Eurasia - 2020-2024 Regional Strategy

Based in Istanbul, the Eurasia regional office incorporates four AFD agencies (Belgrade, Istanbul, Tbilisi, Tashkent) covering twelve countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Kosovo, Albania, North Macedonia, Turkey, Georgia, Armenia, AzerbaijanUzbekistan, and Kazakhstan. Together with Proparco and Expertise France, AFD Group as a whole is able to operate in 18 countries in the region

While AFD has been operating in Turkey since 2005, the other agencies in the region are more recent. In Eurasia, the Group is particularly committed to combating climate change, favouring a de-siloed approach linking the energy transition, the social transition, climate and biodiversity. It intervenes along four axes:

  • Resilience and urban adaptation
  • Integrated and sustainable territorial management and preservation of natural resources
  • Support for the energy transition
  • Sustainable and inclusive economic and political models.

As part of its 100% Paris Agreement commitment, AFD Group will ensure that each of its interventions is compatible with low-carbon and resilient development. Moreover, “climate” and “biodiversity” are closely linked. AFD Group’s action in the region will strive to maximise the biodiversity co-benefits of climate projects, and vice versa.

In line with its 100% Social Link commitment, the Group will strive to strengthen social ties, reduce inequalities, especially gender inequalities, and take into account the situation of vulnerable people (e.g., refugees).

pdf : 2.05 MB
available also in : fr en
2.05 MB (pdf)
downloaded 240 times