Niger

At the heart of the Sahel region, Niger is one of the world's poorest countries. Not only is it landlocked and subjected to extreme climate conditions, it also has to deal with strong demographic growth and regional instability. AFD is assisting it in priority sectors: education, water and sanitation, energy, health, rural development, governance and support for the private sector.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
"Excellence Learning school" in Niamey, Niger
AFD and Niger: combating poverty and investing in young people's education
"Excellence Learning school" in Niamey, Niger

Promoting education and employment among young people

Niger, school class, Mali Béro School, Niamey, Guionie

Promoting education and employment among young people

Niger's population growth, at 3.9% per year, places a heavy burden on the educational system. Nearly 80% of children are now enrolled in school, double the rate 15 years ago, and yet the country struggles to offer its young people education and employment of adequate quality. In a country where fewer than 40% of children continue beyond primary education, many challenges still remain, such as managing and training teachers, ensuring that education meets the needs of the economy, and combating illiteracy.

The Government of Niger has therefore adopted a proactive policy to improve the quality of education (2014-2024 sectoral education and training program). AFD is supporting it in its efforts, by:

  • improving children's access to school by promoting quality basic education (co-funding with the Global Partnership for Education);
  • improving vocational training in industry and construction;
  • promoting the economic and social integration of young people in areas affected by conflict.

Faced with the enormity of the task, the government of Niger has set up a common fund to raise finance for the sector. AFD is participating alongside its partners from Switzerland, Luxembourg and Norway, as well as UNICEF.
 

facilitating access to water and sanitation

water tower, Niamey, Niger, Guionie

facilitating access to water and sanitation

Located at the heart of the Sahel region, Niger is a desert country. Access to drinking water is very difficult, dedicated infrastructure is rare and there are wide disparities between rural and urban areas: in rural areas, only 1.1% of the population has access to an optimal service, compared with 63.6% in major towns and cities. With respect to sanitation, only 0.8% of the population has access to an efficient service in rural areas and 10.8% in urban areas.

To address the significant challenges in the sector and stay on course for its sustainable development goals (SDGs), in 2017 Niger adopted ambitious programs to strengthen access to water and sanitation and improve water management.

AFD is a longstanding partner: 

  • Since 1979, we have funded several village water systems. 
  • Since 2002, we have also been improving access to water and sanitation in Niamey.

Our aims are to increase drinking water production and distribution capacity, provide the authorities with tools for planning sanitation investments, and improve sanitation and hygiene in the capital's main public hospitals.

Overcoming the electricity shortage

Lethabo, Niger, energy

Overcoming the electricity shortage

Niger has a significant energy potential. Its mineral, hydraulic, wind and solar resources should be sufficient to ensure the country's development. And yet very few households have access to electricity. According to estimates, the level of access to electricity is around 10%, with significant disparities between urban and rural areas, and between the capital Niamey and other urban centers.

To deal with growing demand, Niger has launched major electricity production and distribution projects, with the objective being to diversify its electricity generation mix and secure supply.

AFD supports this approach and together with the European Union is funding a project to extend the grid in urban and rural areas, and two planned power plants in Agadez and Niamey. Alongside the World Bank, AFD is also participating in the funding of the Kandadji hydroelectric power plant.

Strengthening the health system

Niger, hospital, Niamey, children, nurse

Strengthening the health system

Niger's health statistics are a cause for concern: life expectancy is limited to 61.9 years and the rate of infant malnutrition is 43%. This is due in part to an aging infrastructure, isolation of the population and a shortage of human and medical resources. 

To address this, in 2015 the Government set up a National Health Policy and a Health Development Plan to improve the standard of health care for Nigeriens.

AFD is providing assistance through two projects:

  • Since 2006, we have been contributing to the Common Health Fund in order to coordinate actions with the Health Development Plan.
  • Since 2014, we have been participating in the Sahel Solidarity Health initiative to improve the health of mothers and children.

We are also looking to finance one project to assist the demographic transition and another to combat chronic malnutrition in the Sahel, with the Gates Foundation.

