finally, PROPARCO, AFD Group's private sector financing subsidiary, has granted several loans to development projects in Laos. Proparco has participated in financing a telecommunications company (loan repaid today), two hydropower dams (Nam Theun 2 and Theun Hinboun) and an agroforestry project (Burapha) via a USD10M loan allocated in 2018. The latter loan enabled the company to extend the area of Eucalyptus and Acacia plantations in Vientiane Capital and Vientiane province.

In addition, AFD has been financing projects identified and implemented in developing countries by French local authorities for several years via the Facility for financing initiatives of French local authorities (FICOL). In Laos, financing totalling €1 136 000 has been allocated in 2019 by AFD to co-finance a partnership project between the Syndicat Mixte de l'Espace de Restitution de la Grotte Chauvet (SMERGC) and Khammouane province to support the latter in obtaining the UNESCO World Geopark label for a targeted area in the Khum-Khan and Nakai districts (€631 500). Secondly, a cooperation project between the Centre Val de Loire Region and the province of Luang Prabang has been set up, targeting the promotion of access to drinking water, hygiene and sanitation (€504,440).

220
million euros committed since 1994
76
projects funded
1994
start of AFD’s operations in Laos

Laos has made considerable progress in development over the last two decades, reducing poverty by more than half between 1993 and 2019 while at the same time GDP grew by an average of 7.3% per year, reducing malnutrition and improving education and health outcomes. However, the country is still classified as a Least Developed Country (LDC).

Nevertheless, Lao PDR has assets: important mineral, forestry and hydroelectric resources, low agricultural production but very characteristic agricultural land and a political will to distinguish itself by the quality of its products. In order to further reduce poverty and boost prosperity, the country will need to implement reforms to support greener and more inclusive growth, diversify income sources and encourage private sector participation while managing its vulnerabilities to the effects of climate change.

AFD has been active in the country since 1994. The high level of public debt (70.9% in 2020) limits AFD's intervention to financing in the form of grants exclusively.

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Funding type

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

News & Events

All news

Downloads

Voir toutes les ressources

Contact

Laos

Pays montagneux et enclavé, le Laos ne manque pas d’atouts. Pendant une quinzaine d’années, l’activité économique du pays a été très soutenue, portée par un modèle économique reposant principalement sur l’exploitation des ressources naturelles (ressources minières, forestières et hydrauliques). En 2018, cette dynamique s’est ralentie lorsque le pays a été frappé par des évènements climatiques dévastateurs (sécheresse, inondations) qui ont fortement pénalisé la production des secteurs agricole et manufacturier. La pandémie de COVID-19 et le ralentissement économique mondial qui a suivi ont fortement affecté l’économie laotienne au cours du premier semestre 2020.
L’AFD accompagne le Laos depuis plus de 25 ans dans son développement durable. Elle y finance des projets mis en œuvre par les pouvoirs publics, par la société civile ou par le secteur privé, principalement dans les secteurs de l’agriculture, du développement rural, de la biodiversité, de la protection et la mise en valeur du patrimoine et de la justice.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Statuettes, Laos
L’AFD et le Laos : soutenir le développement agricole et rural, valoriser le patrimoine
Pêcheur sur le lac de Nam Ngum

Soutenir le développement rural et agricole

Pousses de café au Laos

Soutenir le développement rural et agricole

Avec plus de 65 % de la population vivant en milieu rural, l’attention portée dans ces zones pour éradiquer la pauvreté est fondamentale. Partenaire de longue date, l’AFD allie appuis aux politiques publiques, actions de terrain, et renforcement des capacités des acteurs locaux. L’objectif : améliorer les conditions de vie en augmentant la quantité et la qualité de la production agricole, en soutenant des pratiques agricoles durables et en favorisant l’accès au marché.

Notre action :

  • Accompagner la transition agroécologique en promouvant des pratiques, une planification locale concertée de l’usage des sols, et la mise en réseaux des acteurs de l’agroécologie. Le Laos a porté l’initiative Lao facilitated Initiative for a regional Coaching of Agroecological transition in South East Asia (LICA) avec pour objectif d’homogénéiser les réglementations et mécanismes de soutien à l’agroécologie afin de développer une position commune de l'ASEAN.
  • Appuyer les autorités locales dans la planification et la construction de petites infrastructures rurales. La construction et la réhabilitation de petits périmètres d'irrigation au profit des familles pauvres sont réalisées dans le nord du Laos afin de soutenir la politique du gouvernement lao sur la réduction de la pauvreté en augmentant la capacité de production agricole grâce au système durable d'approvisionnement en eau.
  • Renforcer les chaînes de valeurs. L’AFD soutient depuis 1998 l’émergence d’une filière café de qualité sur le plateau des Bolovens, et a accompagné la création et le développement de la Coopérative des Producteurs de Café (la CPC). L’appui à la CPC a permis de démontrer au gouvernement Lao que des producteurs familiaux bien organisés peuvent devenir des acteurs-clés de la filière. La réplication du modèle de la CPC est un axe de développement pour les producteurs familiaux de café soutenu par le Premier Ministre du Laos.  Depuis 2019, l’AFD soutient également la filière du thé avec pour finalité l’amélioration des conditions de vie et de revenus des petits producteurs de thé et le développement d’une gouvernance structurée de la filière au Laos.
  • L’AFD soutient depuis 2000 le développement et la promotion des Indications Géographiques (IG) dans la région. Au Laos, deux produits IG ont été enregistrés avec nos appuis : le riz petit poussin et le café des Bolovens.
  • Promouvoir une agriculture sensible aux enjeux nutritionnels.
  • Développer l’agriculture, l’élevage et la pêche pour les populations du plateau de Nakai, déplacées suite à la construction du barrage Nam Theun 2.
  • Lier conservation et développement économique, en travaillant en lien avec les populations des paysages riches en biodiversité tels que Nam Et Phou Loeuy, Nam Kading, Phou Sithone et Xe Champhone

