Angola

After an armed conflict that lasted more than 30 years, the country is striving to rebuild itself while also tackling a major economic crisis related to the international oil price shocks. AFD is helping Angola achieve the priorities of the diversification of the economy and inclusive socioeconomic development set by the Government, with the aim of ensuring long-term social stability.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Angola, Luanda, country page
AFD and Angola: diversifying the economy and reducing inequalities
Angola, Luanda, country page

Promoting access to water for all

Angola, water

Promoting access to water for all

Despite the significant investments made in social infrastructure in recent years, the rates of access to essential services remain low. The Millennium Development Goals for the development of the water and sanitation sector have not been achieved. In 2015, 49% of the population had access to an improved water source (75% in urban areas) and 52% to an improved sanitation system (89% in urban areas – source WHO/UNICEF). The average access rate in cities masks significant disparities between neighborhoods, while it is lower than 10% in certain provincial cities. Furthermore, only 32% of city dwellers have a water connection at home and many buy water from water tankers at an exorbitant price.

The Government has set out to fight against inequalities and improve service quality by launching a restructuring of the water and sanitation management system, with the creation of provincial water companies and a regulatory institute for the sector. This program is supported by AFD, the World Bank, African Development Bank and EIB. AFD is supporting 6 of the 18 newly created public companies, as well as the rehabilitation and extension of the urban and periurban water networks in these provinces, which will eventually provide 900,000 residents in the most disadvantaged neighborhoods with access to water.

Improving access to reliable energy

Angola, energy

Improving access to reliable energy

The marked disparities within the country itself are reflected in access to energy. While energy accounts for over 90% of the country’s exports through crude oil, only a third of the population has access to electricity. The Government has set the objective of supplying electricity to 60% of the population by 2025, representing a total production of 9.9 GW (against 2.1 GW in 2013). Rural electrification is also a priority, with the aim of promoting economic development in these areas and fighting against rural exodus. The ambitious objective: electrify all the capitals of municipalities by 2025.

Angola has extensive natural resources and strong potential for renewable generation, thanks to solar, wind and biomass energy. Hydropower development is also a major focus, with a national potential estimated at 18 GW. The share of renewable energies should consequently reach ¾ of the energy mix by 2025.

The Government wants to connect, extend and secure the domestic power grids, then interconnect its grid with the region. The aim is to improve the regulation of production and demand, which will open up export opportunities. It has also restructured the sector to improve the financial management of the new public companies and is working to reduce technical and non-technical losses. Finally, it aims to improve energy efficiency by rehabilitating existing infrastructure, much of which is dilapidated and has been damaged by the war and time. 

AFD is supporting these initiatives by financing the rehabilitation of dams and the electrification of rural areas.

Developing the agriculture sector

Angola, agriculture

Developing the agriculture sector

Angola was considered as one of the continent’s bread baskets in the 1970s and 1980s and has strong agricultural potential. However, the armed conflict riddled the land with landmines, damaged infrastructure and a large part of technical expertise was lost with the rural exodus. Today, the country is highly dependent on imports to meet its food needs. Only 8-14% of its 58 million hectares of arable land is farmed, mainly by small family farms. Despite limited access to inputs and mechanization and low productivity, these farms account for an average of 90% of national agricultural production. There is still widespread food insecurity, while the agriculture sector employs almost half of the country’s working population.

The country’s economic model has largely focused on oil, which has plunged the country into an economic crisis related to the fall in the price per barrel. For the Government, the priority is clear: it is necessary to diversify the economy. This diversification requires developing agriculture.

To meet these objectives, AFD is supporting small producers, cooperatives and SMEs in the agro-industrial sector in order to develop their commercial activity and facilitate their access to the market. We also encourage the banking sector to extend its range of financing to the sector and support agricultural research and development programs.

951,000
inhabitants living in the provinces and the outskirts of cities now have access to drinking water
220
million euros committed in 2 years
100%
of cofinancing to enhance aid coordination

Following 13 years of combat leading to its independence in 1975, Angola experienced a 27-year long civil conflict, which came to an end with the peace agreement in 2002. In addition to the heavy human toll, these conflicts also devastated infrastructure, marginalized rural areas and are still very much in people's minds. 15 years after the war, the country is rebuilding itself while also tackling an economic crisis related to the recent oil crisis. In view of the limits of the economic model adopted in recent decades, the Government has made the diversification of the economy its priority.