Supporting rural development

Niger, agriculture, private sector, cereals, Guionie

Supporting rural development

Hunger is still a threat to certain sectors of the population in Niger, and the rate of child malnutrition is especially high. In 2012, the Government of Niger adopted a strategic framework for food and nutritional security and sustainable agricultural development (FNS/SAD) called the 3N Initiative: "Nigeriens Nourishing Nigeriens", as well as its associated action plan. Its objective by 2035 is to permanently free its inhabitants from hunger and malnutrition and guarantee the conditions for full participation in national production and in improving their income.  

AFD's work is fully in line with Niger's strategy. We support many programs throughout the country for:

  • boosting the agro-sylvo-pastoral sector and protecting the incomes of producers;
  • improving the management of natural resources;
  • strengthening agricultural sectors with the greatest potential;
  • supporting measures to mitigate and adapt to climate change.

Backing the private sector

Niger, woman, bank, microfinance, private sector, funding

Backing the private sector

With less than 5% of the population having access to the financial system, the rate of financial inclusion in Niger remains one of the lowest in sub-Saharan Africa. For many, microfinance networks provide the only means of accessing financial services.

The private sector in Niger is relatively underdeveloped and informal. Industry is hampered by an aging infrastructure, a lack of qualified human resources and limited access to markets. The mining, energy and telecommunications sectors are dominated by just a few large companies. 

AFD is supporting local entrepreneurship and the emergence of a local economic fabric by:

  • supporting microfinance, by assisting ACEP Niger (targeting small entrepreneurs in urban areas) and Asusu SA (agricultural funding);
  • encouraging innovation and business creation via the partnership with PAI-Bond’Innov;
  • easy access to credit for microenterprises/SMEs with the Ariz scheme;
  • funding projects with strategic impact via suitable financial tools (Proparco).

Supporting good governance

Niger, Assemblée nationale, Niamey, government

Supporting good governance

Competence for "governance" was transferred to AFD from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 2006. This led us to begin funding a number of support initiatives in Niger:

  • Technical assistance to the High Commissioner for State Modernization via the Dynamic program for modernization of public services (PDMSP), and via monitoring of the Itinerant Public Service in nomadic areas.
  • Support for the Ministry of Justice through the AJUSEN program, in order to strengthen the judicial system’s ability to combat organized crime and people trafficking.
  • Support for the modernization of the State and public services (AMESP) in order to help strengthen the devolved and decentralized State and improve public services. 
     
60
years on the ground in Niger
456
million euros spent since 2010
60
million euros for youth integration in 2016

Located at the heart of the Sahel region, Niger is a vast landlocked desert territory extending over more than a million square kilometers. With a population of 20 million inhabitants, its demographic growth is one of the highest in the world, at around 4% per year.

This seriously hampers Niger's economic prospects: it is one of the poorest countries on the planet. In 2016, it was ranked second from last among UN Member States in the UNDP's human development index. For Niger's population, access to adequate drinking water, electricity and care is a daily concern.  

The country faces many challenges: it must ensure that its population has access to essential services and give its young people the keys to integration in the labor market. It is also confronted by chronic food insecurity, the unstable security situation in the Sahel and climate hazards that undermine its economy.

AFD has been an essential partner of Niger for sixty years. It prioritizes basic services: water, energy, health and education-employment, to provide a future for young people in Niger. It is also helping to establish a model of sustainable development.

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Thematics
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Thematics

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Climate
  • Employment and Shared Prosperity
  • Forests and Biodiversity
  • Hunger and Food
  • Inequalities
  • Infrastructure
  • Peace and Justice
  • Poverty
  • Sustainable Cities
  • Sustainable Consumption and Production

Funding type

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Delegation of European Union Funds
  • Grant
  • Sovereign Concessional Loan

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

Niger

En plein cœur du Sahel, le Niger est l’un des pays les plus pauvres du monde. Enclavé, soumis à des conditions climatiques extrêmes, il doit relever les défis d’une forte croissance démographique et de l’instabilité régionale. L’AFD l’accompagne dans des secteurs prioritaires : éducation, eau et assainissement, énergie, santé, développement rural, gouvernance et appui au secteur privé.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Au cœur d'une école bilingue "Excellence Learning school" à Niamey, Niger
L’AFD et le Niger : lutter contre la pauvreté et miser sur l’éducation des jeunes
Au cœur d'une école bilingue "Excellence Learning school" à Niamey, Niger

Favoriser l’éducation et l’emploi des jeunes

Ecole Mali Béro I à Niamey

Favoriser l’éducation et l’emploi des jeunes

La croissance démographique du Niger, de 3,9 % par an, pèse sur le système éducatif. Près de 80 % des enfants sont désormais inscrits à l’école, soit un doublement des effectifs en 15 ans. Mais le pays peine à offrir à sa jeunesse une scolarité et un emploi de qualité. Or, dans un pays où moins de 40 % des enfants atteignent le collège, les défis restent nombreux : gestion et formation des enseignants, adaptation de l’éducation à l’économie, analphabétisme.