Préserver le patrimoine

Palais à Vat Phu

Préserver le patrimoine

Le Laos est longtemps resté à l’écart des circuits touristiques. Pourtant le pays regorge de richesses patrimoniales. De quelques centaines de touristes dans les années 90, il est passé à près de 5 millions de visiteurs (étrangers) en 2019. Cet attrait constitue tant une opportunité pour le développement économique local qu’une menace potentielle pour la préservation des sites et des paysages.

L’AFD accompagne les autorités dans une gestion équilibrée des sites classés au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Depuis 1998, l’AFD s’est engagée dans la préservation et la mise en valeur du patrimoine de Luang Prabang, ancienne capitale au nord du Laos, dans l’optique de concilier le tourisme et les traditions.

Depuis 2012, l'appui de l'AFD dans ce domaine s'est étendu au secteur classé de Vat Phu Champasak où de nombreux temples pré-angkorien peuvent être trouvés (province de Champasak). Un nouveau financement de 6M€ a été accordé par l’AFD pour mieux préserver le site de Vat Phu Champasak ainsi que pour la création et la mise en place des sites d’attractivités touristiques, ce qui contribuera à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des habitants locaux, les encourageant aussi à la préservation de leurs cultures et traditions.

A partir de l’année 2021, des actions de coopération dans ce secteur seront étendues également à Savannakhet, une province centrale du pays, qui possède bon nombre d’éléments de richesse historique et culturelle.   

Appuyer le réseau des ONG

Rizière, Laos

Appuyer le réseau des ONG

Le réseau des ONG est très actif au Laos. L’AFD apporte son soutien financier via le Dispositif Initiative-OSC à six d’entre elles, pour un total de neuf projets, dont cinq uniquement mis en œuvre au Laos, et quatre programmes multi-pays intégrant des volets d’activités au Laos :

  • Le Comité de Coopération avec le Laos (CCL) soutient les communautés rurales de Phongsaly via des projets sur la nutrition, ainsi qu’un projet sur la production de thé et la biodiversité. Le CCL aide également à la diversification de la production agricole et à la facilitation de l’accès au marché, tout en promouvant les pratiques respectueuses de l’environnement (ou agroécologiques), dans la province d’Oudomxay.
  • Le GRET, appuie la pérennisation de la participation de la société civile à la cogestion de filières durables bambou et rotin. Il intervient aussi avec un projet sur les communs et la gouvernance, qui permettra de produire des diagnostics et de recommandations, à la fois sur l’impact de l’approche par les ‘communs’ sur la gouvernance partagée, et sur la méthodologie d’accompagnement.
  • Aide Odontologique Internationale (AOI) améliore la santé bucco-dentaire grâce à l’analyse des dentifrices fluorés, à la prévention et au contrôle des infections dans les hôpitaux, et au renforcement des capacités des dentistes et praticiens, en lien étroit avec le Département de médecine curative. Depuis 2,5 ans, des accents ont été mis pour appuyer des hôpitaux de districts de la Capitale de Vientiane dans leurs activités de prévention et de contrôle des maladies infectieuses. 
  • Tetraktys implique et intègre les communautés dans le développement écotouristique de la grotte de Konglor dans les villages de Konglor et Natane dans la province de Khammouane.
  • AgriSud renforce les compétences des populations du district de Viengkham dans la province de Luang Prabang, pour associer production, gestion et protection des ressources naturelles.
  • AVSF renforce les organisations paysannes et sociétés civiles pour la transition agroécologique des territoires, pour des filières durables et équitables

Accompagner le secteur de la justice

Palais de justice, Laos

Accompagner le secteur de la justice

La France est l’un des plus anciens partenaires des autorités laotiennes dans ce secteur. Elle a appuyé la modernisation et le fonctionnement de la justice par la mise en œuvre de projets successifs, avec le concours de plusieurs acteurs français. Cet appui est reconnu par les partenaires laotiens qui apprécient le professionnalisme des institutions et des experts français. En 2019, l’AFD a accordé un financement de 1,5M€ pour accompagner les institutions judiciaires par un appui aux ressources humaines du ministère de la Justice et des hautes autorités judiciaires (Bureau du Procureur Populaire Suprême – OSPP – et Cour Suprême Populaire – PSC) afin de favoriser un accès à la justice effectif, équitable et dans des délais raisonnables au bénéfice des populations.