Angola can rely on extensive natural resources: it was Africa’s leading oil producer in 2016 and 2017, it has considerable reserves of diamonds and other mineral resources, while the country’s surface is covered by one of the most extensive water networks in the region. In addition, it has a considerable and predominantly young human capital. With some 1,800 km of coastline, located at the junction between Southern Africa and Central Africa, Angola has the geographical potential to become a major economic and commercial platform for the region. It is a member of SADC and ECCAS and is actively involved in restoring peace to the Great Lakes region. It is thereby asserting its regional role and is taking steps to develop the regional interconnection of its infrastructure networks.

With some 25.8 million inhabitants, 63% of whom are urban dwellers, Angola is the seventh most populous country in Africa. There are high levels of inequality in the country, despite the fact that it has the status of middle-income country (MIC) and the third largest GDP per capita in Sub-Saharan Africa. Poverty remains pervasive and 28% of the population was living under the international poverty line of USD 1.90 a day in 2014. Life expectancy stands at 52.3 years, one child in 6 does not go to school and the World Bank estimates that over half of the population suffers from periodic malnutrition.

AFD is helping the Angolan Government achieve its objectives of economic diversification (NDP), inclusive and sustainable development (SDGs) and climate change mitigation and adaptation (Paris Agreement). 

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

  • Climate
  • Employment and Shared Prosperity
  • Energy
  • Global Partnerships
  • Hunger and Food Security
  • Infrastructures
  • Poverty
  • Reduce Inequalities
  • Sustainable Cities
  • Water and Sanitation

Funding type

  • Grant
  • Loan
  • Non Sovereign Concessional Loan
  • Non Sovereign Non Concessional Loan
  • Sovereign Concessional Loan
  • Sovereign Non Concessional Loan

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

Download

Research document

Prevention or treatment? The introduction of a new antimalarial drug in Angola

In spite of massive efforts to generalize efficient prevention, such as insecticide-treated mosquito nets (ITN) or long-lasting insecticidal nets (LLINs), malaria remains prevalent in many countries and ITN/LLINs are ...
Sep 2017
Research document

Developing Lower Secondary Education: a Rural Issue and Challenge for Sub-Saharan Africa

The current development of African education systems focuses on the perspective of universal completion of six years of schooling. This perspective, targeted by the international community for the year 2015 (Dakar ...
Oct 2010
Research document

Vocational Training in the Informal Sector - Report on the Angola Field Survey

This report is part of a study carried out by the AFD Research Department on vocational training in the informal sector in seven African countries, which are, in alphabetical order, ...
Nov 2006

Angola

Après un conflit armé de plus de 30 ans, le pays s’évertue à se reconstruire alors même qu’il lutte contre une forte crise économique liée notamment à la chute des cours du pétrole. L’AFD accompagne l'Angola dans l’atteinte de ses objectifs de diversification de l’économie et de développement socio-économique inclusif, en vue d’assurer la stabilité sociale à long terme.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
angola, luanda
L’AFD et l’Angola : diversifier l’économie et réduire les inégalités
angola, luanda

Favoriser l’accès à l’eau pour tous

angola, eau

Favoriser l’accès à l’eau pour tous

Malgré des investissements importants ces dernières années dans les infrastructures sociales, le taux d’accès aux services essentiels demeure faible. Les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le Développement dans le secteur de l’eau et l’assainissement n’ont pas été atteints. En 2015, 49% (source OMS/UNICEF) de la population avait accès à une source d’eau améliorée (75% en milieu urbain) et 52% à un système d’assainissement amélioré (89% en milieu urbain). Le taux moyen d’accès à une source d’eau améliorée en milieu urbain cache cependant de grandes disparités entre les quartiers et dans certaines villes de provinces le taux est inférieur à 10%. De plus, seuls 32% des urbains disposent d’un branchement domiciliaire d’eau, beaucoup achetant l’eau à prix exorbitant à des camions citernes.

