Costa Rica

A country with great ecological wealth, Costa Rica stands out for its continuous commitment to the conservation of the environment and biodiversity since the 1980s. AFD has been assisting the country with its ecological and inclusive transition since 2019, via several financial instruments and technical cooperation activities.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
AFD's action in Costa Rica, sustainable development
AFD AND COSTA RICA: TAKING ACTION FOR AN ECOLOGICAL AND INCLUSIVE TRANSITION
AFD's action in Costa Rica, sustainable development

Supporting a low-carbon and resilient trajectory

Supporting a low-carbon and resilient trajectory in Costa Rica, AFD

Supporting a low-carbon and resilient trajectory

A leading country in the fight against climate change, Costa Rica has set itself the objective of achieving carbon neutrality by 2050.  AFD is assisting the country on this path by supporting the implementation of the National Decarbonization Plan. Cooperation activities are being conducted around the promotion of the use of electricity (especially in transport), greener agriculture, climate governance and sustainable territorial planning.

AFD is also helping BNCR, the country’s main public bank, to structure its climate finance activity. Two credit lines are financing investments with climate benefits, especially for the development of electric mobility. 

We are also supporting two projects to disseminate good environmental practices in hospitals, and to update the Ministry of Education’s agricultural training.

In addition, AFD has carried out several activities that contribute to climate change adaptation. For example, it has helped the National System of Conservation Areas (SINAC) develop a system to monitor the state of mangroves, which are crucial allies in tackling coastal erosion and flooding.

Improving the management of essential services

Improving the management of essential services in Costa Rica, AFD's action

Improving the management of essential services

AFD is supporting several projects to provide access to essential and effective services. One such project aims to strengthen 60 ASADAS (Community Water Management Associations) in the Greater Metropolitan Area of San José. This project will help safeguard water resources, improve the drinking water supply and increase the climate change resilience of services.

In Puerto Limón, a sanitation and flood control program has also been supported through a multi-country credit line to the Central American Bank for Economic Integration (BCIE).

In addition, AFD is supporting the Duo-Diversité project, led by France's Sud Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region and Costa Rica. These territories exchange good practices on eco-tourism, biodiversity and water resource management. One of the objectives is to reduce agricultural water pollution, which is a major problem in Costa Rica.

Promoting a just transition

Promoting a just transition

Promoting a just transition

AFD’s action in Costa Rica aims to contribute to more equitable growth by combining environmental protection and social development. 

The second loan to support the National Decarbonization Plan covers the just transition and the promotion of gender equality across all areas of cooperation. AFD is supporting two regional projects co-financed and managed by the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), which also target more inclusive growth. The first will develop public policies for the elderly. The second will focus on increasing women’s participation in the labor market and equal pay.

AFD is also helping its Costa Rican partners to ensure that decision-makers take greater account of environmental law and influence related local, regional and national policies. 

Furthermore, we are assisting the CSO Human Resources Without Borders (RHSF) with a project to prevent child labor and forced labor.

470
million euros committed since 2019
94%
of commitments have climate co-benefits
25.5%
of the country is protected

Costa Rica is one of the smallest countries in Central America. For many years, its buoyant economy, its stability, the high standard of its social protection system and its capacity to significantly reduce poverty have set it apart from the sub-region. Since the 1980s, the country has been fighting to preserve the environment and biodiversity, for which it is a reservoir with 6% of the world’s biodiversity. 

However, the economic development of the country and the preservation of its natural resources are now threatened by the effects of climate change. Indeed, Costa Rica is one of the world's most vulnerable countries to the impacts of climate change. It is in this context that the ambitious National Decarbonization Plan (NDP) 2018-2050 was launched in early 2019. It aims to achieve carbon neutrality for the country by 2050 through action across all sectors of the economy.

Since it launched its activities in Costa Rica in 2019, AFD has gradually become a key counterpart for its Costa Rican partners in the fields of sustainable development and the fight against climate change.

AFD has since mobilized over €450 million to support the country’s ecological and inclusive transition. It provides its partners with a wide range of financial tools to help build innovative solutions for more equitable and environment-driven growth. In the projects it finances, AFD promotes dialogue and exchanges of experience, and provides partners with all the expertise France has at hand, in all aspects of sustainable development.

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Launch search
See map of all projects

Downloads

Institutional document

AFD and Costa Rica

A country with great ecological wealth, Costa Rica stands out for its continuous commitment to the c

...
Feb 2023
Research document

Employment in a zero net emissions future in Costa Rica: Renewable energy to enable widespread benefits for the country

In pursuit of a "3D" economy (decentralized, digitized and decarbonized), Costa Rica is encouragi

...
Dec 2022
Research document

Rendemic uncertainties in developing countries: Issues arising from an increased interdependence between banks and the state

An increased recourse to financing from the domestic banking sector has proved to be an important so

...
Feb 2022
View all publications

Contact

Costa Rica

Pays doté d’une grande richesse écologique, le Costa Rica se distingue par un engagement continu depuis les années 80 pour la préservation de l’environnement et de la biodiversité. Depuis 2019, l’AFD appuie le pays dans sa transition écologique et inclusive à travers plusieurs instruments financiers et coopérations techniques.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
L'action de l'AFD au Costa Rica, développement durable
L’AFD et le Costa Rica : agir pour une transition écologique et inclusive
L'action de l'AFD au Costa Rica, développement durable

Soutenir une trajectoire bas-carbone et résiliente

Soutenir une trajectoire bas-carbone et résiliente au Costa Rica, AFD

Soutenir une trajectoire bas-carbone et résiliente

Pays pionnier dans la lutte contre le changement climatique, le Costa Rica s’est fixé pour objectif d’atteindre la neutralité carbone à l’horizon 2050. 