Ainsi, le gouvernement nigérien a adopté une politique volontariste pour améliorer la qualité de l’enseignement (Programme sectoriel de l’éducation et de la formation 2014-2024). L’AFD accompagne donc le gouvernement dans ses efforts :

Face à l’ampleur de la tâche, l’État nigérien a mis en place un Fonds commun pour rassembler les financements destinés au secteur. L’AFD y participe aux côtés de ses partenaires suisses, luxembourgeois, norvégiens et de l’UNICEF.
 

Faciliter l’accès à l’eau et à l'assainissement

Niger château d'eau Niamey

Faciliter l’accès à l’eau et à l'assainissement

En plein cœur du Sahel, le Niger est un pays désertique. L’accès à l’eau potable y est très difficile, les infrastructures dédiées se font rares et les disparités sont fortes entre zones rurales et villes : en milieu rural, 1,1 % seulement de la population a accès à un service optimal, contre 63,6 % en ville. Quant à l’assainissement, seulement 0,8 % de la population a accès à un service efficace en milieu rural et 10,8 % en milieu urbain.

Afin de répondre aux défis importants du secteur et être au rendez-vous des Objectifs de développement durable (ODD), le Niger a adopté en 2017 des programmes ambitieux pour renforcer l’accès à l’eau et à l’assainissement et améliorer la gestion de l’eau.

L’AFD est un partenaire historique : 

Nos objectifs : accroître les capacités de production et de distribution d’eau potable ; doter les autorités d’un outil de planification des investissements pour l’assainissement ; améliorer l’assainissement et l’hygiène dans les principaux hôpitaux publics de la capitale

Sortir de la pénurie électrique

Lethabo, Niger, énergie

Sortir de la pénurie électrique

Le Niger possède un potentiel énergétique important. Ses ressources minières, hydrauliques, éoliennes et solaires doivent permettre au pays d’assurer son développement. Mais très peu de ménages ont accès à l’électricité. D’après les estimations, le taux d’accès à l’électricité se situerait aux alentours de 10 %, avec des disparités importantes entre milieux urbains et ruraux, et entre la capitale Niamey et les autres centres urbains.

Pour faire face à la demande croissante, le Niger a lancé d’importants projets de production et de distribution d’électricité. L’objectif : diversifier son mix de production électrique et sécuriser les approvisionnements.

L’AFD soutient cette démarche et cofinance avec l’Union européenne un projet d’extension du réseau en milieu urbain et rural ainsi que deux projets de centrales électriques à Agadez et à Niamey. L’AFD participe également aux côtés de la Banque mondiale au financement de la centrale hydroélectrique de Kandadji.

Renforcer le système de santé

Niger centre santé hôpital enfant maladie infirmières médecins

Renforcer le système de santé

Les chiffres de la santé au Niger sont préoccupants : l’espérance de vie plafonne à 61,9 ans et la malnutrition infantile est de 43 %. Cela est dû en partie à la vétusté des infrastructures, l’isolement de la population et la pénurie de ressources humaines et médicales. 

Face à ce constat, le gouvernement s’est doté en 2015 d’une Politique nationale de la santé et d’un Plan de développement sanitaire afin d’améliorer le niveau des soins de santé des Nigériens.

L’AFD l’accompagne à travers deux projets :

Nous envisageons également de financer un projet favorisant la transition démographique et un projet de lutte contre la malnutrition chronique au Sahel avec la fondation Gates.
 

Accompagner le développement rural

Niger agriculture céréale secteur privé

Accompagner le développement rural

La faim menace encore certaines populations du Niger. Et le taux de malnutrition infantile est particulièrement élevé. En 2012, le gouvernement du Niger a adopté un cadre stratégique  pour la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle et le développement agricole durable (SAN/DAD) appelé Initiative 3N : « les Nigériens nourrissent les Nigériens », ainsi que son plan d'action. L’objectif à l’horizon 2035 : mettre durablement les habitants à l’abri de la faim et de la malnutrition et leur garantir les conditions d’une pleine participation à la production nationale et à l’amélioration de leurs revenus.  