 

Nos autres activités

Végétation, Laos

Nos autres activités

L’AFD finance également des projets régionaux ayant des volets d’activités au Laos. Elle est ainsi présente aux côtés de :

  • L'ONG Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS), en complément du projet national ECILL, pour une gestion par les communautés locales des aires protégées dans le hotspot indo-birman (Birmanie, Cambodge, et Laos).
  • La Commission du Mékong (Mékong River Commission), chargée du dialogue entre les pays de la région pour la gestion du Mékong dont dépendent quelque 65 millions d’habitants.
  • Le GRET et ses 26 partenaires pour la mise en œuvre du programme ASSET portant sur la transition agroécologique des systèmes alimentaires.
  • L’Institut Pasteur du Laos et son premier laboratoire de standard européen ainsi que le projet ECOMORE 2, axé sur l'émergence des maladies en lien avec les dérèglements climatiques, en particulier la dengue et la leptospirose, et un volet complémentaire lié à la COVID-19.
  • Enfin, le groupe de l’AFD, à travers PROPARCO, soutient l’activité économique locale grâce à la garantie ARIZ, un outil de partage de risque pour encourager les banques à prêter aux petites et moyennes entreprises et aux institutions de microfinance. À ce jour, l’AFD travaille avec la Banque Franco-Lao (BFL) et ARIZ a permis de faciliter plus de 7 millions d'euros de prêts à des PME.
  • PROPARCO, filiale du groupe AFD, spécialisée dans le financement du secteur privé, a accordé plusieurs prêts à des projets de développement au Laos. Ainsi, Proparco a participé au financement d’une société de télécommunication (prêt aujourd’hui remboursé), de deux barrages hydroélectriques (Nam Theun 2 et Theun Hinboun) ainsi que d’un projet d’agroforesterie (Burapha) via un prêt de 10mUSD accordé en 2018. Ce dernier prêt a permis à la société d’étendre la surface de plantation d’Eucalyptus et d’Acacia dans Vientiane Capitale et la province de Vientiane. 

En outre, au travers de la Facilité de financement des initiatives des collectivités françaises (FICOL), l’AFD finance, depuis plusieurs années, des projets identifiés et mis en œuvre dans les pays en développement par les collectivités françaises. Au Laos, des financements d’un montant global de 1 136 000€ ont été accordés en 2019 par l’AFD pour cofinancer, d’une part, un projet de partenariat entre le Syndicat Mixte de l’Espace de Restitution de la Grotte Chauvet (SMERGC) et la province de Khammouane visant à accompagner cette dernière vers l’obtention de la labélisation Géoparc mondial UNESCO pour un espace ciblé dans districts de Khum-Khan et Nakaï (631 500€), et, d’autre part, un projet de coopération entre la Région Centre Val de Loire et la province de Luang Prabang  ciblant la promotion de l’accès à l’eau potable et l’hygiène et l’assainissement (504 440€).

220
millions d’euros engagés depuis 1994
76
projets financés
1994
début de la présence de l’AFD au Laos

Le Laos a enregistré des progrès considérables en matière de développement au cours des deux dernières décennies, en réduisant de plus de moitié la pauvreté entre 1993 et 2019 alors que dans le même temps le PIB progressait en moyenne de 7,3% par an, en diminuant la malnutrition et en améliorant les résultats en matière d'éducation et de santé. Toutefois, le pays est toujours classé parmi les pays les moins avancés (PMA).

Pourtant, la RDP Lao dispose d'atouts : d'importantes ressources minérales, forestières et hydroélectriques, une production agricole faible mais des terres agricoles très caractéristiques et une volonté politique de se distinguer par la qualité de ses produits. Afin de réduire davantage la pauvreté et de stimuler la prospérité, le pays devra mettre en œuvre des réformes pour soutenir une croissance plus verte et plus inclusive, diversifier les sources de revenus et encourager la participation du secteur privé tout en gérant ses vulnérabilités aux effets du changement climatique.

L'AFD est présente dans le pays depuis 1994. Le niveau élevé de la dette publique (70,9 % en 2020) limite l'intervention de l'AFD à des financements sous forme de subventions exclusivement.

Carte des projets
Cette carte est utilisée à titre d’illustration, elle ne reflète pas toujours la position officielle de la France et n’engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD.
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Type de financement

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennes

Afficher les agences locales

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Contact