En vue de lutter contre les inégalités et d’améliorer la qualité de service, le gouvernement a entamé une restructuration du système de gestion de l’eau et de l’assainissement, avec la création d’entreprises provinciales d’eau et d’un institut régulateur du secteur, programme soutenu par l’AFD, la Banque Mondiale, la Banque Africaine de Développement et la BEI. L’AFD prête ainsi son soutien à 6 des 18 entreprises publiques nouvellement créées ainsi qu’à la réhabilitation et l’extension des réseaux d’eau urbaine et péri-urbaine de ces provinces, assurant à terme l’accès à l’eau pour 0,9 millions d’habitants supplémentaires dans les quartiers les plus démunis.

Améliorer l'accès à une énergie fiable

angola, energie

Améliorer l'accès à une énergie fiable

Les disparités prononcées au sein du pays se reflètent dans l’accès à l’énergie. Alors que celle-ci représente plus de 90% des exportations du pays sous forme de pétrole brut, seul un tiers de la population a accès à l’électricité. Le gouvernement s’est fixé l’objectif de fournir l’électricité à 60% de la population d’ici à 2025, soit une production totale de 9,9 GW, contre 2,1 GW en 2013. L’électrification rurale est également une priorité du gouvernement pour favoriser le développement économique dans les zones rurales et lutter contre l’exode rural, avec l’objectif d’électrifier tous les chef-lieux des municipalités d’ici à 2025.

Doté de nombreuses ressources naturelles en particulier hydriques et gazières, l’Angola présente un fort potentiel de production renouvelable également grâce au solaire, à l’éolien et à la biomasse. Le gouvernement mise énormément sur le développement de l’hydroélectricité, dont le potentiel national est estimé à 18 GW. La part des énergies renouvelables devrait ainsi atteindre les ¾ du mix énergétique d’ici 2025.

Possédant à ce jour 5 réseaux d’électricité isolés, l’objectif du gouvernement est de relier, étendre et sécuriser les réseaux nationaux puis d’interconnecter son réseau à la région, en vue d’une meilleure régulation de la production et de la demande, ouvrant des opportunités d’exportation. Le secteur de l’énergie reste fortement subventionné. En vue de remédier à cette situation, le gouvernement a mené une restructuration du secteur, pour une meilleure gestion financière des nouvelles entreprises publiques, et s’attache à la diminution des pertes techniques et non techniques.

En vue d’atteindre ces objectifs, le gouvernement vise également à augmenter l’efficacité énergétique, réhabilitant les infrastructures existantes, dont nombre sont vétustes et endommagées par la guerre et le temps. L’AFD accompagne le gouvernement angolais dans la réhabilitation de barrages et l’électrification rurale.

Développer le secteur agricole

angola, agriculture

Développer le secteur agricole

Considéré comme l’un des greniers du continent dans les années 70s et 80s, l’Angola est doté d’un fort potentiel agricole. Le conflit armé a miné les terres, endommagé les infrastructures et l’expertise technique a fui les principales zones de production agricole. Aujourd’hui le pays dépend fortement des importations pour répondre à ses besoins alimentaires. On estime que seuls 10% dess 58 millions d'hectares de terres arables sont cultivés à ce jour, principalement par de petites exploitations familiales. Malgré un accès limité aux intrants et à la mécanisation et une faible productivité, ces exploitations représentent en moyenne 90% de la production agricole du pays. L’insécurité alimentaire est encore très prononcée, alors que le secteur agricole emploie près de la moitié de la population active du pays.

Le modèle de développement économique du pays a été très concentré sur le pétrole, qui a plongé le pays dans une crise économique liée à la chute du prix du baril. Le gouvernement a comme priorité la diversification économique, en particulier au moyen du développement de son secteur agricole. En réponse à ces objectifs, l’AFD soutient les petits producteurs, coopératives, et PMEs du secteur agro-industriel, en vue de développer leur activité commerciale et faciliter l’accès au marché. En particulier, via l'accès au financement, aux services publics d'infrastructures et aux services de soutien et d’assistance technique. L’AFD finance également de l’assistance technique pour encourager le système bancaire à financer le secteur agricole et soutient les programmes de recherche et développement pour l’agriculture et l’élevage.