L’action de l’AFD s’inscrit dans le cadre de la stratégie nigérienne. Nous soutenons de nombreux programmes dans tout le pays pour :

Soutenir le secteur privé

Niger femme homme banque microfinance secteur privé

Soutenir le secteur privé

Avec moins de 5 % de la population ayant accès au système financier, le taux d’inclusion financière au Niger demeure l’un des plus faibles d’Afrique subsaharienne. Pour beaucoup, les réseaux de microfinance constituent les seules possibilités d’accès aux services financiers.

Le secteur privé nigérien est peu développé et informel. L’industrie est entravée par la vétusté des infrastructures, le manque de ressources humaines qualifiées et un faible accès au marché. Seules quelques grandes entreprises structurent les secteurs miniers, énergétique et des télécommunications. 

L’AFD soutient l’entrepreneuriat local et l’émergence d’un tissu économique par :

Appuyer la bonne gouvernance

Niger assemblée nationale gouvernance Niamey

Appuyer la bonne gouvernance

La compétence « gouvernance » a été transférée du ministère des Affaires étrangères à l’AFD en 2006. C’est dans ce contexte que nous avons commencé à financer un certain nombre d’appuis au Niger :

  • Une assistance technique au Haut-Commissariat à la modernisation de l’État via  le PDMSP (Programme dynamique de modernisation des services publics), et via le suivi du Service public ambulant des zones nomades.
  • Un appui au ministère de la Justice via le programme AJUSEN, afin de renforcer les capacités des acteurs judiciaires contre le crime organisé et la traite des personnes.
  • Un appui à la modernisation de l’État et aux services publics (AMESP) afin de contribuer au renforcement de l’État déconcentré et décentralisé ainsi qu’à l’amélioration des services publics. 
60
ans de présence au Niger
456
millions d’euros engagés depuis 2010
60
millions d’euros en 2016 pour l’insertion des jeunes

Situé en plein cœur du Sahel, enclavé, le Niger est un vaste territoire désertique s’étendant sur plus d’un million de kilomètres carrés. Doté d’une population de 20 millions d’habitants, sa croissance démographique avoisine les 4 % par an : l’une des plus élevées au monde.

Une croissance qui pèse sur les perspectives économiques du Niger : c’est en effet l’un des pays les plus pauvres de la planète. En 2016, il se situe ainsi en avant-dernière position du classement mondial de l’indice de développement humain du PNUD. Pour la population nigérienne, l’accès à l’eau potable, à l’électricité et à des soins de qualité est un souci quotidien.  

Nombreux sont les défis du pays : il doit assurer à sa population l’accès aux services essentiels et  donner à sa jeunesse les clés de l’insertion sur le marché de l’emploi. Tout en faisant face à une insécurité alimentaire chronique, à l’instabilité sécuritaire du Sahel et aux aléas climatiques qui fragilisent l’économie nigérienne.

L’AFD est un partenaire essentiel du Niger depuis 60 ans. Elle met la priorité sur les services de base : eau, énergie, santé et éducation-emploi pour offrir un avenir aux jeunes Nigériens. Elle accompagne également la mise en place d’un modèle de développement durable.
 

Carte des projets
Cette carte est utilisée à titre d’illustration, elle ne reflète pas toujours la position officielle de la France et n’engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD.
Thématiques
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Thématiques

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Consommation et production durables
  • Eau et assainissement
  • Emploi et prospérité partagée
  • Faim et alimentation
  • Forêts et biodiversité
  • Infrastructures
  • Inégalités
  • Paix et justice
  • Santé
  • Éducation

Type de financement

Tout cocher
Tout décocher
  • Délégation de fonds de l'Union européenne
  • Prêt
  • Prêt concessionnel non souverain
  • Prêt concessionnel souverain
  • Subvention

Antennes

Afficher les agences locales

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Téléchargement

Publication institutionnelle

Cadre d'intervention : Sahel

Jan 2015
Publication institutionnelle

Profil Genre : Afrique

Dec 2016
Publication institutionnelle

Cadre d'intervention : Sahel

Jan 2015