L’AFD accompagne le pays dans cette trajectoire et soutient ainsi la mise en œuvre du Plan national de décarbonation. Des actions de coopération sont menées autour de l’incitation à l’usage de l’électricité (en particulier dans les transports), de l’agriculture moins émissive, de la gouvernance climatique et de l’aménagement territorial durable.

L’AFD aide également la BNCR, principale banque publique du pays, à se structurer en matière de finance climat. Deux lignes de crédit sont destinées au financement d’investissements ayant un impact positif sur le climat, en priorité pour le développement de la mobilité électrique.

Nous soutenons par ailleurs deux projets visant à diffuser les bonnes pratiques environnementales dans les services hospitaliers et à actualiser les formations agricoles du ministère de l’Éducation.

En outre, l’AFD a mené plusieurs actions contribuant à l’adaptation au changement climatique, en accompagnant par exemple le Système national des aires de conservation (Sinac) à développer un système de suivi de l’état des mangroves, alliées indispensables pour faire face à l’érosion côtière et aux submersions marines.

Améliorer la gestion des services essentiels

Améliorer la gestion des services essentiels au Costa Rica, action de l'AFD

Améliorer la gestion des services essentiels

L’AFD accompagne plusieurs projets qui cherchent à garantir l’accès des habitants à des services essentiels et performants. L’un d’entre eux a pour objectif le renforcement de 60 Asadas (Associations communautaires de gestion de l’eau) de la grande région métropolitaine de San José. Ce projet permettra de mieux protéger les ressources en eau, d’améliorer l’approvisionnement en eau potable et de renforcer la résilience des services face au changement climatique.

Dans le cadre de la ligne de crédit multi-pays accordée à la Banque centraméricaine d’intégration économique (BCIE), un programme d’assainissement et de contrôle des inondations à Puerto Limón a également été soutenu.

L’AFD appuie par ailleurs le projet Duo-Diversité, porté par la région Sud Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur et le Costa Rica : ces territoires échangent leurs bonnes pratiques en matière d’éco-tourisme et de biodiversité mais également en matière de gestion des ressources en eau. Ce volet vise notamment à réduire la pollution d’origine agricole de l’eau, un problème important au Costa Rica.

Promouvoir une transition juste

Promouvoir une transition juste au Costa Rica

Promouvoir une transition juste

L’action de l’AFD au Costa Rica cherche à allier protection environnementale et développement social, afin d’assurer une croissance plus équitable. 

Le deuxième prêt apporté en soutien au Plan national de décarbonation intègre ainsi la transition juste et la promotion transversale de l’égalité de genre dans les axes de coopération

Deux projets régionaux soutenus par l’AFD, cofinancés et gérés par la Banque interaméricaine de développement (BID), visent eux aussi une croissance plus inclusive. Le premier développera les politiques publiques en faveur des personnes âgées, et le second cherchera à augmenter la participation des femmes au marché du travail et l’égalité salariale.

L’AFD accompagne également ses partenaires costaricains pour renforcer la prise en compte du droit de l’environnement par les décideurs publics et infléchir les politiques locales, régionales et nationales en la matière.   

Par ailleurs, nous appuyons l’OSC Ressources humaines sans frontières (RHSF) dans un projet de prévention du travail des enfants et du travail forcé.
 

470
millions d'euros engagés depuis 2019
94 %
des engagements ont des co-bénéfices climat
25,5 %
du pays est classé zone protégée

Le Costa Rica est l’un des plus petits pays d’Amérique centrale. Il s’est longtemps distingué dans la sous-région par une situation économique dynamique, une stabilité, un système de protection sociale de haut niveau et sa capacité à réduire fortement la pauvreté. Depuis les années 80, le pays lutte pour la préservation de l’environnement et la biodiversité, dont il est un réservoir avec 6 % de la biodiversité mondiale. 

Néanmoins, le développement économique du pays et la préservation de ses ressources naturelles sont aujourd’hui menacés par les effets du changement climatique. Le Costa Rica fait en effet partie des pays du monde les plus vulnérables aux impacts du dérèglement climatique. C’est dans ce contexte qu’a été lancé, début 2019, l’ambitieux Plan national de décarbonation (PND) 2018-2050 qui vise la neutralité carbone du pays d’ici 2050, à travers des actions dans tous les secteurs de l’économie.

Depuis le lancement de ses activités au Costa Rica en 2019, l’AFD s’est progressivement affirmée comme un interlocuteur significatif pour ses partenaires costaricains dans les domaines du développement durable et de la lutte contre le changement climatique.

L’AFD a depuis mobilisé plus de 450 millions d’euros pour appuyer la transition écologique et inclusive du pays. Afin de favoriser l’émergence de solutions innovantes pour une croissance respectueuse de l’environnement et plus équitable, elle met à disposition de ses partenaires des outils financiers variés. Dans les projets financés, elle favorise le dialogue et l’échange d’expériences et met à disposition de ses partenaires toute l’expertise dont dispose la France autour des thématiques du développement durable.
 

Carte des projets
Cette carte est utilisée à titre d’illustration, elle ne reflète pas toujours la position officielle de la France et n’engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD.
Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Contact

Donnez-nous votre votre avis sur notre site web en répondant à notre grande enquête !