951000
habitants vivant en province et en périphérie des villes ont désormais accès à l’eau potable
220
millions d'euros engagés en 2 ans
100 %
de cofinancements pour une meilleure coordination de l’aide

Après 13 ans de lutte ayant mené à son indépendance en 1975, l’Angola a été englouti dans un conflit civil qui a duré 27 ans, avant de prendre fin par l’accord de paix de 2002. Outre le lourd bilan humains, le conflit a également ravagé les infrastructures, marginalisé les zones rurales et impacte toujours fortement les mémoires. 15 ans après la guerre, le pays s’évertue à se reconstruire alors même qu’il lutte contre une crise économique découlant de la récente crise pétrolière, ce produit représentant 95% des exportations du pays sur la dernière décennie. Au vu des limitations du modèle économique adopté sur les dernières décennies, le gouvernement a fait de la diversification de l’économie sa priorité.

L’Angola est doté de nombreuses richesses naturelles : premier producteur de pétrole d’Afrique devant le Nigéria en 2016 et 2017, ses sous-sols sont riches en diamants et autres ressources minérales, tandis qu’à sa surface le pays est parcouru par l’un des réseaux hydriques les plus denses de la région, doté de sols fertiles et d’un bon ensoleillement ainsi que d’un large capital humain à dominante jeune. Avec près de 1800 km de côte, situé à la jonction entre l’Afrique australe et l’Afrique centrale, l’Angola présente le potentiel géographique pour devenir une plateforme économique et commerciale importante pour la région. Membre de la SADC et de la CEEAC et très impliqué dans la pacification de la région des Grands Lacs, l’Angola développe son rôle régional et s’attache à développer l’interconnexion régionale de ses réseaux d’infrastructures.

Grand comme un peu plus de deux fois la France, avec ses près de 25,8 millions d'habitants, dont 63% d’urbains, l’Angola est le septième pays le plus peuplé d'Afrique. Malgré son statut de pays à revenu intermédiaire (PRI) et le troisième PIB par habitant d’Afrique subsaharienne derrière le Nigéria et l’Afrique du Sud, le pays est fortement inégalitaire. Classé 149e sur 188 selon l’indice de développement, la pauvreté reste omniprésente et 28% de la population vit sous le seuil international de pauvreté de 1,90 USD par jour en 2014. L'espérance de vie est de 52,3 ans, un enfant sur 6 ne va pas à l’école et la Banque Mondiale estime que plus de la moitié de la population souffre de malnutrition ponctuelle alors que 22% des enfants de moins de cinq ans souffrent d’une malnutrition chronique modérée.

L’AFD accompagne le gouvernement angolais en vue d’atteindre ses objectifs de diversification économique (PND), de développement inclusif et durable (ODG) et d’adaptation et atténuation du changement climatique (Accord de Paris).

Carte des projets
Cette carte est uniquement utilisée à titre d’illustration et n'engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

  • Eau et assainissement
  • Faim et alimentation
  • Infrastructures

Type de financement

  • Prêt
  • Prêt concessionnel non souverain
  • Prêt non concessionnel souverain
  • Subvention

Antennes

Display local antennas

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Téléchargement

Document de recherche

Accès à l’électricité en Afrique subsaharienne : retours d‘expérience et approches innovantes

Cette étude a été réalisée dans l’objectif de développer de nouvelles approches et une capitalisation méthodologique sur la thématique de l’accès pour ...
Apr 2012
Document de recherche

Impacts de la crise en Afrique subsaharienne

Bien que moins intégrée à l’économie mondiale, l’Afrique subsaharienne n‘a pourtant pas été épargnée par la crise mondiale. L’analyse empirique des impacts de la ...
Jul 2011
Document de recherche

Développer le premier cycle secondaire : enjeu rural et défis pour l’Afrique subsaharienne

Les auteurs examinent la situation de l’éducation en milieu rural, dans de nombreux pays d‘Afrique subsaharienne à faible revenu : scolarisation, organisation et coût des services éducatifs et valorisation ...
May 2010
Document de recherche

La formation professionnelle en secteur informel

Cette étude est l’aboutissement d‘enquêtes de terrain qui ont été menées dans sept pays d‘Afrique. Il s‘agit, par ordre alphabétique, de l’Afrique ...
Jan 2007